Skip to main content

Guides

Song Analysis (Shaughnessy 1030:0067): Song Analysis Resources

Created for Kathleen Shaughnessy's 1030:0067 Rhetoric class.

Welcome!

This guide was created with the intention to help you locate resources, including scholarly articles, magazine articles, images, textual analysis, and other cultural artifacts for your assignment rhetorically analyzing a song of your choice. 

Themes & Keywords

To begin research for this assignment first think about the themes represented in your song. You'll also want to consider what are the main ideas and concepts of your song. Themes like women empowerment, female agency, or gender roles can be used to locate articles or textual analysis. You'll find themes, ideas, and concepts are very much alike. 

The other thing is to think about specific themes or ideas and turn these into "keywords" or the main, important words that are heavily mentioned or explored. Once you've decided on the main themes and keywords associated with your song, then you can start the research process to locate articles or cultural artifacts.

Cultural artifacts can range from pictures, interviews in articles, magazine covers, articles found in magazines, and many others that were created within or close to the timeframe your song was written or produced. 

Visit The Perch

The Perch with two circles with a bird alit

Visit The Perch and read print materials - magazines, newspapers, literary reviews, and popular publications - to find cultural artifacts, articles representing themes, magazine covers, etc. You may read and enjoy these materials, but cannot check them out. If you find something you like, you can scan the original and print off a copy. 


What if I can't find or access back issues of a magazine? 

A. We have back issues for all of our magazines located on the 3rd floor of the Main Library in our periodicals section.

For select magazines, such as Vogue, Variety, or Billboard or more, we have older issues in our digital collections. To find these you can search by title in InfoHawk+ Advanced search OR you can also browse by publication title in ProQuest or Academic Search Elite to view more issues.

Music & History databases

Song Analysis & Lyric websites

National Newspapers

coverNew York Times
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias

University of Iowa students and staff can create an account here for enhanced access to The New York Times - digital edition. Then log in at www.nytimes.com.

coverUSA Today
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias


coverWall Street Journal
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias


coverWashington Post
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias

 

Regional Newspapers

coverChicago Tribune
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias
Historical Online Access (1849-1996) restricted access

coverDes Moines Register
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias
Online Access restricted access

coverGazette (Cedar Rapids), The
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Online Access restricted access

 

Magazines

coverAmerican Prospect
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
 

 

doverAmerican Scientist
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki 

 

 

coverAnnals of Iowa
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki

The Annals of Iowa is hosted on Iowa Research Online (IRO), The University of Iowa's Institutional Repository. The IRO preserves and provides access to the research and creative scholarship created by the University's faculty, students, and staff. 
 

coverAtlantic, The
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias
 

 

coverBetter Homes and Gardens
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki

 

 

coverBillboard 
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
* oversize - located on News & Reviews stand

 

coverCongressional Digest
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Congressional Digest Archive restricted access
Supreme Court Debates Archive restricted access


coverCurrent Archaeology
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki

 

 


coverEconomist
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias


 

coverEsquire
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias
Esquire Magazine Archive (1933-2014) restricted access


coverForeign Affairs
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias

 


coverForeign Policy
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias
 


coverHarper's Bazaar
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki


 

coverHarper's Magazine
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki 

 

 

coverInterview
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
* oversize - located on News & Reviews stand

 

cover​Iowan, The
InfoHawk+

 

 

 

cover​Jacobin
infoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias

 

coverMs.
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki 

 

 

coverMother Jones
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias

 


coverNation, The
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias
The Nation Archive (1865 - current) restricted access


coverNational Geographic
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki

 



coverNational Review
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias
National Review Archive (1955 - current) restricted access


coverNew Republic
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias
New Republic Archive restricted access ??????

coverNew Statesman
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias



coverNew York Times Magazine
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki

 


coverNew Yorker, The

InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias



coverPopular Mechanics
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki



 

coverPopular Science
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki

 

 

coverProgressive
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias

 

coverRolling Stone
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias
* oversize - located on News & Reviews stand

coverSmithsonian
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Smithsonian Collection Online (1970-current) restricted access

 

coverSpectator, The
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki

 

 

coverSports Illustrated
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive (1954-2000) restricted access

 

coverTime
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias
Time Magazine Archive (1923-2000) restricted access

 

coverVanity Fair
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias

 

coverVariety
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
* oversize - located on News & Reviews stand

 

coverVogue
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Vogue Archive (1892 - current) restricted access