Neurology
Aminoff's Electrodiagnosis in Clinical Neurology by
The New Edition of this respected reference delivers complete, practical guidance on current electrodiagnostic techniques and their clinical applications for investigating problems of both the central and peripheral nervous systems. Completely revised and updated, this 5th Edition provides state-of-the-art knowledge on electroencephalography, electromyography, nerve conduction studies, evoked potentials, polysomnography, and electronystagmography. Deepen your understanding of the principles, scope, limitations, diagnostic importance, prognostic relevance, and complications for each technique. Visually grasp the technical and practical aspects of electrodiagnostic tests with almost 800 charts, figures, and tables. Rely on the knowledge, experience, and perspective of renowned expert Dr. Michael J. Aminoff and an international team of contributors comprised of a virtual "who's who" of clinical neurophysiology. Keep up with developments in the field through significant updates, including new chapters on Artifacts and Normal Variants in the Electroencephalogram; Microneurography; Clinical Applications of Nerve Excitability Testing; Ultrasound of Muscle and Nerve; The Blink Reflex and Other Brainstem Reflexes; Visual Evoked Potentials,Electroretinography and Other Diagnostic Approaches to the Visual System; and Magnetic Stimulation in Clinical Practice and Research. Access information on the go from your laptop or mobile device via expertconsult.com, featuring fully searchable text, and links to PubMed. Meet regulatory and professional standards and apply best practices with state-of-the-art guidance (for both non-specialists and specialists) emphasizing the clinical applications of each electrodiagnostic technique. Get easily actionable information and avoid mistakes with electrophysiologic findings integrated into the clinical context in which they are obtained. You cannot practice clinical neurophysiology without Aminoff.
Call Number: RC349.E53 E43 2012ISBN: 9781455703081Publication Date: 2012
Principles of Behavioral and Cognitive Neurology by
This thoroughly revised new edition of a classic book provides a clinically inspired but scientifically guided approach to the biological foundations of human mental function in health and disease. It includes authoritative coverage of all the major areas related to behavioral neurology, neuropsychology, and neuropsychiatry. Each chapter, written by a world-renowned expert in the relevant area, provides an introductory background as well as an up-to-date review of the most recent developments. Clinical relevance is emphasized but is placed in the context of cognitive neuroscience, basic neuroscience, and functional imaging. Major cognitive domains such as frontal lobe function, attention and neglect, memory, language, prosody, complex visual processing, and object identification are reviewed in detail. A comprehensive chapter on behavioral neuroanatomy provides a background for brain-behavior interactions in the cerebral cortex, limbic system, basal ganglia, thalamus, and cerebullum. Chapters on temperolimbic epilepsy, major psychiatric syndromes, and dementia provide in-depth analyses of these neurobehavioral entities and their neurobiological coordinates. Changes for this second edition include the reflection throughout the book of the new and flourishing alliance of behavioral neurology, neuropsychology, and neuropsychiatry with cognitive science;major revision of all chapters; new authorship of those on language and memory; and the inclusion of entirely new chapters on psychiatric syndromes and the dementias. Both as a textbook and a reference work, the second edition of Principles of Behavioral and Cognitive Neurology represents an invaluable resource for behavioral neurologists, neuropsychologists, neuropsychiatrists, cognitive and basic neuroscientists, geriatricians, physiatrists, and their students and trainees.
ISBN: 9780198030805Publication Date: 2000
Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurological and Psychiatric Disease by
Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurologic and Psychiatric Disease, Fifth Edition provides a comprehensive introduction and reference to the foundations and key practical aspects relevant to the majority of neurologic and psychiatric disease. A favorite of over three generations of students, clinicians and scholars, this new edition retains and expands the informative, concise and critical tone of the first edition. This is an essential reference for general medical practitioners, neurologists, psychiatrists, geneticists, and related professionals, and for the neuroscience and neurology research community. The content covers all aspects essential to the practice of neurogenetics to inform clinical diagnosis, treatment and genetic counseling. Every chapter has been thoroughly revised or newly commissioned to reflect the latest scientific and medical advances by an international team of leading scientists and clinicians. The contents have been expanded to include disorders for which a genetic basis has been recently identified, together with abundant original illustrations that convey and clarify the key points of the text in an attractive, didactic format. Previous editions have established this book as the leading tutorial reference on neurogenetics. Researchers will find great value in the coverage of genomics, animal models and diagnostic methods along with a better understanding of the clinical implications. Clinicians will rely on the coverage of the basic science of neurogenetics and the methods for evaluating patients with biochemical abnormalities or gene mutations, including links to genetic testing for specific diseases. Comprehensive coverage of the neurogenetic foundation of neurological and psychiatric disease Detailed introduction to both clinical and basic research implications of molecular and genetic understanding of the brain Detailed coverage of genomics, animal models and diagnostic methods with new coverage of evaluating patients with biochemical abnormalities or gene mutations
ISBN: 9780124105492Publication Date: 2014
