Contact a Sciences Librarian.
Undergraduate Engagement Librarian
orcid.org/0000-0003-2520-9874Course Description
MATH:1000:0001 FIRST-YEAR SEMINAR
UNCOVERING THE "HIDDEN FIGURES": WOMEN'S ROLE IN MATHEMATICS AND SCIENCE FROM WORLD WAR II TO TODAY
How did women mathematicians and scientists help the United States win World War II and send a person into space? The book Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly tells the story of African-American mathematicians who worked for the United States government on these projects. In this seminar, we will read Hidden Figures, and use it as a starting point to investigate how the war effort and space race expanded the opportunities available to female scientists, mathematicians, and engineers. We will then examine how the role of women in science and technology – and science and technology itself – has changed since that time. At the end of the semester, we will look into some current research “frontiers” in science and technology and the scientists working in those areas. Grades will be based on attendance, class participation, short written responses to readings and classroom discussions, and class presentations.
Description of Dr. Cynthia Farthing's fall 2018 First Year Seminar.
Hidden Figures by Call Number: MAIN QA27.5 .L44 2016
Hidden Figures DVDCall Number: MAIN Media Collection Video record 43947 DVD
Women in Science
Links to Explore
- NASA Spinoff - NASA Technology Transfer ProgramThis site may be a little out of date, but it has some good starting points to explore the ways NASA technology has impacted our life on planet Earth.
- 20 things We Wouldn't Have Without Space TravelInfographic from the Jet Propulsion Laboratory at the California Institute of Technology
- NASA Headquarters LibraryUnder "Browse Topics" you can explore resources related to Aerospace and Engineering and then check InfoHawk+ to see if we have the materials here.
- Patents from NASAGoogle patent search where the entity assigned the patent is NASA
Iowa and the Space Program
- Explorer's Legacy"Access the first data ever transmitted from Space and discover the story of Explorer I and its legacy, James Van Allen, and the discovery of the Radiation Belts with selections from the University of Iowa digital archival collection."
Databases
- Go to InfoHawk+ InfoHawk+ is the public interface to search the UI Libraries catalog, including our book and media collection, ebooks and journals titles, plus some of our most used and useful databases. You can find the books we own and the journals we subscribe to, but you can also find articles through some of our database subscriptions.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources. Find diverse perspectives on topics related to business and economics, controversial issues, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, science, social issues and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes the Chicago Tribune and some Iowa newspapers.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window [Help Searching Web of Science]A citation reference that includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Science Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), and Medline, and links to Journal Citation Reports and EndNote web version. If you experience trouble connecting to WoS from off-campus, try clearing your cache or changing browsers. Firefox seems to be best for this.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window [Help Searching Scopus]Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
This link opens in a new window
Women in Science Books
The Door in the Dream by Call Number: Course Reserve QH26 .W375 2000
Nobel Prize Women in Science by Call Number: Course Reserve Q141 .M3 1998
The Madame Curie Complex by Call Number: Course Reserve Q141 .D44 2010
Complexities - Women in Mathematics by Call Number: Course reserve QA27.5 .C66 2005
- women scientists subject headingSearch of InfoHawk+ for women scientists subject heading
- women in science subject headingSearch of InfoHawk+ for women in science subject heading
- Browse the Q130 Call NumberBrowsing InfoHawk+ with the Q130 call number
- women mathematicians -- united states -- biographyInfoHawk+ LCSH search women mathematicians -- united states -- biography
American Women in Technology by
A diverse compendium of biographies of leading American women in the field of technology. * Illustrations
Call Number: UI Engineering Library Stacks T36 .Z54 2000
