Bills and LawsHearings and PrintsDebates (Congressional Record)Committee ReportsCongressional Research Service ReportsRelated Historical Resources
Agriculture and BiodiversityBusiness, Trade & EconomyEducationEnergyEnvironmentGovernmentHealthHumanities and The ArtsSecurity & Terrorism
This is the "Finding Government Information" page of the "United States Government Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This guide provides access to a selection of resources for current and historical public policy and consumer information issued by U.S. government agencies and private publishers. The University of Iowa is a Federal Depository Library.
Last Updated: May 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/us Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Government Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Iowa Digital Library Image

Iowa Digital Library Lemberger Photo

Links to General Resources

  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications  
      
    The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options. The catalog offers you the option to find a nearby Federal depository library that has a particular publication or that can provide expert assistance in finding and using related U.S. government information. Click on the title of interest from your search results list. Then click on the Locate in a Library link within the displayed record.
  • CyberCemetery  
      
  • Federal Digital System (FDSys)  
      
  • Registry of U.S. Digitization Projects

Finding U.S. Government Information Online at UI

The University of Iowa Libraries is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government information.  Public access to the government information collection is guaranteed by public law.  (Title 44 United States Code)   

 

  • Declassified Documents Reference System  
      
      Icon
    The database ranges from the years immediately following World War II, when declassified documents were first made widely available, through the 1970s. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and others.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States  
      
      Icon
    Historical Statistics of the United States represents data series from earliest times to the present and has long been a standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. Broad topic categories include Population, Work and Welfare, Economic Structure, Economic Sectors, and Governance and International Affairs.
  • ProQuest Congressional (1789-present)  
      
      Icon
  • ProQuest Government Periodicals Index  
      
      Icon
    ProQuest Government Periodicals Index (1988-present) locates articles from journals and magazines published by U.S. government agencies on issues relating to public policy, commerce, and science-based topics of general interest for both consumers and researchers. Searchable by subject, keyword, author, and title.
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight  
      
      Icon
    Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations. PDF texts of all documents indexed and abstracted in ASI from 2003 forward.
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994  
      
      Icon
    Database of texts from the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Texts constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial set will consist of over 12,000,000 pages. Database searchable by subject, publication category, standing committee author, and other parameters.
  • U.S. Government Posters  
      

  Find Historical Resources In Print at UI

Arranged by date of coverage (oldest to more recent)

Poore, Benjamin Perley.  A Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States, Sept. 5, 1774-March 4, 1881.  (Gov. fZ1223 .A 1885c)

Greely, Adolphus Washington.  Public Documents of the First Fourteen Congresses, 1789-1817: Papers Relating to Early Congressional Documents. (Gov. Z1223 .A 1900)

Superintendent of Documents.  Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909.  (Gov. Z1223 .A113 1911a) 

Lester, Daniel W. et al, compilers.  Cumulative Title Index to United State Public Documents, 1798-1976. (Main Ref. fZ1223 .Z7 L47)

Buchanan, William W. and Edna A. Kanely.  Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, 1900-1971.  (Main Ref. fZ1223 .A181)

Ames, John G.  Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893. (Main Ref. A1223 .A 1905)

Hickcox, John H.  Cumulative Index to Hickcox's Monthly Catalog with Superintendent of Documents Classification (SuDoc) numbers added by Mary Elizabeth Poole.  (Main Library Ref. Z1223.Z7 H5)

Superintendent of Documents.  Catalog of the Public Documents of Congress and of Other Departments of the Government of the United States for the Period of March 4, 1893-December 31, 1940. (known as the Document Catalog) (Gov. 016.353 .U582)

Przebienda, Edward, ed. Decennial Cumulative Personal Author Index. (Gov.  Z1223 .A18 Author Index, yrs.)

Przebienda, Edward, ed.  Quinquennial Cumulative Personal Author Index. (Gov Z1223 .A18 Author Index, yrs.)

Superintendent of Documents. Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications (title varies slightly between 1895-2000). (in print: Gov. Z1223 .A18) Continued online by: Catalog of Government Publications.

Guide to U.S. Government Publications. (also known as Andriot after the original editor) (Main Reference Z1223 .Z7 G8)

Microform Sets for Historical Research (UI Libraries)  Note: locations indicated may be inaccurate.  Check InfoHawk or ask a librarian for the current location.

      

    Ask a Librarian

    Profile Image
    Marianne Mason
    Contact Info
    Main Library
    University of Iowa
    319-335-5538
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip