Shakespeare
Literary and Creative Arts Librarian
About this guide
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
Welcome!
On this guide you will find a variety of resources on the life, times, and works of William Shakespeare. Use the tabs to explore different types of resources. Please contact us with any questions or suggestions!
InfoHawk+
InfoHawk+ is the public interface to search the UI Libraries catalog, including our book and media collection, ebooks, journal titles, plus some of our most used databases. You can find various source types including books, ebooks, scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and much more.
Resources
-
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare This link opens in a new windowContains 11 major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, 28 separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works, as well as over 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the 17th thru 19th centuries. Part of Literature Online (LION).
-
Shakespeare's Globe Archive: Theatres, Players & Performance This link opens in a new windowThis collection of documents offers insights into the performance practice in the particular space of the reconstructed Globe Theatre. It details the way in which the theatre was constructed as a place of radical experiment. It documents over 200 performances through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programs, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.
-
Shakespeare in Performance This link opens in a new windowShakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
-
Shakespeare in the Present This link opens in a new windowThis award-winning digital library has been created as a response to the need for a high-quality online research tool for drama and literature students, professors, and teachers. It is the only resource to combine exclusively available playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.
-
Shakespeare Survey This link opens in a new windowEach volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances.
-
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new windowProvides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare that were published or produced between 1964 and the present. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 118 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia.
-
Cambridge Collections Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Collections Online offers two components, Shakespeare Survey and Econometric Society Monographs. Shakespeare Survey Online makes all issues of the Survey, including over 90% of the original images, available online for the first time. The latest volume, Close Encounters with Shakespeare's Text (Volume 62), has been added to the collection as part of the November update to Cambridge Collections Online.
-
Drama Online This link opens in a new windowNearly 1,700 plays from Bloomsbury, including Methuen Drama, and Arden Shakespeare, and Faber & Faber, plus production stills from the Victoria and Albert Museum and the American Shakespeare Center
-
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO Version) This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
-
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online (OSEO) This link opens in a new windowOSEO comprises authoritative texts of poetry, drama, and fiction, from all periods of English literature, and of other important writing from across the humanities.
-
EEBO: Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowFrom the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare this collection contains over 100,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and Thomason Tracts and their revised edition.
-
First FolioFlip through the pages of one of the copies of the First Folios owned by the Folger Shakepeare Library.
-
Shakespeare DocumentedShakespeare Documented, convened by the Folger Shakespeare Library, is the largest and most authoritative collection of primary-source materials documenting the life of William Shakespeare (1564-1616), bringing together all known manuscript and print references to Shakespeare, his works, and additional references to his family, in his lifetime and shortly thereafter.