Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UI Libraries Archival holdings
Although GLBTQ history is sometimes obscure, several organizations have sprung up to preserve it.
Canadian Gay and Lesbian Archives
Based in Toronto, CGLA collects LGBTQ history from around Canada. It was founded in 1973.
GLBT Historical Society
The GLBT Historical Society in San Francisco
The Jean-Nickolaus Tretter Collection in Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Studies
The Jean-Nickolaus Tretter Collection in Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Studies houses over 3,000 linear feet of material about the GLBT experience. It includes published material, organizational records, personal manuscripts, informational files, films, music, textiles, posters, and other items. The collection is international in scope and has materials in approximately 58 languages.
Lavender Legacies Guide
The Society of American Archives put together this collection of institutions with LGBTQ-related collections in their holdings.
LGBT Thought & Culture
Covering American transgender history from the mid-twentieth century to today, Transgender History takes a chronological approach to the subject of transgender history, with each chapter covering major movements, writings, and events. Chapters cover the transsexual and transvestite communities in the years following World War II; trans radicalism and social change, which spanned from 1966 with the publication of The Transsexual Phenomenon, and lasted through the early 1970s; the mid-’70s to 1990—the era of identity politics and the changes witnessed in trans circles through these years; and the gender issues witnessed through the ’90s and ’00s.
This book is just one of the many great resources available through LGBT Thought and Culture.
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
Blogs/News - Selected Sources
University of Iowa Resources