We're here to help you!

We have generous staffing hours to help you. Check out our contact page - we offer in-person help as well as help over the phone, email, or online chat. We can also set you up with your department's librarian liaison for more specialized help.

Find book, articles, movies, and more!

Looking for something? Try out InfoHawk+, our library catalog, to search our collections. You can also log-in with your HawkID to keep track of your checkouts, hold requests, and manage saved resources.

The Libraries subscribe to thousands of databases and electronic resources. Check out each library's webpage to see recommended resources. Your liaison librarian can also help you navigate to resources like statistics, case studies, streaming video, and much more!

Checking out library resources

After you find something you want to check out, you have different checkout options:

• Bring an item to a library service desk to check it out
• Use a self-checkout station (at Main Library) to do it all yourself
• While logged in to InfoHawk+, request the item to pick up at any library of your choice or have it sent to you via office delivery (goes through campus mail and may take a couple of business days)

Want something we don't have? Try Interlibrary Loan - it's free

If we don't have access to an item you want, you can fill out an interlibrary loan (ILL) request and we can get it from another library in the country, at no cost to you. You can ILL books, articles, movies, and more. Physical items are sent to us in the mail, so they may take some time to get here; articles are usually scanned and made available for you to download via email. ILL items can be picked up at the library of your choice or sent to your office. 

*If Hardin Library for the Health Sciences provides you with most of your information needs (biomed/health sciences information) and interlibrary loan/document delivery requests, when setting up your ILL account, please select Hardin Library (or HL8) as your Home Library.

Scholarly Publishing Guide - Compiled information about author rights, copyright, and open access.
Research Data Services Guide - A resource for creating data sharing plans, managing data during research projects, and publishing and preserving your research data.
University of Iowa Libraries YouTube Channels - A collection of videos on a variety of topics, including specific campus libraries, research and disinformation, database tutorials, and Main Library Gallery's exhibits.

Each academic department has its own liaison librarian. Click here to find yours.

Wondering what can a liaison do for you as a new faculty member? Wanting a personalized introduction to the Libraries? Contact your liaison.

Liaisons can provide assistance with:

• the Libraries' resources
• instruction support 
• collection needs

We have seven campus libraries, each serving a focused audience, but you can utilize resources from any location. An overview of the Libraries can be found here. We encourage you to explore all of the libraries on campus. Listed below are a few highlights and a link to Course Reserves for each location:

Art Library

• Uniquely positioned on the 2nd floor of Art Building West, the library provides stunning views of the quarry pond and boasts a two-story reading room. 
• The Art Library began in 1907, with a donation of an extensive collection of art books and holdings, and has been growing ever since.
• Course Reserves

Marvin A. Pomerantz Business Library

• The library space is set up for electronic browsing and use. Physical resources are retrievable but you won't find book stacks here!
• The Business Library has a Bloomberg terminal for real time financial data that can be reserved for use here. 
• Course Reserves

Lichtenberger Engineering Library

• The Tool Library has loanable items ranging from cameras and chargers to hand tools and circuit kits.
• Home to the Creative Space where students can tinker and create, including support of 3D printing and virtual reality projects.
• Course Reserves

Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

• The Anatomage Table 7 is available for an unprecedented virtual dissection experience.
• The John Martin Rare Book Room hosts thousands of original works representing classic contributions to the history of the health sciences from the 15th through 21st centuries.
• Course Reserves

Main Library

• Home to the the The Perch, the Learning Commons, Special Collections & University Archives, Gallery, and the Digital Publishing & Scholarship Studio.
• The library has a variety of study spaces available, including the Silent Study Room and assigned study spaces for faculty.
• Course Reserves

Rita Benton Music Library

• Access digital sound and video recordings of ensemble concerts and faculty recitals from 2003 to present here. 
• The Cantor Rare Book Room contains books and scores spanning centuries, as well as over 140 cylinder recordings (which you can read about here).
• Course Reserves

Sciences Library

• The Sciences Library is deeply involved in Iowa City Darwin Day, a free and open-to-the-public celebration of science.
• Need to figure out what kind of bird is sitting outside your window? Check out the Kent Ornithology Collection to become an Iowa birder.
• Course Reserves

Law Library

• The Law Library is part of the Law School, not the UI Libraries system.
• For information and assistance, please refer to its website.