Welcome
Navigating the Library
- How to Find Materials In Main LibraryThis pdf has the same information printed three time in order to make small handouts.
Getting Started.
Getting the Full-Text
Some databases will provide links directly to the full-text of the articles you find. However, sometimes you might see this image 
in your search results. The UI Link will help you find full-text in another database. It's also possible that some materials may not be available online. If you use InfoHawk+, the content in the "Find Online" box will be the same as the UI Link screens.
Citing your sources
The tools you will be using today should give you opportunities to capture citation information. Keep on the lookout for terms like "cite" or "citation". You may want to copy and paste the given citations into a Word document or an email. You may also see options to save your citation into a tool like EasyBib. InfoHawk+ has this option.
Emailing documents
Most of the databases will let you send articles to your email account. Please open your email to confirm that the whole article was sent and not just a link. If only a link was sent, those will *not* work from your home. It may be safer for you to download the documents to a flash drive for extra certainty.
Computer Labs
We will be working in Room 4037 at the Main Library. You may want to consult the building floor plan to help find your way around the building.
Background Info & Reference Resources
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowWritten by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day.
- Gale Opposing ViewpointsBrowse current topics & real world issues; gain background information, read diverse viewpoints, academic articles, watch videos, and more.
- Credo ReferenceFind dictionary and encyclopedic info on unfamiliar topics or find quick references on a specific person, event, or date.
InfoHawk+ - To Find BOOKS and more
InfoHawk+ is the public interface to search the UI Libraries catalog, including our book and media collection, ebooks and journals titles, plus some of our most used and useful databases. You can find the books we own and the journals we subscribe to, but you can also find articles through some of our database subscriptions.
What is included in InfoHawk+?
- The UI Libraries catalog
- Databases (downloadable Excel/xls file)
- Iowa Research Online
- Iowa Digital Library
Use the tutorials below for guidance or ask a Librarian.
InfoHawk+ Tutorial Videos
- InfoHawk+ ArticlesUsing advanced techniques to find relevant journal articles and other content.
- InfoHawk+ BooksFinding books in using UI Libraries' InfoHawk+.
News Sources
The library has access to databases that specifically search for news coverage of events. Here are some places to begin your search:
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowCurrent and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources. Find diverse perspectives on topics related to business and economics, controversial issues, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, science, social issues and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes the Chicago Tribune and some Iowa newspapers.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowTURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Using Databases to Find Articles from Magazines and Scholarly Journals
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. - Project Muse This link opens in a new windowWith full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe APA PsycINFO database from the American Psychological Association (APA) covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. PsycINFO's peer-reviewed coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to 2,400 journals in more than 30 languages, and book chapters and books in the English language. Coverage spans 1600s – present and includes over 5 million peer-reviewed records.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides article abstracts from 1,800 journals in sociology, from 1952 to the present. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
