Medical Social Work Resources: Home
Library resources for social work in a medical or hospital setting.
UI Library Catalog
- Go to InfoHawk+InfoHawk+ is the public interface to search the UI Libraries catalog, including our book and media collection, ebooks and journals titles, plus some of our most used and useful databases. You can find the books we own and the journals we subscribe to, but you can also find articles through some of our database subscriptions.
InfoHawk+ tutorials
InfoHawk+ searches our catalog for UI Library books and other material and also searches other sources including databases and online archives.
- Finding Articles (video)Using InfoHawk+ to find articles from some, but not all, of UI Libraries' database subscriptions.
- save, renew and more in IH+Saving searches, setting alerts, keeping reading lists and more in InfoHawk+. Updated August 2020.
Welcome
Use the tabs at the top of this guide to navigate to different types of information. The links on this first page are general and should help answer most research questions in Social Work.
Dan the Librarian is always happy to work with Social Work (and other) students, staff and faculty. Use the contact information to the right or stop by Bill's Cafe in North Hall from 3-5 on Thursdays for my office hours.
Social Work Databases
I recommend these databases for Social Work Research. Contact me for personalized help with your research.
Dan the Librarian
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSocial Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals, dating back to 1966. The database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field including: theory & practice, ar
- Social Services AbstractsIndexes and abstracts current research (articles are from 1980 to the present) in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Major areas of coverage include community and mental heal
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe PsycINFO database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. PsycINFO's coverage is world
- Sociological AbstractsProvides article abstracts from 1,800 journals in sociology, from 1952 to the present.
- AgeLine This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), AgeLine provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology, i.e. the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Also covered are the delivery of health
- Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new windowIncludes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 1,700 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowUse the National Library of Medicine's Pubmed database to find articles in medical journals, research reports and more.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME
[Help Sheet for Search CINAHL - PDF] CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Full text material includes more than 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. NB: 20 concurrent user limit
