Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the University of Iowa Libraries! Find resources at the University of Iowa Libraries to learn about the history of the Pride Alliance Center on this guide.
Contact a Sciences Librarian.
Intro to Pride House History
More History in the Archives
Iowa Women's Archive: Iowa's Pride records
The Iowa’s Pride records date from 1996 to 1999 and measure 2.5 linear inches in one box. The records are arranged in one series, Issues (1996-1999). The Issues series contains nearly monthly issues of Iowa’s Pride from December 1996 to April 1999.
University of Iowa Archives: Records of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Allies Union (GLBTAU), 1974-1994
Noncurrent records of the GLBTAU and a collection of gay-lesbian-bisexual-transgender magazines and newsletters, nearly all published in the United States, were transferred to the University of Iowa Archives, October 22, 1996. The records consist of six cartons of correspondence and subject folders, including newsletter issues, photographs, and publications.
The records concern homosexuality, bisexuality, gender identity issues, related health and political issues, and social activities, especially pertaining to University of Iowa students. Other GLBT student organizations in Iowa and other Midwestern states are represented, along with the University of Iowa Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Staff and Faculty Association.
The Daily Iowan Digital Archive
Dating back to 1868 the Daily Iowan archive provides access to digitized versions of The Daily Iowan and its predecessors: the University Reporter (1868-81), the Vidette (1879-81), the Vidette-Reporter (1881-1901) and the University Mirror (1881). The newspaper editions are full text searchable. New issues are regularly added to the site.
Iowa Digital Library
The Iowa Digital Library features more than a million digital objects created from the holdings of the University of Iowa Libraries and its campus partners. Included are illuminated manuscripts, historic maps, fine art, historic newspapers, scholarly works, and more. Digital collections are coordinated by the Digital Scholarship & Publishing Studio.
Iowa Women's Archives
The Iowa Women’s Archives holds more than 1200 manuscript collections that chronicle the lives and work of Iowa women, their families, and their communities. These personal papers and organizational records date from the nineteenth century to the present. Together with oral histories, they document the activities of Iowa women throughout the state and beyond its borders. The Iowa Women’s Archives is open to the public.
Special Collections & Archives
Special Collections, as part of the University of Iowa Libraries, advances direct engagement in learning, research, and creative work through providing staff expertise and exceptional collections on our campus and worldwide. We acquire, preserve, and make available primary sources in many areas and across many disciplines and historical periods. We nourish creative research, learning, and teaching for a broad audience. We emphasize the artefactual nature of our materials, but encourage additional interaction with them by providing digitized versions.
Doing Historical Research? Contact me.