ABOUT THE EXHIBITION

In June 2019, the University of Iowa announced that the University Libraries had been chosen as the new home of the Ruth and Marvin Sackner Archive of Concrete and Visual Poetry, the most comprehensive such collection in the world. To celebrate the opening of this important collection to the public and to introduce Iowans and the University community to the vast and impressive range of resources held in the Sackner Archive, from artists’ books to reference works to large-scale works of visual poetry, an inaugural exhibition featuring a few highlights from the collection is being held in the Main Library Gallery from August 24 – December 11, 2020.

Besides demonstrating the remarkable artistry and diversity of some of the most significant poet-artists of the past hundred years, the exhibition will bring to light some of the many ways the new collection can support teaching and research at the University.

Sackner Archive was drawn almost entirely from the Ruth and Marvin Sackner Archive of Concrete and Visual Poetry at the University of Iowa Libraries Special Collections. We recognize and appreciate the decades of constant, careful work that Ruth and Marvin put into curating this collection for their "Home Sweet Museum." The University of Iowa Libraries remains honored to have been chosen as its new "Home Sweet Library."

Exhibit Curation: Timothy Shipe, Peter Balestrieri, Margaret Gamm

 

CURATOR HIGHLIGHTS & EXHIBITION GUIDE

 

• Curator Highlights from Sackner Archive:
  A small virtual selection of items from the exhibition, including photographs, curator commentary, and additional details.
• Sackner Archive Exhibition Guide
  Accessible PDF document. The complete guide to the exhibition, including curators' statements; an introduction; defining concrete and visual poetry; providing background and detail for poets, movements, and works represented in the exhibition; a comprehensive item list; and complete exhibition credits.
• Virtual Gallery Tour of Sackner Archive
  A complete interactive virtual tour of the Main Library Gallery exhibition.

 

VIDEOS

University of Iowa Libraries Conservator Giselle Simón demonstrates the movement, sound, and other elements of select items from the Sackner Archive exhibition:

Exhibition co-curator Timothy Shipe shares information about poet artist Kurt Schwitters and Merz art in this short video:

Exhibition co-curator Peter Balestrieri shares information about German poet artist Hanne Darboven in this short video:

Exhibition co-curator Margaret Gamm gives insight about correspondence between Marvin and Ruth Sackner and the artists in this short video :

 

DOCUMENTARY

Concrete! is a film about Ruth and Marvin Sackner produced and directed by their daughter, Sara Sackner. The film is shown in the Main Library Gallery exhibition and also available to view here.

 

Documentary Trailer

Documentary Film

 

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS & UI LIBRARIES ARTICLES

 

• Sackner Archive of Concrete and Visual Poetry Moves to the University of Iowa Libraries
  May 31, 2019. News article about the acquisition of the collection by Special Collections, University of Iowa Libraries.
• Selections from the Sackner Collection: The Association for Study of Arts Materials
  October 7, 2019. Diane Dias De Fazio. Special Collections blog article about Japanese language Association for Study of Arts materials from the Sackner Archive.
• In the shadow of Covid-19, The Sackner Collection shines a light on “The Beauty in Breathing”
  April 22, 2020. Rich Dana. Special Collections blog article about a selection of items from the Sackner Archive which relate to pulmonology.
• Shut Your Mouth and Save Your Life: 1870 health book resonates in the era of protective masks
  May 7, 2020. Rich Dana. Special Collections blog article featuring a little-known work written by the 19th-century American painter George Catlin.
• Remarkable Artistry: Sackner Archive in the Main Library Gallery
  September 2, 2020. Sara J. Pinkham. Main Library Gallery blog article announcing the Fall 2020 exhibition.
• In Memory of Dr. Marvin Sackner
  October 5, 2020. Timothy Shipe. Appreciation for the late Dr. Marvin Sackner.
• A Special Collections Graduate Assistant Remembers Marvin Sackner
  October 29, 2020. Rich Dana. Appreciation for the late Dr. Marvin Sackner.
• Sackner Archive: Poets as Dissidents
  October 30, 2020. Timothy Shipe. In former Czechoslovakia, concrete poets were at the heart of dissident movements seeking to reform or overthrow the Communist regime.
• Sackner Archive: An Iowa Author, A World View
  November 5, 2020. Timothy Shipe. Mary Ellen Solt is the only poet in the Sackner Archive exhibition who is also part of the UI Libraries’ Iowa Authors Collection.

 

LINKS & NEWS ARTICLES

 

• Contact Special Collections
  To learn more about the complete Sackner Archive of Concrete and Visual Poetry at the University of Iowa Libraries, contact Special Collections.
• The Sackner Archive of Concrete and Visual Poetry
  Original website for The Sackner Archive of Visual and Concrete Poetry. The introduction page gives a very detailed explanation of Ruth and Marvin Sackner's collecting interest and methods, and is an excellent resource for information about many of the poets and works represented in their collection.
• UbuWeb - Visual Poetry
  "UbuWeb's Visual Poetry section exposes little-seen exemplars of historical praxis and models of contemporary insight to a wider audience. This section includes anthologies, ephemeral publications, criticism and sporadic journals dedicated to visual poetry."
• UbuWeb - Concrete Poetry
  This large online collection of concrete poetry also includes a lot of helpful information about concrete poets and the art form.
• A force on the Miami art scene, Ruth Sackner dies at 79
  October 11, 2015. Carli Teproff. Miami Herald. News article about the Sackners as a couple and as collectors of concrete and visual poetry.
• Large visual poetry collection moves into UI Special Collections
  July 10, 2019. Rylee Wilson. The Daily Iowan. News article about the acquisition of the Sackner Archive with detail about collectors Ruth and Marvin Sackner and quotes from two exhibit co-curators, Timothy Shipe and Margaret Gamm.
• Marvin Sackner, a physician, inventor and renowned collector of word art, has died
  September 30, 2020. Andres Viglucci. Miami Herald. News article celebrating the life of Dr. Marvin Sackner.
• ‘Sackner Archive’ exhibit brings new meanings to poetry and visual art
  October 13, 2020. Parker Jones. The Daily Iowan. News article about the Fall 2020 Main Library Gallery exhibition.