Selected Adaptations
The UI Libraries' collections contain abundant holdings of black literature, including novels, drama, and graphic novels. We also provide access to feature films and series in DVD, BLU-ray, and streaming formats.
The lists below identify examples for which the UI Libraries own the source material, including selected materials on Course Reserve, as well as the corresponding film adaptations. Please note, in some cases, alternative editions may be available.
You can find more materials by searching InfoHawk+.
Novels
Beloved by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PS3563.O785 B4 1987ISBN: 9780394535975Publication Date: 1987-08-12
The Color Purple by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PS3573.A427 C6 1982ISBN: 0671458531Publication Date: 1983-01-01
Cotton Comes to Harlem by Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Main Materials) PS3558.I567 R43 1965Publication Date: 1965
Devil in a Blue Dress by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PS3563.O8845 D48 1990ISBN: 0393028542Publication Date: 1990-06-17
The Hate U Give by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PS3620.H6228 H38 2017ISBN: 9780062498533Publication Date: 2017-02-28
Miracle's Boys by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PZ7.W868 Mir 2000ISBN: 9780399231131Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Their Eyes Were Watching God by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PS3515.U789 T5 1998ISBN: 9780060931414Publication Date: 1998-12-01
Waiting to Exhale by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PS3563.C3868 W35 1992ISBN: 0670839809Publication Date: 1992-05-28
The Sun Is Also a Star by Call Number: UI Main Library Course reserve PZ7.1.Y66 Sun 2016ISBN: 9780553496680Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Beloved by Call Number: UI Main Library Media Collection Video record 8681 DVDPublication Date: 1999
The Color Purple by Call Number: UI Main Library Media Collection Video record 10098 DVDPublication Date: 1985
Cotton Comes to Harlem by Call Number: UI Main Library Media Collection Video record 37002 DVDPublication Date: 1970
Devil in a Blue Dress by Call Number: UI Main Library Course reserve Video record 24283 DVDPublication Date: 1998
The Hate U Give by Call Number: UI Main Library Media Collection Video record 49379 DVDPublication Date: 2018
Miracle's boys by Call Number: UI Main Library Media Collection Video record 45742 DVDPublication Date: 2005
There Eyes Were Watching God by Call Number: UI Law Library Film, Law, Lawyers & Popular Culture No Call numberPublication Date: 2004
Waiting to Exhale by Call Number: UI Main Library Media Collection Video record 7920 DVDPublication Date: 1999
The sun is also a star by Call Number: UI Main Library Course reserve Video record 47448 DVDPublication Date: 2019
Drama
For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/When the Rainbow Is Enuf by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PS3569.H3444 F6 1977ISBN: 9780026098403Publication Date: 1977-05-01
A Raisin in the Sun by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PS3515.A515 A6 1987ISBN: 9780452259423Publication Date: 1987-07-01
One Night in Miami by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PS3616.O9273 O54 2016ISBN: 9781786820587Publication Date: 2017-10-17
Fences by Call Number: UI Main Library Media Collection Video record 44362 DVDPublication Date: 2016
For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/When the Rainbow Is Enuf by Call Number: UI Main Library Media Collection Video record 32602 DVDPublication Date: 2011
A Raisin in the Sun by Call Number: UI Main Library Media Collection Video record 46355 DVDPublication Date: 1961
One Night in Miami by Call Number: UI Main Library Media Collection Video record 49086 DVDPublication Date: 2020
Coming soon to a screen near you...
Bitter Root Volume 1: Family Business by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PN6728.B515 W35 2019ISBN: 9781534312128Publication Date: 2019-05-14
BLACK, Vol 1 by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PN6728.8.B5556 O83 2017ISBN: 9781628751864Publication Date: 2017-11-14
Kindred by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PS3552.U84 K5ISBN: 0385150598Publication Date: 1979-07-01
The Prince of Cats by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PN6727.W635 P75 2012ISBN: 9781401220686Publication Date: 2012-09-05
Static Shock - Rebirth of the Cool by Call Number: UI Main Library Stacks PN6727.M28 S73 2009ISBN: 9781401222628Publication Date: 2009-06-02
