UI Libraries Resources
Citation Help
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)Purdue OWL has great quick guides to formatting citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, as well as tips on effective writing.
Smart Search
Request Materials
Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System
Request a book, photocopy of an article or book chapter, view/modify outstanding requests, renew checked out items, and view request history.
Need more?
Want to try other sources not listed here? Check these guides for suggestions.
Google Scholar
For off-campus use set your Scholar Preferences (Library Links) to The University of Iowa.
Google Books
...
"Arma de distracción masiva," Santiago, Chile (July 2011). Source: Lisa Gardinier.
Important Databases
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowHAPI contains citations to articles published since 1970 in more than 500 scholarly journals treating Latin American or U.S. Hispanic topics. Coverage includes Spanish, Portuguese, English, French, German and Italian language articles.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Combines CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
- Ethnic Newswatch Complete This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts offers coverage of world history, from 1450 onward, outside the US and Canada. (The companion index for those countries is America: History and Life). Historical Abstracts provides citations with abstracts to articles in over 1,700 journals, published 1954 to the present. It also contains bibliographic citations to books and dissertations. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
As of Sep 2023, we've received some reports from users encountering access issues while using Chrome. - JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. - SciELO This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text collections of journals in Latin America and the Caribbean. These journals are from a variety of fields in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Content is primarily in Spanish and Portuguese.
- RedALyC This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text collections of journals in Latin America and the Caribbean. These journals are from a variety of fields in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Content is primarily in Spanish and Portuguese.
Books from Beyond the University of Iowa
The SmartSearch box above will first return results from the University of Iowa Libraries. It will also offer to search UBorrow if you didn't find what you're looking for. Materials requested through UBorrow will arrive and be available for your use in about a week. When searching WorldCat, use the Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System link in the left column of this guide.
Subject Guide
Selected Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of Latin American history and cultureMain Reference Collection FOLIO F1406 .E53 2008
- The handbook of Spanish language mediaMain Library P92.L3 H36 2009
- The international encyclopedia of communicationMain Reference Collection P87.5 .I58 2008
- The media in Latin AmericaElectronic resource. Print copy also available: Main Library P92.L3 M435 2008
- Pop culture Latin America! : media, arts, and lifestyleElectronic resource. Print copy also available: Main Library F1414.2 .S495 2005