Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archivists and Librarians in the History of the Health Sciences - Internet Resources
From the home page, choose INTERNET RESOURCES from the left column. A "metadirectory" which seeks to list, index, or inventory the great variety of material appearing on the Web that relates to the history of medicine and science.
History of the Health Sciences Research [Resources for Students]
Ebling Library for the Health Sciences, University of Wisconsin. An introduction to historical research for students investigating the history of the health sciences. Especially useful for providing tips on identifying appopriate research topics and framing questions for investigation.
National Library of Medicine, History of Medicine Division
The History of Medicine Division of the National Library of Medicine collects, preserves, interprets, and presents materials documenting the history of medicine, biomedical science, health and disease in all time periods and cultures. It provides researchers and the public with access to manuscripts, books, photographs, films and other historical resources.
Directory of History of Medicine Collections
The collections described in this Directory database provide research, reference, and interlibrary loan services to scholars interested in the history of the health sciences. Some of the subjects include: dentistry, veterinary medicine, nursing, military medicine, and pharmacy. It serves to draw attention to the depth and variety of history of medicine collections available to researchers.
American Association for the History of Nursing
The web site includes a wealth of information on the history of nursing. See particularly the sections dealing with nursing history, resources, and research.
American Institute of the History of Pharmacy
The American Institute of the History of Pharmacy is a non-profit national organization devoted to advancing knowledge and understanding of the place of pharmacy in history. The historical Sources page provides numerous sources and bibliographies.
Contact Hardin Library
For general library questions, contact the Hardin Library reference desk.