ENGL:6610 Studies in African American Literature, Six Degrees of Phillis Wheatley
Resources to accompany the study of African American Literature before 1800
Broad overview - US History 1750-1800
US History Databases with Primary Resources
-
Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800 This link opens in a new window Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries. From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement.Published in cooperation with the Library Company of Philadelphia
-
Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3 and 6-7 This link opens in a new window For searching and browsing American newspapers published in the 17th,18th, 19th and 20th centuries, Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922 is the most comprehensive online resource available. This expanding collection offers fully searchable digital facsimiles of more than 1,500 titles from all 50 states. With eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, matrimony and death notices and more, Early American Newspapers provides a chronicle of the evolution of American history, culture and daily life across three centuries.
-
Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 100,000 letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts concerning events that took place in North America between 1534 and 1860. The focus of the database is on description, travel, and accounts of interactions among various cultural groups.
-
American Antiquarian Society (50 subsets) This link opens in a new window RECOMMEND USING CHROME; The fifty thematic subsets from AAS Historical Periodicals include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
