Streaming Video Collections
The databases listed below provide streaming video access to feature films. You can browse or search by title.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online delivers almost 80,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Feature Films for Education Collection This link opens in a new windowIn partnership with Global Eagle, this collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films focusing on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThe Films on Demand platform hosts both the World Cinema collection as well as other subscribed titles from Films Media Group.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowCustom online libraries of streaming videos from a variety of studios on a variety of subjects.
UIowa can subscribe to individual titles upon request.
PDA subscriptions include:
* Latin American Studies Collection - Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowStreaming video titles, mostly feature films or television, the University of Iowa has licensed from the Swank Digital Campus collection of videos.
UI Main Library Media Collection
The UI Main Media Collection is not browsable. You will need to search InfoHawk+ in order to find a film.
DVDs and Blu-rays are assigned a record number. Take this number to the service desk and library staff will retrieve the item for you.
If you do not have a DVD or Blu-ray player there is one available on the first floor of the Main Library. (There is also a VHS player.)
