Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Scholarly Impact: Where to Publish

Where Not to Publish

Image: Wallin & Klarich

How to Avoid Predatory Journals -- A Five-Point Plan by Jocalyn Clark. The BMJ (January 19, 2015)

Be iNFORMEd 
Checklist designed to help researchers determine whether or not to publish in a journal. Created by the Duke University Medical Center Library & Archives.

Think. Check. Submit.
A guide to help researchers identify trusted journals. This guide was created with support from several well-known publishing groups.

Beall's List
From 2008 - Jan. 2017, Jeffrey Beall, a University of Colorado Denver librarian, maintained a list of predatory publishers. In January, 2017, the list was abruptly taken down. There are archived versions of the list that can be found online, but the list is no longer being maintained. There were critics of the list, including 
Joseph Esposito in The Scholarly Kitchen (December 16, 2013). Inside Higher Ed, Jan. 18, 2017 reported on the removal of Beall's List.

 

Where to Publish

Contact your librarian with questions.

Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)  JANE matches your title, abstract, or keywords to millions of documents in MEDLINE to help determine the best journals for your research.

EndNote Manuscript Matcher Log in to your EndNote Basic account and click on the Match tab on the top of the screen.

MEDLINE If you are working in a medical field, it is helpful to know that journals included in MEDLINE, accessible from the PubMed search platform, must meet a number of standards in order to be indexed. There are other subsets of PubMed, such as PMC, a free archive of biomedical literature which  includes some journals included for MEDLINE. Although many PMC journals are credible, being “indexed for MEDLINE” is consistently an indicator of journal quality.  In order to check journal indexing status, visit the NLM catalog: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nlmcatalog/journals For more information: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/dif_med_pub.html.

PsycINFO covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Inclusion of a journal title in PsycINFO generally indicates high quality. For journal title list, see: http://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/psycinfo/coverage.aspx.

Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory  Use Ulrichsweb to find data on over 250,000 serials, periodicals, annuals, and newspapers worldwide. It includes reviews, abstracting and indexing information, email addresses, URLs, and other pertinent information.

Image: Wired Magazine

Evaluating Open Access Titles/Publishers