THTR:2411/1401 History of Theatre & Drama / Theatre & Society: Get Started
Get Started
When starting a research query or project, it's a good idea to write down or articulate your goals out loud. It keeps searching focused when you're able to describe the type of information you seek and for what purpose. The resources on this page can help you to take that initial research interest and fill it out with additional keywords. Encyclopedias and dictionaries are full of tidbits of information - people, places, events, and terms - that can open new avenues of inquiry or help focus your research. Watch the video to see this in practice!
Encyclopedias
-
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
by
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 20034,300 entries by renowned contributors remain accessible in language and approach and take advantage of the theoretical and historiographical developments in the field.
-
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, serving as a guide to the meaning, history, and usage of 500,000 words and phrases past and present, from across the English-speaking world.
Along with present-day meanings, users will also find the history of individual words and of the language—traced through 3.5 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts, song lyrics, and social media posts.
-
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
by
Call Number: UI Main Reference Collection, FOLIO GT507 .E53 2005Publication Date: 2004From diapers to Dior, saris to serapes, the world of clothing is nearly as vast and as ancient as the human race. Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture. -
Critical survey of drama
by
Call Number: UI Main Reference Collection, PN1625 .C68 2003Publication Date: 2003Eight-volume set contains 613 essays, of which 548 discuss individual dramatists and 65 cover overview topics. The set also contains lists of major dramatic awards, a detailed time line of world drama history, a glossary of dramatic terms and movements, and a bibliography.
