ABOUT THE EXHIBITION

Making the Book, Past and Present explores the intersections of history, art, and practicality. What can we learn by placing books, materials, and makers from the Middle Ages through today in conversation with one another? Many techniques and materials common centuries ago still inspire contemporary book artists and bookbinders. .

Curated by Eric Ensley and Emily Martin, this exhibition features a global selection of rare historic books and modern book art. From medieval manuscripts and early modern works to recent book sculptures, pop-ups, and books that move, these Special Collections & Archives materials shown together make a visual feast representing the strong connection between books and makers past and present. .

Exhibit Curation: Eric Ensley and Emily Martin

 

CURATOR HIGHLIGHTS & EXHIBITION GUIDE

 

• Curator Highlights from Making the Book, Past and Present:
  A small virtual selection of items from the exhibition, including photographs, commentary, and additional details.
• Making the Book, Past and Present Exhibition Guide
  Accessible PDF document. The complete guide to the exhibition, including curators' notes, a comprehensive item and source list, and complete exhibition credits.
• Virtual Gallery Tour of Making the Book, Past and Present
  COMING SOON. A complete interactive virtual tour of the Main Library Gallery exhibition.
• Short Videos of Exhibit Objects
  Watch a series of short silent videos showing a selection of exhibit items in more detail.

 

EXHIBIT VIDEOS

 

Stara Kniha (Old Book). Jan Sobota. Dallas: Jan Sobota, 1980-1998. x-Collection, Special Collections & Archives, University of Iowa Libraries. This book includes fragments of historic manuscripts, pressed flowers and plants, and hand lettering and illustration.

 

Body of Inquiry: A Triptych Opening to a Corporeal Codex. Casey Gardner. Berkeley, Calif.: Set in Motion Press, 2011. x-Collection FOLIO [N7433.4.G3577 B63 2011], Special Collections & Archives, University of Iowa Libraries.

 

Tafari codex: ancient Ethiopian psalter. Northern Ethiopia, ca. 1600. Special Collections & Archives, University of Iowa Libraries. This Coptic-style binding protects an Ethiopian psalter (psalm book) from ca. 1600. Coptic bindings were among the first bindings, made as early as the second century CE in Egypt by sewing through boards without the use of a spine covering.

 

Lady Bracknell from Oscar Wilde: In Earnest and Out. Emily Martin. Iowa City: Naughty Dog Press, 2020. x-Collection FOLIO [N7433.4.M364 O83 2020], Special Collections & Archives, University of Iowa Libraries. Volvelles, a type of moving book, have been used since the medieval period. Book artist Emily Martin puts this style to artistic use in this interpretation of Lady Bracknell from Oscar Wilde's play The Importance of Being Earnest.

 

MAIN LIBRARY GALLERY ARTICLES

 

• Spring Main Library Gallery exhibit highlights book history
  January 19, 2024. Sara J. Pinkham. An introduction to the exhibition.
• What we share with the past: a Q&A with Making the Book exhibition curators Emily Martin and Eric Ensley
  February 21, 2024. Sara J. Pinkham. Curators Eric Ensley and Emily Martin share more about their selections and the process of creating the exhibition.

 

IN THE NEWS

 

• DITV: Making the Book
  January 31, 2024. Hannah Lipski. Daily Iowan TV. News story featuring curator and visitor interviews. Note: Items in the exhibition are not controversial as reported.

 

ADDITIONAL ARTICLES AND RESOURCES

 

• "Ida Bogue's Handmade Adventure"
  February 25, 2021. Eric Ensley. A Special Collections & Archives article featuring The Loiterers, a book that appears in the exhibition.
• "A Hospital Visit Reveals Medieval Secrets Hidden in Books"
  May 23, 2023. Katherine Kornei. The New York Times. Using CT scanning technology on 16th century books, a research team at the University of Iowa uncovered bits of parchment salvaged from manuscripts.
• "Lost and Bound"
  August 10, 2023. Natalee Dawson, University of Iowa Libraries. A UI team uses medical technology to reveal secrets along the spine.