English Research Areas: Research Areas
Research Areas
- 18th & 19th Century British
- 19th Century U.S. Literatures
- African American
- Book Studies
- Digital Humanities
- Early American Studies
- Gender & Sexuality
- Medieval & Early Modern
- Modernist
- New Media
- Nonfiction Writing
- Religion, Secularism, & Ethics
- The Novel & Short Fiction
- Transnational & Postcolonial Literature
- Victorian & Edwardian
- Visual Culture
MLA International Bibliography Database
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO Version) This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
What is contained in this guide?
This guide is meant to be a starting point which corresponds to the research areas of the English department, as listed on their website. It is by no means exhaustive, it is simply a start in thinking about and exploring the research areas. Each area features the following sources:
Suggested Search Terms - Useful search terms that will help produce results in an InfoHawk+ or WorldCat search. Individual authors or works can also be searched.
Journals - Academic journals related to the research area. Preference is given to those that are currently in publication, but some research areas may have relevant journals that are no longer subscribed to or out of publication.
Databases - The databases that are expected to be the most relevant to the research areas. These are subscribed to by the University of Iowa and will require a login with your HawkID and password to use.
Collections and Companions - A sampling of books and ebooks that present an overview of the works from the research area or provide introductory exploration of the topics.
Contextual Resources - These resources help provide contextual information on the time period, movement, or other influencing factors. These will often, but not always, be additional databases or websites.
Web Resources - There are some great resources on the general web that don't require a subscription. Some of the most relevant are listed for each research area.
* If you are aware of a resource that should be included, please let me know.
