Otolaryngology Resources: Nasal and Sinus
About E books
All of the E books listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you should be prompted to sign in with hawk id and password.
There are more electronic and print books which can be located using the library catalog. If you do not see what you are looking for, please search the catalog or contact us.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Nasal and Sinus E Books
-
Atlas of Endoscopic Sinus and Skull Base Surgery
by
Gain a clear understanding of the entire spectrum of today's rhinology and anterior skull base surgery with Atlas of Endoscopic Sinus and Skull Base Surgery, 2nd Edition. This thoroughly updated title increases your knowledge and skill regarding both basic or advanced procedures, taking you step by step through endoscopic approaches to chronic sinus disease, nasal polyps, pituitary tumors, cerebrospinal fluid leaks, sinonasal tumors, and more. All-new videos provide real-time guidance for procedures such as endoscopic anterior craniofacial resection, endoscopic approach and removal of orbital tumors, sphenoidotomy, and many more. Covers the full range of modern rhinology and anterior skull base surgery, from septoplasty and sphenoethmoidectomy to extended frontal sinus procedures, endoscopic craniofacial resections and complex skull base reconstructions. Clearly conveys the anatomy and detailed steps of each procedure with concise, step-by-step instructions; visual guidance features high-definition, intraoperative endoscopic photos paired with detailed, labeled anatomic illustrations. Features all-new videos expertly narrated by Dr. Palmer and Dr. Chiu. Includes new content on anterior skull base surgery that reflect new developments in the field. Helps you provide optimal patient care before, during, and after surgery with detailed information on relevant anatomy and surgical indications, instrumentation, potential pitfalls, and post-operative considerations. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323476645Publication Date: 2018-08-01 -
Atlas of Lip and Nose Plastic and Cosmetic Surgery
by
This Atlas covers various types of lip and nose deformities and introduces individualized surgical plan for patients. The surgical techniques are classified according to the various types of deformities. Schematic diagrams, pre-operative and post-operative photographs are supplemented by detailed explanations. It consists of four parts: anatomical structure of lips and nose; cosmetic surgery of lips and nose; plastic surgery of nasolabial congenital deformity; plastic surgery of acquired nasolabial defect and deformities. The management of nasolabial deformities and defects crosses many surgical disciplines, and therefore, this book recommended to be read by surgeons of different backgrounds i.e. oral and maxillofacial surgery, plastic surgery, cosmetic surgery, otorhinolaryngology, etc. It can also be used as a reference for anatomy, developmental biology, physiology, linguistics, aesthetics and other basic medical sciences.
ISBN: 9789811619106Publication Date: 2021-10-23 -
-
Current Rhinology
by
The book provides a combination of clinical and academic information for rhinologists, otolaryngologists, and postgraduate students. It covers a wide range of topics, including important related areas such as the orbit, skull base, and the teeth. Additionally, it addresses recent hot topics like multiplanar reconstruction, biologics, image guided surgery, 3D endoscopy, and endoscopic transorbital surgery. Furthermore, six chapters are dedicated to rhinoplasty, and two chapters focus on nasal and maxillofacial trauma. The book encompasses the basic sciences of rhinology, investigative rhinology, rhinologic symptoms and diseases, as well as office procedures and operations. For instance, in the chapter on olfaction, topics such as the physiology, pathophysiology, and disorders related to olfaction are covered. Similarly, when discussing the nasal septum and valves, the authors explore the dynamics of the nasal airway. The book has been written by an array of distinguished rhinology experts from several countries and with different subspeciality interests. All topics are presented in a concise and easily understandable manner and are supported by explanatory pictures, illustrations, video clips, ensuring that the book serves as a resource on fundamental aspects of rhinology as well as a reference guide for the recent advancements in the field.
ISBN: 9783031700767Publication Date: 2024-12-27 -
Dural Cavernous Sinus Fistulas
by
Dural cavernous sinus fistulas (DCSFs) are benign vascular diseases consisting in an arteriovenous shunt at the cavernous sinus that if misdiagnosed can lead to potentially serious ophthalmologic complications. This volume provides a complete guide to the diagnosis and minimal invasive treatment of DCSFs. After sections on anatomy and classification, etiology and pathogenesis of DCSFs, the symptomatology of the disease is described in detail. The role of modern imaging techniques in the diagnosis of DCSFs is then addressed. Digital subtraction angiography (DSA) remains the gold standard for clinical decision-making; here, full consideration is given to both, conventional 2D DSA and rotational 3D angiography. Recent technological advances in this field such as Dual Volume (DV) imaging and angiographic computed tomography (ACT) are considered as well. Due attention is further paid to the use of computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging and ultrasound. Finally, the therapeutic management of DCSFs with emphasis on various transvenous occlusion techniques are discussed in depth. This well-illustrated volume will be invaluable to all who may encounter DCSF in their clinical practice.
ISBN: 9783540008187Publication Date: 2009-11-18 -
Intracranial and Spinal Dural Arteriovenous Fistulas
by
The book introduces techniques, devices, device structures and therapeutic in dural arteriovenous fistulas. During past 4 decades, neurovascular or endovasuclar surgery developed fast and provide effective and minimally invasive treatment of dural arteriovenous fistulas. The treatment of dural arteriovenous fistulas has also seen substantial evolution, increasing the number of dural arteriovenous fistulas that can be treated successfully with minimally invasive therapy. Authors introduces the great advances in the techniques, devices and treatment concepts, which shows striking therapeutic benefit for dural arteriovenous fistulas. In each technique, authors introduce methods, cases, result, discussion and conclusion. The CT scan, MR imaging, angiography and surgical figures are provided in each chapter. Attending physicians, fellows, residents, medical students will benefit from reading this text.
ISBN: 9789811957666Publication Date: 2022-11-09 -
Nasal Physiology and Pathophysiology of Nasal Disorders
by
This fully revised and expanded second edition provides a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of nasal physiology and pathophysiology. With the help of numerous tables, schematic drawings, and color photographs, it helps readers gain a better understanding of the impact of structural changes and the process of disease development, and to make treatment decisions. Each chapter has been written by a leading expert in the field and addresses one important aspect in an accessible way. Covering all four functions of the nose: respiration, defense, olfaction and cosmesis, the book discusses the various techniques for the clinical evaluation of nasal function as well as current trends and future directions in nasal physiologic research. This second edition also includes additional chapters on rhinomanometry, local nasal inflammation, T cells and B cells, and artificial intelligence for the nose. Given its scope, the book is a valuable resource for both experienced otorhinolaryngologists and novices in the field.
ISBN: 9783031123856Publication Date: 2023-02-21 -
Nasal Polyposis
by
Nasal polyposis is seen in many disease states, including allergic and non-allergic rhinitis. Since the quality of life for patients afflicted with this condition decreases, such patients frequently seek medical help. Further, the relationship between the upper and lower respiratory tract makes the treatment of nasal polyposis of critical importance. New research findings, as well as new technical developments, have changed the conventional medical and surgical approaches to treating nasal polyposis, the result of which has been significant advances in the management of the disease. This book, written by authors internationally recognized for their laboratory research and clinical practice, is lavishly illustrated and reader-friendly. It includes the latest information on nasal polyposis, and aims to help the reader improve the daily management of patients affected by this condition.
ISBN: 9783642114113Publication Date: 2010-09-09
