Retail is an increasingly dynamic environment, shaped by digitalization, empowered customers and broad socio-economic changes. These factors are impacting retailers' business models and, in particular, their offline stores, which are subject to physical deterioration and obsolescence. Over time, the declining utility of built substance conflicts with increasing user expectations, ultimately leading to demolition. This includes significant urban, economic and environmental consequences. By analyzing an extended dataset based on the German demolition statistic, this study empirically examines the lifetime of demolished large-scale retail buildings. It identifies the characteristics of underperforming buildings as well as the triggers that ultimately lead to their demise. As demolition generates significant negative externalities, it is assessed whether end of life occurs prematurely. This is measured by technical and economic benchmarks, as well as against alternative assets. The study is conducted with the aim of future-proofing large retail properties, which is essential for sustainable future urban development.

The indie video game industry attracts an enormous amount of enthusiasm and curiosity, blending cutting edge tech, a creative industries environment and a certain rebellious energy. It is idealised as a world where creative and technical ability is given free reign and can yield enormous financial and reputational rewards. But what is it really like to enter and work in this space? And how do the universal aspects of organisation, including teamwork, leadership and competition, manifest in this unique environment?  By embedding himself in just such a hub, the author was able to explore the experiences and interactions of ten indie game companies, four mentors, various funders, and two interns over a one-year period. The narrative is structured around six critical events: the introduction of newcomers, change in organizational rules, departure of a dominant social actor, self-inflicted crisis, introduction of a powerful manager, and external crisis. A process view shows how these events can hinder or accelerate creative production. Going beyond success stories or failure statistics, this book analyses the organizational and entrepreneurial strength of this approach, which combines aspects of the incubator and accelerator models for start-up development. At its heart though, this book attempts to give a fleshed out and analytical picture of what it is really like to work in the indie video game industry and offers practical lessons for indie-game developers.

This book presents an overview of the emerging topics in Artificial Intelligence (AI) and cybersecurity and addresses the latest AI models that could be potentially applied to a range of cybersecurity areas. Furthermore, it provides different techniques of how to make the AI algorithms secure from adversarial attacks. The book presents the cyber threat landscape and explains the various spectrums of AI and the applications and limitations of AI in cybersecurity. Moreover, it explores the applications and limitations of secure AI. The authors discuss the three categories of machine learning (ML) models and reviews cutting-edge recent Deep Learning (DL) models. Furthermore, the book provides a general AI framework in security as well as different modules of the framework; similarly, chapter four proposes a general framework for secure AI. It explains different aspects of network security including malware and attacks.

This book is a concise guide on using generative artificial intelligence to drive digital business management and transformation. It is divided into three parts. The first part, "How to Work with AI and Generate Success in Business," outlines the core concepts of artificial intelligence and prompt engineering and explores how these can be leveraged in a business environment. It places special emphasis on the AI Prompt Schema (AIPS) for structured prompting. The second part, "From Digital Business to a Data-Driven Organization," focuses on the essential knowledge and advanced techniques for successful Digital Business Management. It covers relevant topics, including digital business strategies, digital infrastructure, e-commerce, digital marketing and advertising, content management, the metaverse, and more. The third part, "Industry and Business Case Prompt Engineering," demonstrates how the concepts, knowledge, and techniques can be applied in real-world scenarios. This includes technology companies like Waymo, Tesla, Google/Alphabet, Meta/Facebook, Microsoft/LinkedIn, OpenAI/ChatGPT, and Google/Gemini, as well as e-commerce giants like Amazon, Alibaba, Temu, Shein, and Otto, and entertainment platforms like Netflix, Sony PlayStation, and Spotify. Drawing from many years of experience in business practice and university teaching, the authors include interactive elements such as video tutorials to support learning and the practical application of the concepts outlined. This book will be valuable to anyone interested in expanding their knowledge of digital business strategies, particularly practitioners, students, entrepreneurs, and executives.

This book features selected chapters from the proceedings of the Multidisciplinary Conference on Intangibles (TAKE), held in Lisbon, Portugal, in July 2024. The chapters cover a wide range of topics , including human resource development, intellectual capital, knowledge management, logistics, retailing, public policy, innovation and entrepreneurship, business models, competitiveness, and accounting. The book is a valuable resource for researchers, practitioners, and industry experts interested in shaping the future of the knowledge economy.

Cryptocurrencies and digital assets have continued to gain widespread acceptance from both retail and institutional investors. Alongside this rapid growth, the digital ecosystem remains plagued by bad actors who prey on the space. These range from state-sponsored North Korean hacker groups, Russian ransomware gangs, multinational organized criminal enterprises to lower-level Chinese gangsters and run of the mill romance scammers. These criminals indiscriminately target victims across all demographics. Furthermore, cryptocurrency-related scams continue to present increasingly significant threats to institutions and national security. Since the publication of The Cryptocurrency and Digital Asset Fraud Casebook volumes I and II, scammers have only intensified the sophistication and scope of their attacks. This evolving threat landscape, coupled with a rapidly changing regulatory environment, underscores the ongoing need for up-to-date information and analysis. The Cryptocurrency and Digital Asset Fraud Casebook, Volume III: Exchange Hacks, Deepfakes, Social Media, and Artificial Intelligence Scams is essential reading for anyone seeking the latest insights into fraudulent activity within the cryptocurrency and digital asset space.

This handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the state-of-art research in the field of monetary history. The authors comprise a collection of leading academics from universities worldwide. Thanks to its unrivaled breadth both in time (from antiquity to the present) and geographical coverage (from Europe to the Americas, Asia, and Africa), the volume is set to become a key reference for historians, economists, and social scientists with an interest in the subject. The handbook reflects the existing variety of scholarly approaches in the field, from the history of monetary thought to the political economy of monetary institutions, from cultural perspectives on money to theoretically driven macroeconomic history. Section 1 examines the commodity money era (from ancient times to the nineteenth century) and Section 2 deals with the fiat money era (nineteenth and twentieth centuries). The volume also provides readers with a survey of existing datasets for the study of money and currency in historical perspective.

This book discusses non-bank financial intermediation as an alternative or complement to formal banking. With a focus on emerging and developing economies, which face far greater consequences of high risk taking and withdrawal of credit from their financial systems, the book starts with an overview of non-bank financial intermediation, including shadow banking activities, instruments and functions. It covers the main types of activities classified under non-bank financial intermediation and the different players in the non-bank financial system. The interconnectedness between shadow banking and formal banks and their consequential risks will be analysed. Furthermore, the book analyses recent data on shadow banking with a view to estimate the extent of riskiness in shadow banking activities. Analysis of risk spill overs between the formal banking system and shadow banks will be conducted and contribution of shadow banking to systemic risk metrics will also be analysed.

Learn how to leverage your own social media through techniques used by influencer agencies and successful digital marketers. Influencer marketing can amplify word of mouth and reputation to energize your own community.   This book traces the history of influencer marketing, highlighting key milestones and shifts in consumer preferences. It guides readers on discovering their unique niche within the influencer space, emphasizing the importance of authenticity and passion. It shows you strategies for developing a strong personal brand that resonates with your target audience and sets you apart from competitors. It shares practical tips and techniques for creating compelling content across various platforms, including visual storytelling, copywriting, and video production.   Through this book, you will learn techniques to communicate your story, manage your reputation, and grow your own influence.

This book focuses on the use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) for accounting, auditing, and finance. It explores how AI can be leveraged to perform various tasks within these fields and offers real life examples to illustrate its features and facilitate implementation. The book further examines how different AI technologies, such as Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Natural Language Processing, and others, can be used to improve processes and functions in accounting and financial reporting. Furthermore, the authors explain the different subsets of Artificial Intelligence and how they can be used for practical purposes. The book provides a basic guide of these emerging technologies to help practitioners in the field to better understand how they can be implemented in their companies.

This book marks the first attempt to explore de-internationalization and re-internationalization through business model innovation. Understanding how firms building on their de-internationalization experience can reconfigure their business models to pursue re-internationalization is vital to firms' growth and survival. Combining sound theorizing and practical insights, this book conjectures that the relationship between de-internationalization and re-internationalization is best understood, theoretically and empirically, through the moderating effect of business model innovation. This book puts forward an international business-business model research program that will undoubtedly create more questions than answers, making it an exciting, thought-provoking avenue for future research and practice pondering in a VUCA world. This book is of great interest to practitioners, academics and students of business model innovation and international business, as well as those involved in strategic management for international businesses.  

The digital economy has fundamentally transformed how we live and work, bringing opportunities and challenges. One of the key challenges is understanding how to effectively navigate the relationship between people and technology and harness its power to foster creativity, innovation, and digital leadership. This book examines the relationship between people and technology in the digital workspace from a multidisciplinary perspective. Unlike most of the existing literature which focuses on the technological aspects of digitization in the workplace, this book equally considers the psychological, social, and cultural implications as well. The contributing authors also provide insights on employee well-being, motivation, and engagement and challenge the assumption that digital technology stifle creativity by demonstrating how innovation can foster collaboration, experimentation, and risk-taking. Featuring research, theories, case studies, surveys, and interviews from fields such as sociology, psychology and management, this book is of interest to scholars, researchers, and students in sociology, psychology, management and related disciplines, as well as professionals and leaders looking to better understand the impact of technology on the modern workplace.

This book explores the relationship between marketing practices and dysfunctional consumption behaviors, specifically focusing on two behavioral addictions: compulsive buying and problematic gambling. It offers a comprehensive analysis grounded in marketing theory, examining how marketing strategies and actions can significantly influence these behaviors. Using a mixed-method approach, the book reviews existing literature and presents empirical findings related to compulsive buying and gambling. It also discusses the implications of marketing's role in fostering these behaviors, aiming to inform both academic discourse and the responsibilities of marketers. This work is essential for scholars and practitioners seeking to understand dysfunctional consumer behaviors and the impact of marketing strategies on consumer well-being.

The onset of the pandemic has placed a greater emphasis on mental health, with many organizations making it a business imperative to make sure that employees are fully supported. Research on mental health in the workplace continues to grow, though there is a dearth of scholarly writings taking a micro approach to understanding the impact of negative work environments. This three-book series explores issues related to personality disorders and work-related suicides and their effect on employees and leaders. This volume explores occupational suicide, its characteristics, and the circumstances associated with workplace suicide in various occupations. The book is divided into three sections: defining work-related suicide, exploring its relationship to specific high-stress jobs (such as law enforcement), and the role of leadership and human resources professionals in suicide prevention and postvention. With chapter contributions from authors around the world, this collection offers a global perspective of the sociocultural factors that affect work-related suicides. This book will advance scholarship related to employee well-being and mental health, employee engagement, and organizational culture and psychology.

The word 'commerce' is infrequently used in contemporary business speak and, when it is, it is typically as a somewhat archaic synonym for business or trade, or otherwise in the context of 'e-commerce'. This book defines commerce by its traditional meaning, as the activity of transaction and exchange, and explores the corresponding interaction of human behaviour and economic interests. This book develops not only an understanding of the ambiguous interface between deals and relationships, but also the skills to manage it according to the situations and contexts in which it arises. The aim is to use advances on the fundamental phenomena of economic exchange (trust, reciprocity, altruism, reputation, etc.) and to apply them to a detailed explanation of the ins and outs of commerce. Of great interest to scholars and students of marketing, organisational behaviour and economics, this book attempts to bring together these advances to focus on the commercial phenomenon and propose a synthetic approach to the exchange relationship.

Did you know that the mishandling of business secrets can cost companies millions, yet the right strategies can unlock untapped value? To navigate this critical aspect effectively, this book provides practical strategies for managing Business Secrets during product launches, finance raising, and M&A activities. It simplifies complex legal concepts into actionable insights, helping decision-makers in small to medium-sized companies, scale-ups, and academic institutions leverage these secrets for value creation. With minimal legal jargon, the book offers a clear, practical approach that enhances communication between business leaders and legal teams. It includes recent case studies across various industries, contributed by global experts, making it an essential resource for managers and legal experts seeking to bridge the gap between technical details and strategic business applications.

This textbook addresses the theoretical and practical dynamics of managing international businesses including multi-cultural, multi-national and global issues of managing business expansion beyond the domestic market. This new third edition provides up-to-date data and insights in dealing with challenges such as war, pandemic (COVID-19), supply chain disruption, etc. In particular, it includes a new chapter that delves into an institutional aspect of international business management and the roles of legal environments in multinational businesses such as intellectual property, international alliance/joint venture contract enforcement, and operations. Featuring new visual aids (i.e., charts, tables, etc.), vignettes, and professional points, this text is engaging, visually appealing, and easily accessible for students taking International Business Management courses.

As companies want to innovate and stay competitive, product managers must be capable of understanding new market demands, leveraging technology, and aligning product strategies with business goals. This book is designed for both aspiring and seasoned product managers covering the entire product management lifecycle, from ideation and user research to development, to launch, and continuous improvement. In today's technology-driven market, the role of a product manager has never been more crucial. This book emphasizes practical applications and real-world examples, offering actionable insights and addresses the evolving world of product management, including the impact of new technologies and methodologies. By blending theory with practice, Navigating the Product Galaxy provides you with the tools they need to succeed in a dynamic environment. You Will Learn To: Create an inspiring vision and strategic roadmap. Leverage user research and product metrics. Understand the best approaches to plan, launch, and iterate on your product. Generate growth and improve conversion rates. Apply methods for continuous learning and staying ahead in the industry  This Book is For: Product Managers both new to the field and those more experienced who are looking to consolidate their skills Developers and engineers who are looking to know more about product management lifecycles Managers and start up entrepreneurs who are looking to know more about product management and deployment for early business success 

This edited book aims to analyze gender perspectives within the context of sustainable development, providing a comprehensive overview of the phenomena that characterize both public and private organizations. Sustainability assumes a central role in addressing gender issues. Achieving sustainability is crucial for the overall well-being of society. It drives economic growth by promoting the creation of highly skilled jobs, addressing environmental issues, strengthening business success, and encouraging debate on social challenges such as gender equality.  In the field of gender equality, sustainability emerges as a competitive advantage, particularly for women who contribute new and fresh perspectives as well as valuable expertise capable of effectively guiding companies toward more sustainable practices. Supported by knowledge and open innovation, women can raise awareness among companies about more sustainable practices. The book is structured in three sections: Non-financial disclosure for sustainable growth in the field of gender equality, gender diversity in public and private organizations and gender issues within the entrepreneurial context.

In an era where global business in continuously buffeted by unprecedented challenges and transformations, this timely volume presents a critical examination of the dynamics reshaping the landscape of international business. Drawing from a rich tapestry of research and scholarship, the book offers a multifaceted exploration of how historical legacies, disruptive innovations, and evolving economic paradigms influence the trajectories of small and medium enterprises, multinational corporations, and international partnerships alike. With contributions from a distinguished group of academics and practitioners, the volume promises to be an indispensable resource for understanding how historical insights mesh with contemporary challenges to offer an agenda for future studies in international business. This book will appeal to academic scholars and students seeing to deepen their understanding of IB's evolving dynamics and will serve as a guide for practitioners grappling with the practical implications of operating within a rapidly changing global marketplace.

Business Intelligence (BI) and data-driven decision-making have long been atop the priority list for companies. However, many companies continue to struggle to keep up. The collision between rising management expectations, rapid technological advancements, and organizational rigidity, along with traditional ways of working, often hampers progress. This book aims to contextualize innovations like Big Data, the Internet of Things, and Artificial Intelligence, which have predominantly been discussed from a technology-centric standpoint, within a business framework. It presents compelling evidence that companies without a well-organized and leveraged business intelligence strategy are prone to squandering money and resources on hasty and improvised BI initiatives. The book delves into effective business intelligence application, equipping practitioners with a solid understanding of successful practices and how to implement them. Practical tips and accelerators, including a template for documenting a BI strategy for organizations, are provided. The book is intended for business professionals and decision-makers responsible for strategic BI initiatives, as well as practitioners and users of business intelligence systems.

This volume offers a variety of cases dealing with circular business models in the textile and fashion industry. The cases cover the circularity, circular business models relevant to the apparel industry. In addition, this book presents a comprehensive examination of circular economy principles within the textile and apparel industry, emphasizing sustainability and innovation through various lenses. 

"Generative Artificial Intelligence (AI) Approaches for Industrial Applications" explores the transformative potential of Generative AI technologies across various industries. With contributions from international scholars and experts, this book provides a comprehensive overview of the latest trends, mathematical foundations, and practical applications of Generative AI models. Key sections examine the fundamental concepts of Generative AI, including Generative Adversarial Networks (GANs) and their ethical and security considerations. Special attention is given to the revolutionary impact of Generative AI in healthcare technologies, clinical decision-making, and predictive maintenance within the manufacturing sector. Additionally, the role of Generative AI in FinTech, particularly in redefining business models and enhancing digital security, is thoroughly examined. This book features cutting-edge research on text summarization, age progression using GANs, and integrating AI with regulatory practices. This book is a vital resource for academics, professionals, and practitioners bridging the gap between theoretical AI frameworks and their real-world industrial applications, offering insights into how Generative AI is shaping the future of industries worldwide.

This open access book presents useful knowledge and lessons that derive from on-the-ground activities and contributes to policy recommendations, focusing on the reciprocal connections between business and biodiversity in the context of social-ecological production landscapes and seascapes (SEPLS). It introduces a set of concrete examples demonstrating the relevance of SEPLS to aspects of reciprocal connections between business and biodiversity. The case studies highlight the roles, attitudes, motivations, and actions of multiple stakeholders in conserving biodiversity while providing other benefits that directly or indirectly contribute to businesses. They also illustrate on-the-ground impacts of businesses in SEPLS - including positive and negative ones, providing insights on how to categorize and measure the impacts and dependency of businesses on biodiversity and nature's contributions to people.

This book advances the debate on the hybrid areas of labour by taking the case of work arrangements that destabilise the dichotomies between standard and non‑standard work and between self‑employment and dependent employment. By maintaining the connection between structural conditions and human agency, it focuses not only on how workers at the boundaries between employment and self‑employment are affected by social norms and institutions but also on how they can shape them in turn, especially through collective organising. The analysis presents the main findings of the ERC project SHARE - Seizing the Hybrid Areas of work by Representing self‑Employment - a six‑year transdisciplinary and multi‑method study conducted by combining comparative analysis of labour laws and labour force surveys with a cross‑national ethnography carried out in six European countries: Germany, France, Italy, Slovakia, the Netherlands, and the United Kingdom.

This book explains how organizations can build new sales structures or evaluate and optimize existing ones. In volatile times with high customer expectations and interchangeable products and services, sales organizations need to be rethought or even completely restructured. Often, these organizations are historically developed, outdated, and operate rigidly, with hybrid approaches usually being entirely overlooked. The author explains how decision-makers can systematically develop a detailed understanding of the market, customers, and organizational structure to optimize their sales channels and remain competitive. The book outlines, step by step, which employees and departments need to be involved and coordinated, and how analysis, planning, and implementation can succeed in each specific task area within the company--integrated, deliberate, and flexible. It's a book for anyone looking to secure a sustainable and successful future for their business.

This book is the first practical book on AI risk assessment and management. It will enable you to evaluate and implement safe and accurate AI models and applications. The book features risk assessment frameworks, statistical metrics and code, a risk taxonomy curated from real-world case studies, and insights into AI regulation and policy, and is an essential tool for AI governance teams, AI auditors, AI ethicists, machine learning (ML) practitioners, Responsible AI practitioners, and computer science and data science students building safe and trustworthy AI systems across businesses, organizations, and universities. The centerpiece of this book is a risk management and assessment framework titled "Safe Human-centered AI (SAFE-HAI)," which highlights AI risks across the following Responsible AI principles: accuracy, sustainability and robustness, explainability, transparency and accountability, fairness, privacy and human rights, human-centered AI, and AI governance.

The rapid expansion of digital innovation is reshaping organizations for greater agility and resilience. Digital Innovation Management shows how digital innovation management practices can facilitate project coordination aimed at business success while prioritizing environmental and social responsibility.  Structured around the four pillars of digital innovation (People, Process, Platforms and Policy), the book illustrates how digital and physical elements of innovation management can be integrated to create new marketing offerings, organizational processes, and business models that align with sustainability and human-centric ideals. The book supports a theoretical framing of digital innovation management with case studies of creative digital ecosystems such as smart cities, which leverage integrated digital systems to advance research, innovation, and education. Finally, the book provides an analysis of emerging technologies, such as artificial intelligence and blockchain, that may introduce significant digital innovations to make smarter organizations and territories. 

This book offers a comprehensive and interdisciplinary approach to decision-making, synthesizing perspectives from psychology, business strategy, and system dynamics. Integrating real-world examples with structured decision-making frameworks, it makes complex concepts accessible and practical. The text uniquely bridges personal and professional decision-making, demonstrating their interconnectedness and the universal applicability of sound decision-making principles. Positioned within the literature on cognitive psychology, behavioral economics, and business management, it engages with ongoing  debates on the role of cognitive biases, emotional influences, and the importance of structured decision-making processes in achieving sustainable outcomes.

In an era of rapid technological, economic and political change, there is a growing awareness of the challenges of income inequality, employment insecurity and workplace conflict. In this context, positive relationships between management and trade unions offer an opportunity to negotiate change and create fairer and more productive workplaces. Part of the Palgrave Executive Essentials series, this engaging text is the only dedicated resource for executive learners, professionals and students of human resources and labour relations, providing a strategic management guide to employee relations in the unionised workplace. Combining theory with practical examples and tools relating to negotiations with unions and management of a unionised workforce, this book is a one-stop-shop for students, instructors and practitioners looking to supplement their understanding of employment relations with hands-on knowledge of this vitally important context. It includes case studies, reflective questions, suggested resources and further reading for additional learning. It will be a vital resource for executive education courses on employment relations and managing a unionised workforce, as well as MBA students and exec-MA students, as well as the wider practitioner community.

In the context of socially responsible business, hybrid working, demographic changes to the workforce and the renewed focus on employee well-being, the concept of the leader as servant has only continued in prominence. Indeed, servant leadership may be the answer to the demand for more ethical, people-centred leadership where working from humility with a focus on contribution are key elements. This second edition of the seminal text in the field provides a completely up-to-date overview of current thinking and empirical research on the determinants, underlying processes, and consequences of servant leadership. Updated throughout to reflect the current context, it includes new chapters covering the gender perspective on servant leadership, inner development goals, the servant-follower, and how to study servant leadership. A definitive resource for anyone studying or practicing servant leadership, this book provides a foundational approach that is rooted between theory and practice and takes a global approach to the topic.

This book is the first to approach collaboration in healthcare from a translational systems science perspective. There is a complex intertwining of collaborative relationships between diverse sectors, industries, universities, professions, teams, patients, and machines and robots powered by artificial intelligence and big data. Innovative collaboration is evolving both in the real world and in the virtual space of the Internet. While respecting patient-centeredness, collaboration is required in various settings and under different contexts such as hospitals, communities, use of new technology development, integrating industry academia-hospital-government relationships, through interprofessional approaches. However, it is only recently that "collaboration" in health professions has begun to be researched and discussed scientifically. The purpose of this book is to review and recapture "innovative collaboration" in modern healthcare, primarily from the perspective of translational systems science. To attain our goal, the authors have prepared three unique perspectives. The first is interprofessional collaboration. The elegance, sturdiness, and resilience of the tapestry depend heavily on cooperation between professions and the multisector. The second angle is patient-centeredness. In recent years, "patient-centeredness" has become an established motto, but to what extent is patient-centeredness, including ethics, realized in collaboration? We would like to introduce advanced approach. The third perspective is man-machine collaboration. Collaboration with robots and sensor systems connected to artificial intelligence and big data is becoming more common in all aspects of healthcare. While introducing advanced cases, the authors would like to critically analyze the ethics and conflicts that tend to hide behind the scenes.

Extracting value from loyalty programs used to be the domain of marketing. But not anymore. In this new book, de Boer and Chin turn the tables and introduce the concept of the Currency Effect. They unravel the secrets behind running the world's most successful loyalty currencies and provide hands-on practical guidance on how to reap the full benefits from your own. With their unique experience as advisors to the world's leading loyalty programs, and unparalleled expertise around program valuations, de Boer and Chin for the first time share their insights around the optimal management of loyalty currencies. Through a combination of new concepts and definitions, the authors explain the workings of what many consider the black box of loyalty program currencies. Loyalty Programs and the Currency Effect is an indispensable guide for everyone involved in loyalty programs, from program operators and owners to investors, and offers a complete manual on how to realize the full value potential of your loyalty program.

This open access book investigates how digitalization and service infusion are changing service provision and the customer experience. It highlights the central role of service management and service innovation in making these changes not only appear in theory but also implementing them in business practice. At the beginning of the 21st century, many manufacturing firms struggled to exploit the financial potential of service businesses, a phenomenon described as the service paradox. While many manufacturing firms are still struggling with this paradox, several firms (both service and manufacturing firms) are simultaneously struggling with digitalization. This phenomenon can be viewed as the digitalization paradox, i.e., as a situation in which companies invest in digitalization but struggle to reach the expected revenue growth. By applying the lens of service innovation to digitalization and service infusion, the book showcases how firms can overcome the service and digitalization paradoxes, transform service provision, and improve the customer experience.

This book focuses on exploring the significant changes driven by digital transformation in the creative and cultural industries. It provides a thorough examination of the paradoxes that emerge as these sectors adopt digital technologies while striving to uphold their core values and identities. Through detailed analysis, case studies, and empirical research, the author address the complex challenges and opportunities faced by creative organizations. The book emphasizes the need to consider three key paradoxes: the tension between access and exclusivity, the balance between originality and replication, and the challenge of preserving local identity while pursuing global reach. Offering a well-rounded view of the challenges, dilemmas, and opportunities brought about by digital transformation, this book incorporates substantial evidence-based material. It will help scholars and researchers better understand the complexities of digital change and its impact on the creative and cultural industries.

Amidst the COVID-19 pandemic, a surge in virtual remote work prompted a significant workforce shift from the office building to the home environment. Once workplaces reopened, a considerable portion of employees expressed a preference for sustained virtual remote arrangements. This development prompts an inquiry into whether employees opting for virtual remote work enjoy comparable career advancement opportunities as their in-office counterparts. This book explores the intersection of career development and virtual remote work and its dual impact on employees' careers and organizational success. The authors examine the positive and negative impacts of virtual remote work on career development. While virtual remote work may pose challenges in relationship-building and communication, it concurrently offers enhanced flexibility, autonomy, and self-direction. The authors also investigate gender-related hurdles in the realm of virtual work and the pivotal role of leaders in navigating the career development of virtual remote team members. With discussions of best practices and strategies for effective virtual remote career development, this book will appeal to HRD and HRM scholars and scholar-practitioners seeking to understand how organizations can adeptly navigate the rapidly changing virtual remote world of work.

Achieving a common purpose begins with diverse ideas and opinions. This book guides managers through a five-step process to transform productive controversy into unified action. Mastering these steps helps managers stay grounded and effective, even in turbulent times. Learn to handle difficult candidates, manage rivalry and hierarchy, and navigate chaotic discussions. The author introduces innovative concepts on hierarchy, authority, and leadership styles. The message of the book emphasizes recognizing and using "magic moments" in discussions and promoting good will without imposing values. The steps provided in the book help unlock the secrets to effective consensus-building and leadership with practical strategies and insights. This book is essential for managers seeking to foster collaboration and drive successful outcomes.

By looking at leadership supervisory behaviors, along with the character of the supervisor themselves, as falling on a continuum of behaviors, this book offers fresh insights into the relationship between the leader/supervisor and their direct reports. Using a spectrum, with empathy of the leader as a distinguishing variable, it discusses how a leader can develop from an uncivil supervisor to an effective one; how a leader who needs to change their character before being able to be a better supervisor can be recognized and developed; and how to identify where on the spectrum a particular leader would fit. Ultimately, the book serves as a model of leadership characterization and development useful to academic scholars as well as scholar-practitioners who coach and consult in leadership development and to leaders at all levels in organizations.

'Industry 5.0' was first described in 2020 by the European Commission to describe the next wave of technologies, including Virtual Simulation and Automated Robots, to impact businesses and individuals. It recognizes how these technologies can no more be counted as purely 'future tech', but as realities that will begin to impact society as a whole. This open access book describes this new world as 'Society 5.0' and explores the real impact of AI-enabled business on society. Beginning with a brief history of AI, the current terms, and its conceptual components, visualisation, data, and algorithms, this book then presents a collection of studies from leading scholars in the field of AI and Digital Business. The first section focuses on the immediate challenges and strategic changes that will be required for businesses to successfully adapt to this new reality. The second focuses on the opportunities of AI to businesses and society. And the final section includes chapters on the future and the possibilities and challenges that lie beyond Industry 5.0. It will be of great interest to scholars and students of innovation strategy and digital business, as well as all those engaged in research around cutting-edge technologies and their impact on society.

Seven out of ten start-ups fail. The reasons for failure are well-known. Yet founders often fail to approach the topic of failure with the seriousness and commitment it deserves. This book aims to change that and offers a new approach for founders to "drive their start-up off a cliff." Structured as a "how-to guide to failure," it highlights the most common mistakes founders make, explains where they come from, and illustrates them with real-life examples. The goal of the book is to help founders make the "right" mistakes in order to fail more efficiently (and perhaps help them avoid making these mistakes in the first place). The book includes an interview with German "start-up legend" Prof. Günter Faltin.

Unlock the secrets of advertising success with this comprehensive guide! Dive into practical insights and real-world data to enhance your campaigns. Explore the Super Bowl as a live advertising lab, dissecting branding strategies, creative elements, and societal impacts. Learn from advertisers, agencies, and experts, and apply these lessons to your own efforts. Perfect for marketing managers, advertisers, and educators looking to leverage the biggest advertising event in the world. This book provides actionable research findings and tools to transform your advertising approach, ensuring your ads stand out and resonate with audiences. Discover how the NFL and Super Bowl are expanding globally, reaching new audiences worldwide. This book is ideal for marketing managers and advertisers seeking to apply key lessons from the Super Bowl to their campaigns. It's also a valuable resource for marketing and advertising educators who want to illustrate fundamental principles with real-world examples.

This book examines the monetary and financial foundations for actively pursuing outer space exploration, development, and settlement. It offers the keys to unlocking the massive investment programs needed to invent, manufacture, deploy, and maintain the new habitats of the future.  The book discusses what is currently holding us back and how we can transcend our limitations. It addresses the shortcomings of our financial value framework, financial mathematics, and monetary architecture and introduces the key transformations necessary to unleash our spatial potential. An unprecedented discussion at the intersection of finance and outer space, it is a must-read for policymakers, industry leaders, entrepreneurs, bankers, and investors.