Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evidence Based Practice Resources
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: a Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3E by The leading guide to the principles and clinicalapplications of evidence-based medicine--updated with new examples and new chapters A Doody's Core Title for 2015! Revised and updated to reflect the latest in medical research and evidence-based resources Practical focus and organization to guide clinicians through the fundamentals of using the medical literature to the more advanced strategies and skills for use in patient care, using the key questions to assess any new research: What are the results? How serious is the risk of bias? How do I apply the results to patient care? Updated real-world examples drawn from the medical literature New chapters that reflect the changing complexity of medical research and literature, including genetic association studies, systematic reviews and meta-analyses, network meta-analysis, noninferiority trials, quality improvement, and evidence-based medicine and the theory of knowledge New emphasis on understanding the role of patient preferences and preappraised resources that provide updated evidence and evidence-based recommendations for practice
Publication Date: 2014-12-30
To learn more about evidence based practice, visit the Evidence Based Practice guide.
To learn more about systematic reviews, visit the Systematic Reviews guide.
ACP Journal Club
ACP Journal provides structured summaries of research articles with relevance and newsworthiness ratings from practicing health professionals.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey provides access to more than 1100 medical texts published by Elsevier, articles from more than 500 journals, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education handouts. All can be searched together, individually, or by type of resource (books, journals, etc.) ClinicalKey replaces MDConsult.
Users must log in to (free) personal accounts to download PDFs.
Cochrane Clinical Answers This link opens in a new window
"Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews."
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies, and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based healthcare.
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
DynaMed Plus (Dynamic Medical Information System) is a quick and easy-to-use medical reference system designed for use at the point of care. It contains clinically organized summaries of thousands of topics and is updated several times daily from review of the research literature. Providing the most current, unbiased, evidence-based information to enable physicians to help them provide the best care possible to their patients, DynaMed is a useful resource in clinical, educational and research settings. USE IE 11+, Firefox, Chrome or Edge
Embase This link opens in a new window
Due to higher security needed, EMBASE now requires a login for all exports.
[Help Searching Embase
]A biomedical and pharmaceutical database contains bibliographic records with abstracts from EMBASE (1974-present) and Medline (1966-present) deduplicated and searchable with EMTREE. (See the available Help Sheet
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide This link opens in a new window
The Johns Hopkins ABX Guide features up-to-date, authoritative, evidenced-based information on the treatment of infectious diseases to help you make decisions at the point of care. The guide breaks down details of diagnosis; drug indications, dosing, pharmacokinetics, side effects and interactions; pathogens; management; and vaccines into easily accessible, frequently-updated, quick-read entries. (uCentral is the Unbound Medicine portal to the John Hopkins ABX guide, pre-selected MEDLINE content, and links to uCentral downloads and tools including a mobile app.)
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE is an alternative to PubMed for searching MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine database covering the breadth of biomedicine. Ovid MEDLINE does not include the non-MEDLINE portions of PubMed, which also includes all citations from PubMed Central.
Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard) This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines provides unbiased, evidence-based information and ratings on over 90,000 dietary supplements, natural medicines, and integrative therapies. This resource includes evidence-based monographs, commercial product ratings for over 90,000 dietary supplement products, an interaction checker, an effectiveness checker, and a nutrient depletion checker.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. (See the available Help Sheet
). For full functionality, log in to your MyNCBI account.
PubMed Clinical Queries
"Search by Clinical Study Category" allows you to focus your search by question type and scope (broad/narrow). "Find Systematic Reviews" allows you to find systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and practice guidelines.
TRIP Database This link opens in a new window
The TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify high quality clinical evidence. It finds evidence from systematic reviews, evidence-based synopses, clinical guidelines, and international guidelines, from sources such as e-textbooks, PubMed and PubMed Central, BMJ, Lancet, JAMA, and NEJM. You must register for a free account and be logged in to use most of the features of TRIP.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a practical clinical information service designed to provide instant access to just the information you need. It is written by a recognized faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue. They synthesize the latest evidence and best practices and provide detailed recommendations. [Access to UpToDate is co-funded by the Carver College of Medicine, the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, and Hardin Library for the Health Sciences.]
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
RECOMMEND USING CHROME
[Help Sheet for Search CINAHL - PDF
] CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Full text material includes more than 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. NB: 20 concurrent user limit