Sustainable Business: Books
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
Video
UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials)
The location for some titles below is "UI Libraries Annex (Business Collection)". This is an off-site storage facility. To request a book from the Annex, simply follow the book link to InfoHawk+ and sign-in with your Hawk ID and password. Library staff can hold the book for you at any library on campus or deliver it to your campus office.
The Big Pivot (print and ebook in collection) by
From Choice: Winston, a recognized green business strategist and founder of Winston Eco-Strategies, challenges managers to view climate change as a critical opportunity to radically shift how they build resilient businesses. To survive in an environmentally changed world with weather disasters and resource scarcities, managers must shift to low/no-carbon, climate-resilient practices and green business strategies as well as disclose how their firms promote change and innovation. Winston offers insightful examples to demonstrate how radical business transformation can come from decisive, long-term leadership rather than short-term crisis management. He outlines ten practical strategies for change that bring significant returns on business stability and profitability. These strategies fall into three clusters: reenvisioning core operating principles, reassessing corporate culture values and incentives, and developing collaborative relationships with government agencies, competitors, and customers. After having made these radical adjustments, managers can then build resilient and regenerative businesses. Winston's passion and sincerity clearly move his engaging discussion beyond mere consultant hype. In this book, he provides a realistic way to address these mega issues along with tested strategies on how to manage these challenges effectively and profitably
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HD30.255 .W57 2014ISBN: 142216781XPublication Date: 2014-04-15
Changing Your Company from the Inside Out by
From Book news: Davis and White explain how to implement socially positive yet lucrative change from within one's company as opposed to starting a business from scratch. Chapter titles include "How Can I Pay the Bills and Still Live My Values?," "Four Kinds of Social Innovation in Organizations," "Overview of the Social Movement Framework," and "Change Your Company, Change the World." Tables and charts are included, as well as strategic bullet points. The book uses recent examples of social upheaval to illustrate points about the intersection between social justice and business
Call Number: Pomerantz Business Library HD60 .D28 2015ISBN: 1422185095Publication Date: 2015-03-17
Embedded Sustainability by
We are in the midst of a sea-change. In years past, corporate social responsibility may have been seen as a feather in a corporation's cap but, today, ecological and social pressures require a new type of business response. In Embedded Sustainability, authors Chris Laszlo and Nadya Zhexembayeva convincingly show how companies can better leverage global challenges for enduring profit and growth. In this outstanding book, readers will learn about the marquis concept of "embedded sustainability": the incorporation of environmental, health, and social value into core business activities with no trade-off in price or quality. When Clorox introduced its new line of Green Works cleaners or Nissan developed its Leaf 100% electric car, these firms were pursuing a profit shift in mainstream markets. In addition to churning out smarter (instead of just greener) products for consumers at large, embedded sustainability is capable of hugely motivating employees. Most of all, it enables companies to create even higher returns for investors, while responding to the new market realities of declining resources, radical transparency, and rising customer expectations. This book helps readers to comprehend--and act on--the notion of embedded sustainability, explaining why it is now a requisite in every sector, how smart companies are creating even higher value for their customers and investors, and what new management competencies are needed to compete in today's marketplace.
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HD30.255 .L37 2011ISBN: 0804775540Publication Date: 2011-04-13
Flourishing (print and ebook in collection) by
Flourishing: A Frank Conversation about Sustainability invites you into a conversation between a teacher, John R. Ehrenfeld, and his former student now professor, Andrew J. Hoffman, as they discuss how to create a sustainable world. Unlike virtually all other books about sustainability, this one goes beyond the typical stories that we tell ourselves about repairing the environmental damages of human progress. Through their dialogue and essays that open each section, the authors uncover two core facets of our culture that drive the unsustainable, unsatisfying, and unfair social and economic machines that dominate our lives. First, our collective model of the way the world works cannot cope with the inherent complexity of today's highly connected, high-speed reality. Second, our understanding of human behavior is rooted in this outdated model. Driven by the old guard, sustainability has become little more than a fashionable idea. As a result, both business and government are following the wrong path--at best applying temporary, less unsustainable solutions that will fail to leave future generations in better shape. To shift the pendulum, this book tells a new story, driven by being and caring, as opposed to having and needing, rooted in the beauty of complexity and arguing for the transformative cultural shift that we can make based on our collective wisdom and lived experiences. Then, the authors sketch out the road to a flourishing future, a change in our consumption and a new approach to understanding and acting. There is no middle ground; without a sea change at the most basic level, we will continue to head down a faulty path. Indeed, this book is a clarion call to action. Candid and insightful, it leaves readers with cautious hope.
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HC79.E5 E3457 2013ISBN: 0804784159Publication Date: 2013-05-15
Goodvertising by
Can advertising be a force for good? How can a brand use advertising to earn the trust of an audience? Demonstrating a brand’s corporate conscience or making audiences aware of its charitable or philanthropic activities is one of the great creative challenges an advertising agency can be given. Here is a collection of outstanding and effective campaigns that communicate the socially responsible nature of leading brands, products, and public organizations today. Deftly organized into ten chapters—Transparency, Connection, Simplicity, Collaboration, Passion, Creativity, Contagiousness, Generosity, Insight, and Full Commitment—it both inspires through great work and explains the principles involved. Over ninety campaigns in a full array of media channels are featured, and each is accompanied by a detailed commentary on the work. Including interviews and insights from leading advertising strategists, the book provides a comprehensive overview for professional advertising creatives, brand strategists, or anyone who works with a brand that values truth, trust, and responsibility.
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) FOLIO HF5831 .K65 2012ISBN: 050051626XPublication Date: 2012-10-01
Nature's Fortune by
What is nature worth? The answer to this question--which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms--is revolutionizing the way we do business. InNature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Who invests in nature, and why? What rates of return can it produce? When is protecting nature a good investment? With stories from the South Pacific to the California coast, from the Andes to the Gulf of Mexico and even to New York City,Nature’s Fortune shows how viewing nature as green infrastructure allows for breakthroughs not only in conservation--protecting water supplies; enhancing the health of fisheries; making cities more sustainable, livable and safe; and dealing with unavoidable climate change--but in economic progress, as well. Organizations obviously depend on the environment for key resources--water, trees, and land. But they can also reap substantial commercial benefits in the form of risk mitigation, cost reduction, new investment opportunities, and the protection of assets. Once leaders learn how to account for nature in financial terms, they can incorporate that value into the organization’s decisions and activities, just as habitually as they consider cost, revenue, and ROI. A must-read for business leaders, CEOs, investors, and environmentalists alike,Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic--and environmental--well-being.
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HC79.E5 T44 2013ISBN: 9780465031818Publication Date: 2013-04-09
The Psychology of Green Organizations by
As we move further into the 21st century, the global challenges and consequences posed by climate change are becoming increasingly apparent. Although organizations are considered significant contributors to climate change, they also have the potential to positively affect it through theiremployees. As a result, understanding how employees' pro-environmental initiatives can positively affect climate change has increasingly become the focus of inquiry among organizational researchers. The Psychology of Green Organizations brings together a number of these researchers to review leading research in different areas of organizational environmental sustainability. In so doing, this book consolidates available knowledge on employees' contributions to corporate environmentalinitiatives, stimulates future empirical research on this topic, and provides recommendations for how organizations can improve their environmental performance through their employees. Many chapters provide case examples of environmentally sustainable organizations to illustrate lessons gleaned from research. Chapters in part 1 provide a conceptual, theoretical, and methodological foundation for research on workplace pro-environmental behaviors, while those in parts 2 and 3 reviewresearch on the promotion of workplace pro-environmental behaviors at the individual and organizational levels, respectively. Part 4 explores one organization that has been successful at promoting employees' environmental initiatives, highlighting how both organizational and individual factors canbe used to effect major changes in corporate environmental sustainability.
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HD30.255 .P79 2015ISBN: 0199997489Publication Date: 2015-02-17
Responsible Leadership (print and ebook in collection) by
* The ultimate insider's view of corporate responsibility and ethics from the boardrooms of some of the world's largest corporations * New ideas on how to seek collaborative solutions to the market failures of climate change and corruption * How Shell dealt with the Brent Spar and Ken Saro-Wiwa controversies and what they learnt * A manifesto for responsible leadership * Dilemmas and lessons from the front line of corporate responsibility As Chairman of the Royal Dutch Shell Group from 1991-2001 and of Anglo American plc from 2002-2009, Sir Mark Moody-Stuart is as qualified as anyone on the planet to discuss the realities, dilemmas and lessons to be learned from the last 20 years of corporate engagement with sustainability, ethics and responsibility. In this unique book - part memoir, part confessional, part manifesto for leadership - we hear a unique voice from the front line of corporate responsibility. Moody-Stuart retraces the steps of a remarkable journey from being a postgraduate geologist to being at the helm of two of the largest corporations in the world. We hear of dealings with dictators and prime ministers, colleagues and NGOs, rivals and friends. We travel from Syria to Nigeria; Iraq to Downing Street; and from the machinations of the United Nations to those inside the boardroom of Shell. We see Shell's annus horribilis in 1995 unfold through the eyes of an insider, and how Brent Spar and the execution of Ken Saro-Wiwa sent shockwaves through the company, resulting in a complete reappraisal of its mission and principles. We hear about the oil and mining sectors and their complicated development role in areas of conflict and corruption; the way that markets have failed us on climate change and corruption; and how governments need to step up to the global challenges we face. We hear how the Deep Water Horizon could have been avoided; what Shell were asked to do by Tony Blair during the UK fuel blockades of 2000 and why they declined; why China is too important to ignore; and why the Global Compact is too important to fail. We hear lessons from a life spent living in 10 different countries and we come to realize that, for corporations, trying to do the right thing can sometimes be almost impossible. We also come to know a deeply ethical and thoughtful leader.
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HD57.7 .M66 2014ISBN: 9781906093969Publication Date: 2014-03-14
Sustainability and Human Resource Management (ebook) by
The role of HRM in developing sustainable business organizations is increasingly attracting attention. Sustainability can be used as a principle for HRM itself and the tasks of Sustainable HRM are twofold. On the one hand it fosters the conditions for individual employee sustainability and develops the ability of HRM systems to continuously attract, regenerate and develop motivated and engaged employees by making the HRM system itself sustainable. On the other hand Sustainable HRM contributes to the sustainability of the business organizations through cooperation with the top management, key stakeholders and NGOs and by realising economic, ecological, social and human sustainability goals. This book provides a comprehensive review of the new area of Sustainable HRM and of research from different disciplines like sustainable work systems, ergonomics, HRM, linking sustainability and HRM. It brings together the views of academics and practitioners and provides many ideas for conceptual development, empirical exploration and practical implementation. This publication intends to advance the international academic and practice-based debates on the potential of sustainability for HRM and vice versa. In 19 chapters, 26 authors from five continents explore the role of HRM in developing economically, socially and ecologically sustainable organizations, the concept of Sustainable HRM and the role of HRM in developing Sustainable HRM systems and how sustainability and HRM are conceptualized and perceived in different areas of the world.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9783642375248Publication Date: 2013
Sustainable Entrepreneurship (ebook) by
Sustainable Entrepreneurship stands for a business driven concept of sustainability which focusses on increasing both social as well as business value - so called Shared Value. This book shows why and how this unique concept has the potential to become the most recognised strategic management approach in our times. It aims to point out the opportunities that arise from putting sustainable entrepreneurship into practice. At the same time, this book is a wake-up call for all those companies and decision makers who underestimated Sustainable Entrepreneurship before or who are simply not aware of its greater dimension. Well structured chapters from different academic and business perspectives clearly outline how Sustainable Entrepreneurship contributes to solving the world's most challenging problems, such as Climate Change, Finance Crisis and Political Uncertainty, as well as to ensuring business success. The book provides a framework of orientation where the journey might go: What can a successful concept of SE look like? What are the key drivers for its realisation? What is the role of business in shaping the future of our society? The book also presents best practices and provides unique learnings as well as business insights from the international Sustainable Entrepreneurship Award (www.se-award.org). The Sustainable Entrepreneurship Award (short SEA) is an award for companies today who are thinking about tomorrow by making sustainable business practices an integral part of their corporate culture. Companies that receive the SEA are being recognised for the vision they have shown in combining economic and sustainable responsibility.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9783642387524Publication Date: 2014
This Changes Everything by
The most important book yet from the author of the international bestseller The Shock Doctrine, a brilliant explanation of why the climate crisis challenges us to abandon the core "free market" ideology of our time, restructure the global economy, and remake our political systems. In short, either we embrace radical change ourselves or radical changes will be visited upon our physical world. The status quo is no longer an option. In This Changes Everything Naomi Klein argues that climate change isn't just another issue to be neatly filed between taxes and health care. It's an alarm that calls us to fix an economic system that is already failing us in many ways. Klein meticulously builds the case for how massively reducing our greenhouse emissions is our best chance to simultaneously reduce gaping inequalities, re-imagine our broken democracies, and rebuild our gutted local economies. She exposes the ideological desperation of the climate-change deniers, the messianic delusions of the would-be geoengineers, and the tragic defeatism of too many mainstream green initiatives. And she demonstrates precisely why the market has not-and cannot-fix the climate crisis but will instead make things worse, with ever more extreme and ecologically damaging extraction methods, accompanied by rampant disaster capitalism. Klein argues that the changes to our relationship with nature and one another that are required to respond to the climate crisis humanely should not be viewed as grim penance, but rather as a kind of gift-a catalyst to transform broken economic and cultural priorities and to heal long-festering historical wounds. And she documents the inspiring movements that have already begun this process: communities that are not just refusing to be sites of further fossil fuel extraction but are building the next, regeneration-based economies right now. Can we pull off these changes in time? Nothing is certain. Nothing except that climate change changes everything. And for a very brief time, the nature of that change is still up to us.
Call Number: Main Library HC79.E5 K56 2014ISBN: 9781451697384Publication Date: 2014-09-16
We First by
FROM PUBLISHER’S WEEKLY: Can big business be socially responsible? Brand consulting expert Mainwaring certainly thinks so. He believes new technologies aren't merely making life easier, they're making us better: in allowing us to connect with each other across geographic, cultural, and language barriers, the Internet and social media might very well be increasing our capacity for empathy. His "We First" ethos proposes cooperation between governments, philanthropies, and capitalist corporations to achieve meaningful social transformation. Social media—viral, borderless—is the perfect vehicle to promote "contributory consumerism," and Mainwaring has fascinating suggestions for technological innovation and systemic change: he proposes a "Global Brand Initiative": an association of corporate brands and their advertising partners and competitors that willingly work together (Coke with Pepsi, Greenpeace with WWF, the U.S. with China) to advance corporate social responsibility and charitable donations. Tall orders, all—but the author's enthusiasm and evidence make an excellent (and counterintuitive) case for big business's ability to make major strides in creating a more equitable world
Call Number: Pomerantz Business Library HD60 .M34 2011ISBN: 0230110266Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Sustainability and Governance by
Giving voice to the marginalized, broadly defined, is the aim of this volume in its examination of social life increasingly marked by global inequality and the extension of market rationalities to all arenas. Revealing the outcome to populations, stakeholders, and the environment when policies resting on narrowly constrained logics are employed, these researchers lead the way in probing accounting's participation in significant struggles of our times. In order to better appreciate the consequences of economic globalization, the works examine contemporary rhetoric, governance, politics, and strategies and the manner in which accounting technologies are integrated. These works maintain that transformation is inevitable and they search for possibilities of change that can be manifested in socially equitable practices and improved social justice by enhancing accountability.
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HF5601 .A48ISBN: 9781784416546Publication Date: 2015-09-17
Business Models for Sustainability by
With increasing awareness that innovative technology alone is insufficient to make sustainable lifestyles a reality, this book brings into sharp focus the need to create radical new business models. This insightful book provides a theoretically grounded b
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HD60 .W45 2013ISBN: 9781781001523Publication Date: 2013-08-30
The Business of Sustainability by
Most academics and certainly most sustainability managers agree that research on the 'business case' for sustainability has been very inconclusive. In fact many have simply decided that the business case for sustainability is elusive. This book goes further than ever before in trying to be more specific about the economic rationale for corporate sustainability, by approaching this issue on an industry-specific level. To do this, empirical evidence was gathered from managers in nine industries, along with their stakeholders, during an extensive and ambitious research project. The book gives a detailed and representative insight of the business case in the nine sectors but also a unique cross-industry perspective on this issue.
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HC79.E5 B857 2004ISBN: 1403933960Publication Date: 2004-05-28
Changing the Food Game by
By 2050, the world's population is estimated to grow to 10 billion. To feed everyone, we will have to double our food production, to produce more food in the next 40 years than in the whole of the last 6,000. Changing the Food Game shows how our unsustainable food production system cannot support this growth. In this prescient book, Lucas Simons argues that the biggest challenge for our generation can only be solved by effective market transformation to achieve sustainable agriculture and food production. Lucas Simons explains clearly how we have created a production and trading system that is inherently unsustainable. But he also demonstrates that we have reason to be hopeful - from a sustainability race in the cocoa industry to examples of market transformation taking place in palm oil, timber, and sugarcane production. He also poses the question: where next? Provocative and eye-opening, Changing the Food Game uncovers the real story of how our food makes it on to our plates and presents a game-changing solution to revolutionize the industry.
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) S494.5.S86 S56 2015ISBN: 9781783532315Publication Date: 2014-11-09
Climate Capitalism by
Confronting climate change is now understood as a problem of 'decarbonising' the global economy: ending our dependence on carbon-based fossil fuels. This book explores whether such a transformation is underway, how it might be accelerated, and the complex politics of this process. Given the dominance of global capitalism and free-market ideologies, decarbonisation is dependent on creating carbon markets and engaging powerful actors in the world of business and finance. Climate Capitalism assesses the huge political dilemmas this poses, and the need to challenge the entrenched power of many corporations, the culture of energy use, and global inequalities in energy consumption. Climate Capitalism is essential reading for anyone wanting to better understand the challenge we face. It will also inform a range of student courses in environmental studies, development studies, international relations, and business programmes.
Call Number: Main Library HC79.P55 N49 2010ISBN: 9780521194853Publication Date: 2010-05-27
Corporate Sustainability (ebook) by
Sustainability is one of the key issues in today's society, as confirmed by the increasing attention of governments, media, academia and the industry. In the context of sustainable development, businesses that are often referred to as part of the problem can become part of the solution. This book presents the state of the art of sustainability in corporations from a number of perspectives, which include: economy, finance, measurement and reporting, organizing for sustainability, green products, green buildings and IT. The individual chapters provide valuable insights for pursuing future research and define a proper research agenda for the years to come. Further, the relevance of the topics addressed makes the book essential reading for academics, practitioners, consultants and more generally, for all those interested in business evolution and sustainability. The book was written by prominent researchers from Italy, India, the USA and the UK.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9783642370175Publication Date: 2013
The Ecology of Commerce by
The world has changed in the seventeen years since the controversial initial publication of Paul Hawken's Ecology of Commerce, a stirring treatise about the perceived antagonism between ecology and business. Yet Hawken's impassioned argument—that business both causes the most egregious abuses of the environment and, crucially, holds the most potential for solving our sustainability problems—is more relevant and resonant than ever. Containing updated and revised material for a new audience, The Ecology of Commerce presents a compelling vision of the restorative (rather than destructive) economy we must create, centered on eight imperatives: Reduce energy carbon emissions 80 percent by 2030 and total natural resource usage 80 percent by 2050. Provide secure, stable, and meaningful employment to people everywhere. Be self-organizing rather than regulated or morally mandated. Honor market principles. Restore habitats, ecosystems, and societies to their optimum. Rely on current income. Be fun and engaging, and strive for an aesthetic outcome.
Call Number: Main Library HD60 .H393 1994ISBN: 0061252794Publication Date: 2010-10-26
Environmental Markets (online) by
Population growth, industrialization, and urbanization in the past 200 years have resulted in local, national, and global pollution of our environment. Markets, when designed properly, can be a powerful agent to combat this pollution. Environmental finance is thus the art and science of using economic incentives, financial tools, and market mechanisms to achieve desired environmental outcomes.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1934667668Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Fostering Sustainable Behavior by
The highly acclaimed manual for changing everyday habits--now in an all-new third edition!
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HF5414 .M35 2011ISBN: 9780865716421Publication Date: 2011-03-15
Green Logistics by
As concern for the environment rises, companies are taking more account of the external costs of logistics-specifically those costs associated with climate change, air pollution, noise, vibration, and accidents. With contributions written by leading international logistics academics, Green Logistics examines ways of reducing these factors and achieving a more sustainable balance between economic, environmental, and social objectives. This new edition introduces a new co-editor and contributors, as well as international case studies, for a more global perspective. For the first time, the book will include downloadable supporting materials, technical information, and guidelines for teachers/lecturers. The editors have added new material on e-business, e-logistics, and the environment along with new chapters on green performance and environmental reporting, nature-inspired network design for distributed logistics, green logistics developments in different parts of the world (including North America, Latin America, South East Asia) and future scenarios for green logistics. Other key topics examined in the book include: carbon auditing of supply chains; reducing the environmental impact of warehousing; improving the energy efficiency of freight transport; making city logistics more environmentally sustainab≤ reverse logistics for the management of waste; the role of government in promoting sustainable logistics.
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HD38.5 .G696 2015ISBN: 0749471859Publication Date: 2015-02-28
A New Psychology for Sustainability Leadership by
During the last decade, the sustainability position in multinational corporations has grown in influence. Much literature has explored how corporations can play an important role in solving the environmental challenges facing the planet. However, until now, there has been little research on sustainability leadership at the individual level. In this book, Schein explores the deeper psychological motivations of sustainability leaders. He shows how these motivations relate to overall effectiveness and capacity to lead transformational change and he explores the ways in which the complexity of sustainability is driving new approaches to leadership. Drawing on interviews with 75 leaders from over 40 multinational corporations and NGO's, Schein explores how ecological worldviews are developed and expressed in global sustainability practice. By applying key theories from developmental psychology, integral ecology and eco-psychology to sustainability practice, Schein encourages us to think about leadership in a different way. A New Psychology for Sustainability Leadership will be of interest to an interdisciplinary audience of social scientists, educators, corporate executives, and social entrepreneurs. The insights from this book can be usefully integrated into leadership curriculum and development programs to help the next generation of leaders respond to global challenges.
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HC79.E5 S34 2015ISBN: 9781783531950Publication Date: 2015-07-01
The Responsible Company by
The Responsible Company, by Yvon Chouinard, founder and owner of Patagonia, and Vincent Stanley, co-editor of its Footprint Chronicles, draw on the their 40 years' experience at Patagonia - and knowledge of current efforts by other companies - to articulate the elements of responsible business for our time. Patagonia, named by Fortune in 2007 as the coolest company on the planet, has earned a reputation as much for its ground-breaking environmental and social practices as for the quality of its clothes. In this exceptionally frank account, Chouinard and Stanley recount how the company and its culture gained the confidence, by step and misstep, to make its work progressively more responsible, and to ultimately share its discoveries with companies as large as Wal-Mart or as small as the corner bakery. In plain, compelling prose, the authors describe the current impact of manufacturing and commerce on the planet’s natural systems and human communities, and how that impact now forces business to change its ways. The Responsible Company shows companies how to reduce the harm they cause, improve the quality of their business, and provide the kind of meaningful work everyone seeks. It concludes with specific, practical steps every business can undertake, as well as advice on what to do, in what order. This is the first book to show companies how to thread their way through economic sea change and slow the drift toward ecological bankruptcy. Its advice is simple but powerful: reduce your environmental footprint (and its skyrocketing cost), make legitimate products that last, reclaim deep knowledge of your business and its supply chain to make the most of opportunities in the years to come, and earn the trust you’ll need by treating your workers, customers and communities with respect.
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HD9948.5.A2 C46 2012ISBN: 9780980122787Publication Date: 2012-05-25
Social Innovation, Inc by
<p>Could Wal-Mart offer a better solution to healthcare than Medicaid? Could GE help reduce global warming faster than the Kyoto protocol?</p> <p>Social Innovation, Inc. declares a new era where companies profit from social change. Leading corporations like GE, Wellpoint, Travelers and Wal-Mart are transforming social responsibility into <i>social innovation</i> and revolutionizing the way we think about the role of business in society. Based on four years of measuring the social strategies of America′s leading corporations, Jason Saul lays out the five strategies for social innovation and offers a practical roadmap for how to get started.</p> <ul> <li>Explains the fundamental shift in the role of business in society, from social contract to social capital market</li> <li>Identifies the 5 social innovation strategies: submarket products and services, social points of entry, pipeline talent, reverse lobbying, and emotive customer bonding</li> <li>Offers step-by-step guidance for creating economic value through positive social change</li> </ul> <p><i>Social Innovation, Inc</i>. is about making social change work for the business, and in turn staying relevant in the new economy.</p>
Call Number: Pomerantz Business Library HD60 .S28 2011ISBN: 9780470614501Publication Date: 2010-10-19
The Sustainable MBA (ebook) by
Whether you are an employee, a manager, an entrepreneur or a CEO, "The Sustainable MBA Second Edition" provides the knowledge and tools to help you 'green' your job and organization, to turn sustainability talk into action for the benefit of your bottom line and society as a whole. Based on more than 150 interviews with experts in business, international organizations, NGOs and universities from around the world, this book brings together all the pieces of the business and sustainability puzzle including: What sustainability is, why you should be interested, how to get started, and what a sustainable organization looks like.A wide range of tools, guidelines, techniques and concepts that you can use to implement sustainability practices.Information on how to be a sustainability champion or intrapraneur in your organization including how to sell these ideas to your team and how to incorporate them into any job. A survey of the exciting trends in sustainable business happening around the world. A wealth of links to interesting resources for more information. "The Sustainable MBA Second Edition" is organized like a business school course, allowing you easy access to the relevant information you need about sustainability as it relates to Accounting, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Ethics, Finance, Marketing, Organizational Behavior and HR, Operations and Strategy. "The Sustainable MBA Second Edition" has been updated to reflect global developments in this evolving field to remain the definitive guide to sustainable business. Additional resources to accompany the book are available at www.thesustainablemba.com.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781118760604Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Sustainable Value Chain Management (ebook) by
This book introduces the integrated management concept of "Sustainable Value Creation", which delivers sustainability 'inside-out' from the core business. It is based on the premise that sustainability can provide a platform for growth, if it is implemented in a company's products, services and supply chains (combined also known as the 'Value Chain'). Managing the Value Chain from the outset with a sustainability mindset subsequently allows profitable economical, ecological and societal growth. It combines the need for increased sustainability and its implementation in the operations of a company. The book addresses the following issues: How do economic, environmental and societal factors impact the value-creation process of a company? What requirements and expectations need to be met to balance economic, ecologic and societal value creation? What are the building blocks and measures that can be utilized on the journey towards building a sustainable value chain? What benefits can be achieved through sustainable value chains? What are the practical examples of sustainable value chains in leading companies that can inspire others to follow? The book includes contributions from the following organisations and companies: Beiersdorf, SAP, Klenk und Hoursch, VAUDE, Infineon Technologies, Independent Capital Management, BASF, Nanogate, the Federal German Council for Sustainable Development, Henkel, Symrise, shared.value.chain, Siemens, Fairphone and Thin Air Factory
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9783319121420Publication Date: 2015-02-28
Empowering Sustainability International Journal (online)
The Empowering Sustainability International Journal (ESIJ) is an interdisciplinary open access online publication of peer reviewed papers that aims at connecting scholars and practitioners through the exchange of ideas, opinions, and experiences related to all aspects of sustainability. The journal values different ways of knowing, creativity, collaborations, practice-based theorizing, and rethinking of concepts such as empowerment, sustainability, development, democracy, and justice.
Call Number: Online Access
The Necessary Revolution by
Imagine a world in which the excess energy from one business would be used to heat another. Where buildings need less and less energy around the world, and where “regenerative” commercial buildings – ones that create more energy than they use – are being designed. A world in which environmentally sound products and processes would be more cost-effective than wasteful ones. A world in which corporations such as Costco, Nike, BP, and countless others are forming partnerships with environmental and social justice organizations to ensure better stewardship of the earth and better livelihoods in the developing world. Now, stop imagining – that world is already emerging. A revolution is underway in today’s organizations. As Peter Senge and his co-authors reveal in The Necessary Revolution, companies around the world are boldly leading the change from dead-end “business as usual” tactics to transformative strategies that are essential for creating a flourishing, sustainable world. There is a long way to go, but the era of denial has ended. Today’s most innovative leaders are recognizing that for the sake of our companies and our world, we must implement revolutionary—not just incremental—changes in the way we live and work. Brimming with inspiring stories from individuals and organizations tackling social and environmental problems around the globe, THE NECESSARY REVOLUTION reveals how ordinary people at every level are transforming their businesses and communities. By working collaboratively across boundaries, they are exploring and putting into place unprecedented solutions that move beyond just being “less bad” to creating pathways that will enable us to flourish in an increasingly interdependent world. Among the stories in these pages are the evolution of Sweden’s “Green Zone,” Alcoa’s water use reduction goals, GE’s ecoimagination initiative, and Seventh Generation’s decision to shift some of their advertising to youth-led social change programs. At its heart, THE NECESSARY REVOLUTION contains a wealth of strategies that individuals and organizations can use — specific tools and ways of thinking — to help us build the confidence and competence to respond effectively to the greatest challenge of our time. It is an essential guidebook for all of us who recognize the need to act and work together—now—to create a sustainable world, both for ourselves and for the generations to follow.
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HC79.E5 N436 2008ISBN: 9780385519014Publication Date: 2008-06-10
The Age of Responsibility (print and ebook in collection) by
Praise for The Age of Responsibility "Wayne Visser''s The Age of Responsibility elegantly and persuasively demonstrates the limits and failures of traditional CSR and also the kinds of reforms needed to create conditions for genuine corporate responsibility. Rich with insight, information and analyses, and highly readable for its excellent writing and poignant stories, the book is a crucial contribution to understanding where we are with CSR and what we need to do to move forward." ?Joel Bakan, author of The Corporation: The Pathological Pursuit of Profit and Power (book and documentary film) "Amongst the advocates of CSR as an innovative management approach, Wayne Visser is a well-known voice. This new book states more clearly than most why CSR should not be dismissed, but would benefit from some serious rethinking." ?Michael Blowfied, Senior Research Fellow at Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment, Oxford University and author of Corporate Responsibility "The Age of Responsibility by Wayne Visser is an important book that should be studied carefully by all those seriously interested in the past, present and future of CSR. For me, the most noteworthy contribution is his "ages and stages" of CSR. Visser identifies five overlapping economic periods and classifies their stages of CSR, modus operandi, key enablers, and stakeholder targets. In forward-looking fashion, he crafts five insightful principles of CSR 2.0 and presents his DNA Model of CSR 2.0 which integrates knowledge and sets forth a more inclusive view of CSR. This book is a significant contribution to the theory and practice of CSR and it will be valued by academics and practitioners alike. I strongly recommend it." ?Archie B. Carroll, Professor of Management Emeritus, Terry College of Business and author of Business and Society "A challenging and thought provoking book. In an age when corporate responsibility is a must for most large businesses, Wayne Visser reminds us that global environmental and social pressures show little sign of receding. He asks: are we as practitioners complacent, or worse, part of the problem? There is hope and optimism but only if we are brave and bold enough to re-engineer corporate responsibility. Read on...." ?Yogesh Chauhan, Chairman Corporate Responsibility Group and BBC Chief Adviser Corporate Responsibility "An authoritative tome on the CSR movement. It provides a comprehensive framework to understand the various stages of (and motivations for) CSR in organizations and the economy to date, and a clear vision of what a truly sustainable and responsible tomorrow entails. This is an eminently well-researched and well-structured book that flows coherently with deep insights and valuable vignettes." ?Willie Cheng, author of Doing Good Well: What does (and does not) make sense in the nonprofit world "The Age of Responsibility provides a much-needed wake up call for the corporate responsibility movement. This highly readable account of where CSR has gone wrong and where it needs to go next is essential reading for anyone interested in the role business can play in creating a just and sustainable society. This is the best CSR book you''ll read all year." ?Andrew Crane, George R. Gardiner Professor of Business Ethics, Schulich School of Business, York University and author of Business Ethics "The Age of Responsibility breathes new life into CSR, both by redefining it as Corporate Sustainability and Responsibility and by highlighting why CSR has so far failed to make much difference in the way companies respond to pressing global challenges. In his inimitable style, using clear frameworks and illustrative case studies, Wayne Visser brings real insight to a complex set of ideas at a time when they are needed most. Bring on CSR 2.0!" ?Polly Courtice, Director of the University of Cambridge Programme for Sustainability Leadership "In this time of seemingly widespread corporate malfeasance Wayne Visser has put his finger on why CSR has failed to deliver on its promise and what can be done to right the ship. The Age of Responsibility is a must read for anyone concerned about the future of business." ?Bob Doppelt, Executive Director, The Resource Innovation Group and The Climate Leadership Initiative "CSR 1.0 did remarkably well through the latest Great Recession, despite having precariously little to say on the big issues of the day and no ready-to-go blueprint for economic transformation. As a result, we are seeing a massive reboot going in the CSR industry ? and Wayne Visser is a consistently reliable guide to (and champion of) the emerging CSR 2.0 mindsets and practices." ?John Elkington, Co-Founder and Director, Volans Ventures and co-author of The Power of Unreasonable People "It is difficult to run a sustainable business in an unsustainable world. So forget about the defensive, charitable, promotional and strategic versions of CSR. The Age of Responsibility is a call for companies to shift to CSR 2.0 ? where success is judged by improvements in the overall socio-cultural, economic and ecological systems. If not, CSR will continue to fail, argues Wayne Visser. With an array of cases Visser guides you through the evolution of business responsibility ? from the Ages of Greed, Philanthropy, Misdirection and Management to the Age of Responsibility ? and shares the five principles of sustainable business actions. Wayne Visser''s insightful book is at the same time a compelling personal story about the existential questioning of whether or how it is possible to make a difference through CSR." ?Tania Ellis, international speaker, business advisor and author of The New Pioneers "Through a concise analysis of recent economic history and through the wisdom of parables, Visser''s book offers an illuminating analysis of the heart of greed'and of the path our institutions can take to move from corporate responsibility as a form of occasional philanthropy to an ethic of responsibility that is radically transformative. Visser''s new economic myth or meta-narrative creates a compelling vision of a possible sustainable world." ?Betty Sue Flowers, Professor Emerita, University of Texas at Austin and co-author of Presence: An Exploration of Profound Change in People, Organizations, and Society "Wayne Visser has rightly identified responsibility as one of the defining issues of our time. Executives, students and citizens should read this book, and make it an integral part of our conversation about business." ?R. Edward Freeman, Director of the Business Roundtable Institute for Corporate Ethics at the University of Virginia Darden School of Business, and author of Strategic Management: A Stakeholder Approach "High marks for Wayne Visser who brings us a book that both challenges the conventional state of CSR in very fresh and bold fashion, and offers a provocative new vision of CSR 2.0. What is most energizing about this book is that it provides a well documented historical and analytical framework on the progression of CSR over the past century. But in analyzing the current state of CSR, it recognizes that despite amazing achievements and progress, CSR has to leap frog into a new world, one that recognizes the new DNA of business, and one that calls for a CSR 2.0 that goes far beyond the models that currently exist. The new Principles of CSR 2.0 that Visser puts at the heart of this book provide the business community and the CSR world a new path for incorporating the complexity of the social and environmental issues that confront today''s corporation, a CSR that can serve as a more transformative force for economic and social sustainability. What a refreshing and creative read! There are few books that can cut to the chase and provide a thoughtful analysis of the current state of CSR while at the same time opening up a vision for tomorrow. This is a contribution to the CSR world that is long overdue and most welcome." ?Brad Googins, Associate Professor in Organisation Studies at the Carroll School of Management, and former Director of the Boston College Center for Corporate Citizenship "Your new book deserves to become an instant classic. It brings together so many ideas, writings, and stages in the development of CSR. It is a liberal education on the relation of business to society. I hope that it is read not only by companies but becomes a required reading in business schools to prepare business students for a higher level of thinking about their future role and impact. I am happy to endorse the book: A most impressive book! I will recommend it to every company to figure out why they are practicing CSR and how to really practice it to make a difference to their profits, people, and the planet." ?Philip Kotler, S. C. Johnson and Son Distinguished Professor of International Marketing, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University and author of Corporate Social Responsibility "The Age of Responsibility will change the way you think about CSR, allowing you to discard myths and to work towards a systemic view of CSR. Wayne Visser holds up a mirror to the CSR community and to business and society itself, providing a brilliant lens with which to see our past and envision a new future. Visser projects a new type of CSR he terms "CSR 2.0". The Age of Responsibility is a call to arms: inspiring, engaging and visionary." ?Deborah Leipziger, author of The Corporate Responsibility Code Book and SA8000: The Definitive Guide to the New Social Standard "The Age of Responsibility and its proposed CSR 2.0 - per
Call Number: UI Libraries Annex (Business Materials) HD60 .V56 2011ISBN: 9780470688571Publication Date: 2011-03-21
