Skip to main content
print page banner

The University of Iowa Libraries

Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

History of the Health Sciences -- Resource Guide: Ready Reference Sources

This site provides an introduction to resources used in research dealing with the history of medicine and other health sciences.

Guides, Textbooks, Dictionaries

Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science [online]

Companion encyclopedia of the history of medicine / edited by W.F. Bynum and Roy Porter. 1993. [a good starting place for addressing any topic in the history of the health sciences]
 
The greatest benefit to mankind : a medical history of humanity / Roy Porter. 1997 Arguably, the best single volume text on the history of medicine.

The Evolution of Modern Medicine / Sir William Osler. 1913 [online].  A highly readable history of medicine through the first decade of the 20th century

A dictionary of the history of medicine / Anton Sebastian. 1999  

Encyclopedia of medical history / Roderick E. McGrew, with the collaboration of Margaret P. McGrew. 1985 


Nursing, the finest art:  an illustrated history/ M. Patricia Donahue.  1996

Historical encyclopedia of nursing / Mary Jane Snodgrass. 1999

Quotations

Oxford dictionary of medical quotations / Peter McDonald. 2004 

Familiar medical quotations, edited by Maurice B. Strauss. 1968

Medicine in quotations : views of health and disease through the ages / edited by Edward J. Huth, T. Jock Murray. 2000 

Medically speaking : a dictionary of quotations on dentistry, medicine, and nursing / selected and arranged by Carl C Gaither and Alma E Cavazos-Gaither ; illustrated by Andrew Slocombe. 1999

Biographical Information

Dictionary of medical biography / edited by W. F. Bynum and Helen Bynum. 2007

The Nobel Prize winners. Physiology or medicine / edited by Frank N. Magill. 1991

A biographical history of medicine: excerpts and essays on the men and their work [by] John H. Talbott. 1970

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography [online]
"56,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2004."

Biographical dictionary [online]. "...Covers more than 33,000 notable men and women who have shaped our world from ancient times to the present day."  Note: this is a "wiki" based project with multiple and anonymous contributors.  It should be used with caution.


American Nurses Association - Hall of Fame [online].  Thumbnail sketches of the most prominent American nurses from the 19th century to the present.

Dictionary of American nursing biography / Martin Kaufman. 1988

Statistics

Subject Guide

Donna Hirst
Contact:
319-335-9154

Get More Help

Have a general library question?

Contact the Hardin Library reference desk

Phone:
319-335-9151
Email: lib-hardin@uiowa.edu