On-campus database access
Alumni are welcome to come to any campus library and use subscription databases via a campus computer with a guest user account or by logging onto the campus wireless network with a personal laptop or mobile device. At some campus library locations, only designated staff members can issue guest accounts. Please call before your visit to make sure staff are available to issue an account for you. A drivers licence or photo ID is required to obtain a guest account.
Off-campus database access
Off-campus access to library databases and resources is not available, due to licensing restrictions. For further information, please see the Access to Commercial Databases policy and the Appropriate use of Electronic Resources policy.
Open Access or Free Databases
- DimensionsFrom the site: Dimensions is a linked research knowledge system that re-imagines discovery and access to research. Developed by Digital Science in collaboration with over 100 leading research organizations around the world, Dimensions brings together grants, publications, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents and policy documents.
- ERIC - Education Resources Information CenterFrom the site: an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
- Google ScholarSearch for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
- Iowa Digital LibraryThe Iowa Digital Library features more than a million digital objects created from the holdings of the University of Iowa Libraries and its campus partners. Included are illuminated manuscripts, historic maps, fine art, historic newspapers, scholarly works, and more.
- Iowa Research OnlineIowa Research Online (ISSN 2476-1680 (online)) preserves and provides access to the research and creative scholarship created by the University of Iowa’s faculty, students, and staff. The research papers, theses, dissertations, books, conference presentations, journals, data and multimedia here represent Iowa’s rich intellectual and cultural community.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsHistoric newspapers, recordings, song sheets, images, artwork, papers, correspondence...and much, much more.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsThis site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
- Petrucci Music Library (IMSLP)Access pdfs of public domain sheet music and some open access sound recordings.
- PubMed Central® (PMC)From the site: free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Public Libraries
Sign up for a library card at your public library! Many public libraries provide remote access to online newspapers, career resources, ebooks, business sources, and article databases.
