Clinical Tools
- DynaMed This link opens in a new windowDynaMed Plus (Dynamic Medical Information System) is a quick and easy-to-use medical reference system designed for use at the point of care. It contains clinically organized summaries of thousands of topics and is updated several times daily from review of the research literature. Providing the most current, unbiased, evidence-based information to enable physicians to help them provide the best care possible to their patients, DynaMed is a useful resource in clinical, educational and research settings.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowBest Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowMicromedex is a search engine for drug databases that provides in-depth information for drugs (both prescription and over-the-counter commercial products), diseases, toxicology, and alternative medicine. It also provides patient counseling tools for medications, procedures, and conditions as well as dosing calculators. Databases searched include POISINDEX, DRUGDEX, DISEASEDEX, PDR, MARTINDALE, and RED BOOK.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowUpToDate is a practical clinical information service designed to provide instant access to just the information you need. It is written by a recognized faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue. They synthesize the latest evidence and best practices and provide detailed recommendations. [Access to UpToDate is co-funded by the Carver College of Medicine and the University of Iowa Health Care.]
- VisualDx This link opens in a new windowVisualDx is a diagnostic clinical support tool that includes over 2,800 adult and pediatric conditions as well as over 40,000 images. Clinicians can search by a diagnosis, build a patient- specific differential, or review over 20,000 medication reactions and adverse events. With expanded content across general medicine, VisualDx delivers speed and diagnostic accuracy at the point of care.
- Diagnosaurus This link opens in a new windowMcGraw-Hill's Diagnosaurus 2.0 on AccessMedicine is a differential diagnosis tool that allows you to search 1000+ of differential diagnoses by: Symptoms, Diseases, & Organ system.
- NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines) This link opens in a new windowNatMed Pro provides unbiased, evidence-based information and ratings on over 90,000 dietary supplements, natural medicines, and integrative therapies. This resource includes evidence-based monographs, commercial product ratings for over 90,000 dietary supplement products, an interaction checker, an effectiveness checker, and a nutrient depletion checker. (This resource was previously called Natural Medicines).
Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. (See the available Help Sheet). For full functionality, log in to your MyNCBI account.. - Embase This link opens in a new windowDue to higher security needed, EMBASE now requires a login for all exports.
[Help Searching Embase]A biomedical and pharmaceutical database contains bibliographic records with abstracts from EMBASE (1974-present) and Medline (1966-present) deduplicated and searchable with EMTREE. (See the available Help Sheet) - PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe APA PsycINFO database from the American Psychological Association (APA) covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. PsycINFO's peer-reviewed coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to 2,400 journals in more than 30 languages, and book chapters and books in the English language. Coverage spans 1600s – present and includes over 5 million peer-reviewed records.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies, and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based healthcare.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
RECOMMEND USING CHROME
[Help Sheet for Search CINAHL - PDF] CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Full text material includes more than 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. NB: 20 concurrent user limit - MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowOvid MEDLINE is an alternative to PubMed for searching MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine database covering the breadth of biomedicine. Ovid MEDLINE does not include the non-MEDLINE portions of PubMed, which also includes all citations from PubMed Central.
For a full list of health sciences databases at Hardin Library, click http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/eresources
For a full list of databases available through the University of Iowa Libraries, click http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/eresources/indexes
Video Resources
- Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new windowCounseling and Therapy in Video provides an online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. This current release includes 331 videos totaling roughly 371 hours
Mobile Resources
- Mobile Device ResourcesVisit Hardin Library's Mobile Device Resources guide for a complete list of mobile resources and installation instructions.
Support for Data Management
Research Data Services is a collaboration between the University of Iowa Libraries, the Office of the Vice President of Research and Economic Development, Information Technology Services, and other campus offices, to support researchers' data management needs. This guide is summary of the services and resources available on this campus as well as external tools, websites, and repositories that may be useful.
Please contact lib-data@uiowa.edu to schedule a data management consultation if you would like assistance with:
- Finding existing data sets;
- Organizing and documenting your research data;
- Writing a data management plan in compliance with funding agency guidelines;
- Publishing and preserving your research data in a discipline-specific or institutional repository.