Historical Newspapers (British & US)
- Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006 This link opens in a new windowThe Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003. New full-colour images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries. The Economist Historical Archive complements the Times Digital Archive also available from Gale/Cengage Learning.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2007 This link opens in a new windowResearchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Current issues of The Times can be found here.
- New York Times, 1851-2019 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the New York Times from 1851 (New York Daily Times) to 2004. Documents display in PDF.
Historical Newspapers (in microfilm)--France
- Le Monde.Location Main Media Collection Micro film 24543
Holdings: 1944-1962,1963:Mar.-Dec. 1964-2010
Le Monde is a French daily evening newspaper owned by La Vie-Le Monde Group and edited in Paris. It is considered the French newspaper of record, and has generally been well respected since its first edition under founder Hubert Beuve-Méry on 19 December 1944. - Le Monde diplomatique.Location Main Media Collection Micro film
Holdings: 1954:May-Dec. 1955-2009
Le Monde diplomatique (nicknamed Le Diplo by its French readers) is a monthly newspaper offering left-oriented analysis and opinion on politics, culture, and current affairs.
British & US Government Documents
- Foreign Broadcast Information Services (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new windowThe United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence, FBIS is an index to foreign media reports covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. FBIS includes full-text English-language and English-language translations of radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements.
- Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports This link opens in a new windowThis unique collection—fully searchable for the first time—features English translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, serials, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from regions throughout the world. With an emphasis on communist and developing countries, this digital edition of Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1994, contains a wealth of hard-to-find scientific, technical, and social science materials translated from many languages.
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online (formerly Declassified Documents Reference System) This link opens in a new windowU.S. Declassified Documents Online provides immediate access to a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries. The collection brings together the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies in a single, easily searchable database.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new windowDNSA includes more than 80,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.
- Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 This link opens in a new windowConfidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 covers the whole of the modern period of European colonization of Africa: from coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, through the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy’s defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence. The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties.
Getting Started
The University of Iowa Libraries homepage is your gateway to library resources including the InfoHawk Catalog, journal article databases, electronic journals and books, reference materials, and many more web-based resources.
To access peer-reviewed journal literature, do keyword searches in the subject databases listed under the Periodical Literature tabs above. These resources are especially appropriate for more focused searches, for which you will need flexible and more finely-grained parameters.
Google Scholar provides a less focused, but simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Click on the "UIowa InfoLink:FullText" link next to each citation in your results list for InfoLink services including full text (when available), links to the InfoHawk Catalog, Interlibrary Loan requests and more.
Featured Resources
- Historical Dictionary of Algeria (3rd ed, 2006)The third edition of the Historical Dictionary of Algeria has undergone extensive and substantial changes since previous editions, especially taking into account Algeria's civil strife of the 1990s and the country's controversial re-institutionalization and re-democratization. This is accomplished by means of a chronology, a list of acronyms and abbreviations, an introductory essay, maps, black & white photos, economic tables and statistics, appendixes, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on significant persons, places, and events.
- L'ouvrier algérien [electronic resource] : organe central de l'Union générale des travailleurs algériensIssues for Nov 1958-Feb 1963, in French. Accessible from UI network only.
The General Union of Algerian Workers (UGTA, French: Union Générale des Travailleurs Algériens, Arabic: الاتحاد العام للعمال الجزائريين) is the main Algerian trade union, established February 24, 1956 with the objective of mobilizing Algerian labor against French rule. It was banned shortly afterwards, in May, but continued to operate clandestinely, playing a notable role in the eight-day strike of 1957 and establishing a samizdat newspaper, L’Ouvrier algérien. It became effectively subordinated to the ruling party, the Front de Libération nationale (FLN), during the subsequent years of independence under a single-party socialist government, while welcoming the nationalization policy the government pursued. - L'écho d'Alger [electronic resource]Issues for 1960, in French. Accessible from UI network only.
The principal daily newspaper of the French settler community in Algiers. - Mémoires d’AlgérieThe French online-only newsite OWNI and the Algerian daily El Watan have created Mémoires d’Algérie (Memories of Algeria), an application that aims to be a “developing digital museum” on the Algerian war. The goal is to give a voice to the protagonists of what has been seen as a civil war, a war of liberation or a straightforward war, making witnesses the narrators through private documents such as photos to letters, together with still-classified documents from the former Secretary of State for Algerian Affairs and the French Ministry of Defense.
Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It contains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers, 100% Medline coverage, and interoperability with Engineering Village and Reaxys. In addition, Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAn exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and much more. This authoritative database provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. With over 800,000 records, Historical Abstracts is unmatched in its scope and breadth of historical and related social science literature.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowIndex Islamicus™, produced by Brill Academic Publishers, is an international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It covers history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. It includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims writing in European languages. The file contains indexing for over 3,400 titles with coverage dating back to 1906.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues and not for the last 3-5 years of content. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. - Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowElectronic index to over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue (as early as 1665) . Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowWith full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Full Text) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. It includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World offers extensive comparative and systematic analyses of Islamic beliefs, institutions, movements, practices, and peoples on an international scale. The articles range from brief 500-word essays to major interpretive and synthetic treatments of topics such as the Islamic state, pilgrimage, law, marriage, and foreign relations.
Subject Guide
Films
- Algeria [videorecording] : women at war (1992).Algerian women recall their experiences during the French-Algerian War, reflecting also on how the roles and perceptions of women in Algeria have changed in the decades since.
- La Nouba des femmes du Mont-Chenoua. [videorecording] (1977).Returning to her native region 15 years after the end of the Algerian war, Lila is obsessed by memories of the war for independence that defined her childhood. In dialogue with other Algerian women, she reflects on the differences between her life and theirs. In lyrical footage she contemplates the power of grandmothers who pass down traditions of anti-colonial resistance to their heirs.
- Muriel, ou, le Temps d’un retour [videorecording] (1963).A veteran of the French-Algerian war, Bernard was obliged to participate in the torture murder of Muriel, an Algerian girl accused of sabotage. He is no more successful at recapturing or altering his past than is his stepmother Helene (Delphine Seyrig), who attempts to rekindle a romance with Alphonse (Jean-Pierre Kerien). Practically everyone else in the cast follows the lead of the leads by dwelling on things past to the detriment of the present.
- El maraʼa shagaʼa [videorecording] = Femme courage : Louisa Ighilahriz (2003).A biography of Louisette Ighilahriz, a young woman who joined the Algerian national liberation movement after her father was seized by French colonial authorities in the mid-1950s. Ighilahriz searches for "Commander Richaud", a French military doctor who liberated her from the group of French soldiers who were imprisoning and torturing her. She also discusses her difficulties adjusting to life after the revolution, and reflects on the state of modern Algerian society.
- Chronique d’un été [videorecording] (1961).In the summer of 1960 a documentary film crew asks the people on the streets of Paris if they are happy and follows some to their homes, workplaces and vacation spots to examine their lives and attitudes about current issues such as the wars in Algeria and Congo.
- La bataille d’Alger [videorecording] = The battle of Algiers (1966).Dramatizes the harrowing events of 1957, a key year in Algeria’s struggle for independence from France. Recreates the tumultuous Algerian uprising against the occupying French in the 1950s.
- Lost command [videorecording] (1966).After Lieutenant Colonel Pierre Raspeguy leads his defeated and humiliated French army out of Indochina, he learns that he’s been relieved of all command. A French Countess finagles a new position for him in Algeria and he persuades two wartime buddies to join him in shaping up a rag-tag unit. Raspeguy is forced to confront an Arab terrorist and launches a bloody battle against Segal’s rebel forces.
- Frantz Fanon [videorecording] : une vie, un combat, une œuvre (2001)."Frantz Fanon was a psychiatrist, originally from Martinique, who had become a spokesman for the Algerian revolution against French colonialism. Embittered by his experience with racism in the French Army, he gravitated to radical politics, Sartrean existentialism and the philosophy of black consciousness known as negritude. His 1952 book "Black Skin, White Masks" offers a penetrating analysis of racism and of the ways in which it is internalized by its victims."
- Chronicle of the smoldering years [videorecording] (1975).Epic look, beginning just before World War II, at Algeria’s struggle for independence from France. Seen through the struggles of one family.
- Le joli mai [videorecording] = The lovely month of May (1963).Consists of a series of interviews with ordinary people in the streets of Paris, discussing their lives and feelings while living in France in May, 1962, the year the Algerian War ended.