Skip to main content
print page banner

The University of Iowa Libraries

Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

Free Clinical Research & Patient Wellness Resources: Home

This guide lists FREE clinical, evidence based medicine and patient education resources for physicians, nurses, public librarians, general public and UI alumni.

PubMed & PubMed Central

Toxicology & Environmental Health

IMPORTANT ANNOUCEMENT

THE STATE LIBRARY OF IOWA HAS CANCELED IT'S SUBSCRIPTION TO CINAHL AND OTHER EBSCOHOST DATABASES.  TO ACCESS ALL OF THEIR NEW HEALTH TOPIC DATABASES, GO TO http://www.galepages.com/sliowa_main AND CLICK ON HEALTH ON THE LEFT HAND SIDE OF THE WEBPAGE.

FOR A COMPLETE LIST OF THEIR DATABASES, SEE THE RESOURCES AVAILABLE FROM THE STATE LIBRARY OF IOWA BOX ON THIS PAGE

Please direct any questions or concerns to the State Library of Iowa at 1-800-248-4483 or

Introduction

DID YOU KNOW:

All of the databases in this guide can be accessed for FREE

If you would like to schedule a presentation on any of these resources for either yourself or your hospital, you can contact me by clicking on the Send Email link under Contact Info.  This is a FREE service.

Pub Med VS Pub Central: Which Is Better For You?

PubMed is a database of citations and abstracts for over 25 MILLION ARTICLES from over 5,000 journals. One of its features is a FREE FULL TEXT FILTER that allows you to locate articles that are available for free from several thousand journal web sites and also connects you to most of the articles in PubMed Central.

PubMed Central is an electronic archive of 3.6 MILLION FREE FULL TEXT JOURNAL ARTICLES, most of which have a corresponding entry in PubMed.

Resources Available from the State Library

You need a State Library Card to access all of the State Library of Iowa's databases.  Click on the Sign up for a State Library Card link to obtain one. 

For assistance with any of the State Library's resources, contact Pam Rees. 

Phone: 515-242-5218
Fax: 515-281-3384
Email: pam.rees@lib.state.ia.us      

Chris Childs

Chris Childs's picture
Chris Childs
Contact:
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

100 Hardin Library

Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1098

319-335-9849

Fax 319-353-3752