High School Sports - Women in Sport: An Iowa Women's Archives Resource Guide

Collections

Bailey, Charlotte. Papers. 2016-2020. 0.25 linear inches SCVF. Founded Iowa’s only stand-alone women and girls wrestling tournament and practice center, Female Elite Wrestling (FEW) and advocate for women’s high school and intercollegiate wrestling in Iowa.

Beran, Janice A. Papers, 1975-1998. 2 linear feet. Professor in the College of Education at Iowa State University until her retirement in 1994. Manuscripts, reprints, speeches regarding the history of sports, and particularly the participation of women and African Americans in Iowa sports.

Brill, Jane Schoonover. Papers. 1948-2018. 2.5 linear inches. Guthrie Center 6 on 6 basketball forward and guard who collected memorabilia about 6 on 6.

Cuplin, Millicent Mary. Papers, 1889-1994 (bulk 1889-1905). 1 linear inch (1 volume). Mathematics teacher at East High School in Des Moines who initiated the school’s first football team.

Drake, Phyllis Ewoldt. Papers. 1970-1978. 5 linear inches. High school track athlete and 6 on 6 basketball player who won the Iowa State Championship with the Manilla Hawkettes for track in 1970 and 1971 and for basketball in 1974. The bulk of the collection is newspaper clippings.

Falb Family. Papers, 1959-2003. 3 linear inches. Primarily newspaper clippings pertaining to girls’ basketball at Valley High School, West Des Moines, Iowa.

Ferguson, Gladys Miller. Papers, 1919, 1967, 1978. 6 items SCVF. Teacher and high school girls’ basketball coach from Mechanicsville, Iowa.

Fuller, Ruth Beard. Papers. 1925-2002. 2.5 linear inches. Memoir includes description of playing basketball for Mt. Ayr High School in the early 1920s.

Goodrich, Julie. Papers. 1948-1977 (bulk 1970-1974). 12.5 linear feet and audiovisual material. Member of the Adel, Iowa ’s basketball, track and softball teams in the 1970s. A forward on the Adel Tigerettes girls' varsity team for four years, and her team's number two shooter. She received numerous awards from the Adel Community Schools and local sponsors and was chosen to participate in the all-conference basketball team two years in a row. She was also an all-conference softball player and track star.

Halsey, Linda Coe. Papers. 1929-2010. 2.5 linear feet. Attended Udell High School in the 1950s and donated four scrapbooks made by Halsey in her youth, two of which include newspaper clippings of girls’ 6 on 6 basketball.

Heddens, Heather. Papers. 1945-2018. 7.5 linear inches. High school 6 on 6 basketball player whose 6 on 6 girls’ basketball team played in the Iowa State Championship tournament every year she was on the team. In 1973, Heddens helped the Mediapolis Bullettes go undefeated the entire season and win the State Championship.

Hein, Gwendolyn Johnson. Papers. 1892-1997. 1.5 linear inches. Farm girl who played on Newhall High School girls state championship basketball team in 1927.

Irwin, John. Papers. 1964-2018. 5 linear inches. Onawa, Iowa man whose High School girls 6 on 6 basketball team won the State Championship in 1964.

James, Karen Kanke. Papers. 1952-2018. 2.5 linear inches. Manager of the Van Horne 6 on 6 girls’ basketball team that won the state championship in 1962.

Longchamp, Sarah Alien. Papers. 1911-1997 (bulk 1924-1938, 1972). 7 linear inches. An early Iowa basketball player from Ida Grove, Iowa, who was elected to the Iowa Hall of Fame in 1972. During her basketball career, Longchamp among the players on two of Ida Grove's state championship teams in 1928 and 1929.

New Hampton High Yearbook. Records. 1903-1959. 5 linear inches. The Shadow, Hampton High’s annual senior yearbook, from 1920 to 1929 and 1940 to 1941. Of note, the yearbooks spanning from 1920 to 1927 include a photograph of the girls’ basketball team. The image anthology, Team Pride, Team Spirit, also contains photographs from the first girls’ basketball teams in the northeast Iowa town of Lawler, whose students attended New Hampton High.

Olson, Melba Gardemann. Papers. 1916-1993. 5 linear inches. Benton County, Iowa, farm girl and teacher who played on Newhall High School girls state championship basketball team in 1927.

Rasmussen, Dick. Papers. 1964-2008. 1 linear foot. High school basketball player who later coached the South Hamilton and Ankeny basketball teams and collected videocassettes, DVD, and film materials of girls’ 6 on 6 basketball in Iowa, including recordings of State Championships and documentaries about the game.

Rubel, Jane Christoffer. Papers. 1971-1993. 3.5 linear inches. Basketball player at Ruthven Consolidated High School who sued the Iowa Girl’s High School Athletic Union in 1971 to be allowed to play high school basketball after marrying and having a child. The papers contain the official document describing Rubel's lawsuit against the Iowa Girls' High School Athletic Union; a letter of acknowledgment of the discrimination suit from the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare; newspaper clippings; letters of support; and a transcript of a Channel 9 KCRG editorial. The collection also includes a scrapbook composed by Rubel of newspaper clippings on her fight to play 6 on 6 basketball.

Six-on-Six Girls Basketball in Iowa. Ephemera. 1920-2015. 5 linear inches. A collection of materials documenting the history of six-on-six basketball across Iowa from a variety of donors. The collection consists of one series made up of individual experiences with six-on-six basketball in Iowa. Notable names within the collection include 1968 State Championship star Janet Scharnberg and 1995 University of Iowa women’s basketball coach Angie Lee. Among the six-on-six ephemera are newspaper clippings and pamphlets documenting the excitement and passion rural Iowan’s had for the game. One such newspaper article highlights the longevity of the game in Iowa, comparing the State Champion teams of Newhall Van Horne from 1927 and 1962. While most of the collection comes from the mid-century, it is important to note the ability for 6 on 6 girls’ basketball to continue across the generations. The collection is arranged alphabetically by donor’s last name.

Struve, Lucille Schlotterback. Artifact. 1910-1938. Basketball jersey, 1927. Iowa farm girl who was a member of the 1927 Newhall girls’ state championship basketball team.

Tallman, Julie Litchfield. Papers. 1955-1995 (bulk 1961-1963). 6.5 linear inches and artifacts. High school and college golfer and musician, from Des Moines, Iowa. As a sophomore she earned a letter in basketball. While a freshman at Grinnell College (Iowa), Litchfield played only one golf match on the men's freshmen team a Midwest Conference ruling declared competition was limited to male athletes.

Van Horn, Ernella. Papers. 1993-2001. 0.25 linear inches. The second of four generations of women in her family to play basketball in Iowa. The papers include a newspaper article acknowledging and celebrating the historical significance of their participation in basketball.