Asian Pacific American Cultural Center
This guide is created as a resource for the Asian Pacific American Cultural Center at the University of Iowa
Keywords and Search Tips
Here are common subject terms you can type into the databases and InfoHawk+ to find resources on Asian and Pacific Islander groups:
"Native Hawaiians" AND "Pacific Islanders"
"Asian Americans" AND "Pacific Islanders"
"Asian Americans" AND (culture OR heritage)
"Pacific Islander" AND (culture OR heritage)
"Asian Pacific Islander" OR "Asian Pacific American"
"Asian Americans" AND (culture OR heritage)
"Pacific Islander" AND (culture OR heritage)
"Asian Pacific Islander" OR "Asian Pacific American"
Library Databases
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic Newswatch is great for finding articles, journals, magazines and newspapers that are written by journalists from ethnic, minority, and indigenous presses.
- Academic Search EliteThis database is good for finding scholarly articles on every subject or discipline. Most majors and students from all over generally use this database.
- ProQuestProQuest is pretty similar to Academic Search Elite, but also includes a wide array of news articles, primary sources from archives, websites, magazines, and governmental sources.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)Contains more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
- South Asian NewspaperSearch over 400,000 pages of historical newspapers in South Asia published between 1864 and 1922.
- India, Raj, and EmpireExplore the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947, through the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland.
- Asian Film OnlineAsian Film Online is a collection of culturally and historically significant films from Asia and the Pacific that entertain, educate and inspire viewers to think beyond boundaries, predominantly comprised of films never before seen outside their country of origin.
- Asahi shinbun dejitaru This link opens in a new windowDigital version of Japan’s leading daily newspaper Asahi Shinbun. It provides the latest news released in the past 24 hours and full page images of the past two weeks in Japanese, English, and Chinese. It also enables users to search the full text articles including clipped images of the past one year with a keyword and a publication date. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- China Academic Journals (CAJ): Series A, F, G, & H This link opens in a new windowThis database covers journal articles published in China in almost all the subject areas of the Humanities and Arts.The U of Iowa subscribes to Series A (Physics/Astronomy/Mathematics), Series F (Literature/History/Philosophy), Series G (Politics/Military Affairs/Law), and Series H (Education and Social Sciences), including back files dating back to 1994. It is part of the electronic project of the CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure). The database provides full texts in CAJ and PDF formats.
Academic Journals
- Journal of Asian American Studies (JAAS)Journal of Asian American Studies (JAAS) explores all aspects of Asian American experiences through original articles detailing new theoretical developments, research results, methodological innovations, public policy concerns, and pedagogical issues.
- Bridging research and practice to support Asian American studentsSpecial issue of New Directions for Student Services.
Books & Ebooks
The Routledge Companion to Asian American and Pacific Islander Literature by
The Routledge Companion to Asian American and Pacific Islander Literature offers a general introduction as well as a range of critical approaches to this important and expanding field. Divided into three sections, the volume: Introduces "keywords" connecting the theories, themes and methodologies distinctive to Asian American Literature Addresses historical periods, geographies and literary identities Looks at different genre, form and interdisciplinarity With 41 essays from scholars in the field this collection is a comprehensive guide to a significant area of literary study for students and teachers of Ethnic American, Asian diasporic and Pacific Islander Literature. Contributors: Christine Bacareza Balance, Victor Bascara, Leslie Bow, Joshua Takano Chambers-Letson, Tina Chen, Anne Anlin Cheng, Mark Chiang, Patricia P. Chu, Robert Diaz, Pin-chia Feng, Tara Fickle, Donald Goellnicht, Helena Grice, Eric Hayot, Tamara C. Ho, Hsuan L. Hsu, Mark C. Jerng, Laura Hyun Yi Kang, Daniel Y. Kim, Jodi Kim, James Kyung-Jin Lee, Rachel C. Lee, Jinqi Ling, Colleen Lye, Sean Metzger, Susette Min, Susan Y. Najita, Viet Thanh Nguyen, erin Khuê Ninh, Eve Oishi, Josephine Nock-Hee Park, Steven Salaita, Shu-mei Shi, Rajini Srikanth, Brian Kim Stefans, Erin Suzuki, Theresa Tensuan, Cynthia Tolentino, Thuy Linh Nguyen Tu, Eleanor Ty, Traise Yamamoto, Timothy Yu.
Call Number: PS153.A84 R68 2014ISBN: 9780415642484Publication Date: 2014-06-17
An Examination of Asian and Pacific Islander LGBT Populations Across the United States by
This book utilizes personal narratives and survey data from over 500 respondents to explore the diversity of experiences across Asian and Pacific Islander LGBT communities within the United States. Additionally, the authors document and celebrate many of the everyday strengths and strategies employed by this extraordinary population to navigate and negotiate their daily lives.
ISBN: 1137565187Publication Date: 2016-12-14
Asian American and Pacific Islander Children and Mental Health by
This first-of-its-kind, two-volume set examines physical, psychological, social, and environmental factors that undermine--or support--healthy development in Asian American children. * Contributions from top scholars/researchers in the field nationwide
ISBN: 9780313383014Publication Date: 2011-05-26
The Misrepresented Minority by
While Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (AAPIs) are growing faster than any other racial group in the U.S., they are all but invisible in higher education, and generally ignored in the research literature, and thus greatly misrepresented and misunderstood. This book presents disaggregated data to unmask important academic achievement and other disparities within the population, and offers new insights that promote more authentic understandings of the realities masked by the designation of AAPI. In offering new perspectives, conceptual frameworks, and empirical research by seasoned and emerging scholars, this book both makes a significant contribution to the emerging knowledge base on AAPIs, and identifies new directions for future scholarship on this population. Its overarching purpose is to provide policymakers, practitioners, and researchers in higher education with the information they need to serve an increasingly important segment of their student populations. In dispelling such misconceptions as that Asian Americans are not really racial minorities, the book opens up the complexity of the racial and ethnic minorities within this group, and identifies the unique challenges that require the attention of anyone in higher education concerned with student access and success, as well as the pipeline to the professoriate.
ISBN: 9781579229078Publication Date: 2013-12-06
Asian Americans in Higher Education: Charting New Realities by
The Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) population continues to obfuscate the discourse on diversity and higher education institutions. The historical and contemporary experiences of AAPIs in higher education clearly indicate that their presence has influenced and reinforced the importance of diversity in educational environments. To contextualize AAPIs' participation in postsecondary education, this monograph provides: A historical overview of the "model minority" stereotype The affirmative action debate and AAPIs Their involvement in the education pipeline A discussion of their experiences in college. Implications for future research, practice, and policy are further discussed. Educators, administrators, faculty, policy makers, and researchers who are concerned with diversity issues and the AAPI population will find this monograph an engaging and valuable resource.
ISBN: 9781118884973Publication Date: 2014-03-24
Our Voices, Our Histories by
An innovative anthology showcasing Asian American and Pacific Islander women's histories Our Voices, Our Histories brings together thirty-five Asian American and Pacific Islander authors in a single volume to explore the historical experiences, perspectives, and actions of Asian American and Pacific Islander women in the United States and beyond. This volume is unique in exploring Asian American and Pacific Islander women's lives along local, transnational, and global dimensions. The contributions present new research on diverse aspects of Asian American and Pacific Islander women's history, from the politics of language, to the role of food, to experiences as adoptees, mixed race, and second generation, while acknowledging shared experiences as women of color in the United States. Our Voices, Our Histories showcases how new approaches in US history, Asian American and Pacific Islander studies, and Women's and Gender studies inform research on Asian American and Pacific Islander women. Attending to the collective voices of the women themselves, the volume seeks to transform current understandings of Asian American and Pacific Islander women's histories.
ISBN: 9781479821105Publication Date: 2020-03-10
Contemporary Asian American Communities by
Once thought of in terms of geographically bounded spaces, Asian America has undergone profound changes as a result of post-1965 immigration as well as the growth and reshaping of established communities. This collection of original essays demonstrates that conventional notions of community, of ethnic enclaves determined by exclusion and ghettoization, now have limited use in explaining the dynamic processes of contemporary community formation.Writing from a variety of perspectives, these contributors expand the concept of community to include sites not necessarily bounded by space; formations around gender, class, sexuality, and generation reveal new processes as well as the demographic diversity of today's Asian American population. The case studies gathered here speak to the fluidity of these communities and to the need for new analytic approaches to account for the similarities and differences between them. Taken together, these essays forcefully argue that it is time to replace the outworn concept of a monolithic Asian America.
ISBN: 9781439901243Publication Date: 2009-03-16
Restoried Selves by
Restoried Selves: Autobiographies of Queer Asian / Pacific American Activists presents the first-person accounts of 20 activists--life stories that work against common stereotypes, shattering misconceptions and dispelling misinformation. These autobiographies challenge familial and cultural expectations and values that have traditionally forced queer Asian / Pacific Americans into silent shame because of their sexual orientation and/or ethnicity. Authors share not only their experiences growing up but also how those experiences led them to become social activists, speaking out against oppression. Many harmful untruths--or "stories"--about queer Asian-Pacific Americans have been repeated so often, they are accepted as fact. Restoried Selves: Autobiographies of Queer Asian / Pacific American Activists provides a forum for voices often ignored in academic literature to "re-story" themselves, addressing a range of experiences that includes cultural differences and values, conflicts between different generations in a family or between different groups in a community, and difficulties and rewards of coming out. Those giving voice to their stories through narrative and other writing genres include the transgendered and intersexed, community activists, youths, and parents. The stories told in Restoried Selves: Autobiographies of Queer Asian / Pacific American Activists reflect on: personal experiences--based on country of origin, educational background, religion, gender, and age populations served by activism, including the working poor, immigrants, adoptees, youth, women, and families different arenas of activism, including schools, governments, social services, and the Internet issues targeted by activism, including affirmative action, HIV/AIDS education, mental health, interracial relationships, and sexual violence institutions in need of change, including legal, religious, and educational entities and much more! Restoried Selves: Autobiographies of Queer Asian / Pacific American Activists is an essential read for academics and researchers working in Asian American studies, ethnic studies, gender studies, and queer studies, and for LGBTQ youth and their parents, teachers, and social service providers.
ISBN: 9781136572647Publication Date: 2013-04-03
Crossing Sidelines, Crossing Cultures by
Since Crossing Sidelines, Crossing Cultures was originally published in 2000, new findings in Asian Pacific American sports have come to light. Moreover, Americans of Asian Pacific ancestry have made the sports world incredibly more exciting than before. Crossing Sidelines, Crossing Cultures tells intriguing tales of athletes, now often forgotten-such as aquatic legend Duke Kahanamoku, diving gold medalist Vicki Manalo, courageous female golfer Jackie Liwai Pung, and baseball pioneer Buck Lai. It explores how Asian Pacific Americans have asserted a vibrant, joyful sense of community through sports, while encountering racism and nativism. Since 2000, talented athletes of Asian Pacific ancestry have emerged-athletes such as the great Tiger Woods, but also Tim Lincicum, Troy Polamalu, Bryan Clay, Natasha Kai, and Logan Tom. These athletes have chipped away at prevailing stereotypes, and their stories, too, will be told in this second edition of Crossing Sidelines, Crossing Cultures.
ISBN: 9780761847458Publication Date: 2009-01-01
