This book brings together the creative and technical aspects of audio engineering to help podcasters communicate their ideas effectively and creatively. The Podcaster's Audio Handbook focuses on simple techniques that immediately elevate the audio quality of your podcast. The book provides an overview of podcast recording and editing techniques, so that podcasters can avoid common pitfalls. It also has amazing cartoons.

It has been a decade since Serial brought the narrative podcast to the center of popular culture. In that time, there has been an enormous boom in the production of podcasts that tell stories, particularly in the fields of true crime, storytelling, history, and narrative fiction. Now that the initial glow around the medium has begun to fade, it is time to reevaluate the medium's technological, political, economic, and cultural rise, in particular what types of storytelling accompanied that rise. Narrative Podcasting in an Age of Obsession is the first book to look back on this prodigious body of material and attempt to make sense of it from a structural, historical, and analytic point of view.

Exploring what academic podcasting is and what it could be, this book is the first to consider the why, what, and how academics engage with this insurgent, curious craft. Featuring interviews with 101 podcasting academics, including scholars and teachers of podcasting, this book explores the motivations of scholarly podcasters, interrogates what podcasting does to academic knowledge, and leads potential podcasters through the creation process from beginning to end.

This basic manual offers detailed advice on setting up an oral history project, conducting interviews, making video recordings, preserving oral history collections in archives and libraries, and teaching and presenting oral history. A well-rounded handbook, this text is particularly good for students and faculty working on oral history projects in higher education.

Recording Oral History, now available in its third edition, provides a comprehensive guide to oral history for researchers and students in diverse fields including history, sociology, anthropology, education, psychology, social work, and ethnographic methods. Contains appendices with sample release forms, indexes, a sample interview guide, and other useful tools.

This book includes nine exercises for practicing observational skills, including a preparatory briefing and post-exercise discussion. Beyond the traditional tenets of field work, Watching Closely encourages readers to pursue more creative ways of collecting and analyzing data, such as sketching, diagramming, and photography, as well as developing more concrete expectations for the potential uses and meanings of ethnographic data.

In this third edition, Nettl revises the text throughout, adding new chapters and discussions that take into account recent developments across the field and reflecting on how his thinking has changed or even reversed itself during his sixty-year career. An updated bibliography rounds out the volume.