JMC:3116 and IS:3116: Media and Global Cultures: Global News Resources

Finding Current Global News Sources

The University of Iowa Libraries has a variety of global news resources that will be easy to find if you utilize these tips and resources.

Tips:

If you know the title of the newspaper you want to use, search for it in InfoHawk+. You can put quotation marks around the title to narrow your results, like "India Today." Don't be alarmed if the newspaper is categorized as a Journal. Results that show "Online access may be available" will usually be the easiest to review.
If you aren't sure of a title, don't worry! You can search by geographic area in Access World News or browse the titles listed in The Big Project: World News in English or Nations Online/One World. Once you have a title, try searching the database or InfoHawk+.
Looking for articles in languages other than English? You can easily edit the language you are searching in through Access World News or Nexis Uni.
It may be challenging to decode what articles are trending through a database. You can always double check the resource's website, if available, to see what is trending or most-read. **Most websites have ads on them - be aware of what is news and what is advertising/clickbait.
If you find a resource in InfoHawk+ that is housed in Factiva, it will be translated to English. If you find a resource that links to CRL Digital Collections, it will be a historical archive of the newspaper.

Newspaper Databases:

Access World News Research Collection
Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources. Find diverse perspectives on topics related to business and economics, controversial issues, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, science, social issues and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes the Chicago Tribune and some Iowa newspapers.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis)
TURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus provides selected full text for over 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. This database is updated daily.
Yomidasu Rekishikan
Includes Yomiuri shinbun 1874 to the present: image format from 1874 to 1989; full text 1986 to the present, along with the English edition: the Daily Yomiuri (Sept. 1989- to the present), both searchable by article, keyword, subject category, and issue. Charts and photographs are not included. Also includes biographical information on 26,000 people.

Online News Resources

The Asahi Shimbun: Asia & Japan Watch
The Asahi Shimbun Asia & Japan Watch (AJW) is now available for free to everyone. This is the English website for news about Japan and Asia.
Al Jazeera
Al Jazeera is an independent news organisation funded in part by the Qatari government. In 2006, Al Jazeera Satellite Network was changed to a public utility, private corporation by a public memorandum and articles of association in accordance with the provisions of Qatar Law No. 21 of 2006, and was re-named “Al Jazeera Media Network”. Thus, it is a private corporation established for the public benefit.
AllAfrica.com
AllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing 2000 news and information items daily from over 130 African news organizations and our own reporters to an African and global public. We operate from Cape Town, Dakar, Lagos, Monrovia, Nairobi and Washington DC.
The Big Project: World News in English
Another resource that links to newspapers worldwide that publish editions in English. Coverage by region includes the UK, Europe, the Americas, Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific, Africa, Asia, and the Middle East.
BBC
The BBC is the world’s leading public service broadcaster. We’re impartial and independent, and every day we create distinctive, world-class programmes and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world.
El Mundo (Spain, 2002-present)
Free web archive of the major Spanish language newspaper from 2002-present.
LatinNews
LatinNews was founded in London in 1967 to provide expert political, economic, and security analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean. LatinNews was acquired by Intelligence Research Ltd in 2003.
Nations Online/One World
Listing and links of world newspapers of record, including country, city of publication, and newspaper's political alignment. This may be an easy way to get titles and an overview of publications.
Radio Free Europe / Radio Liberty
This daily report provides expert analysis on major political events and trends in the former USSR (including the Central Asian republics) and Afghanistan, Iran, and Iraq. The service features daily news headline reports, twelve weekly reports on the region, and country-specific reports.

Global Newspapers - The Perch

Canard Enchaîné, Le
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki

Guardian Weekly, The
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1981-2014)
Website
Wiki
Bias

cover Monde, Le
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (2006-1010)
Website
Wiki

Times, The
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1985-Today)
Website
Wiki

Zeit, Die
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki

In addition to the global newspapers in The Perch (1st floor of Main Library), three Chinese newspapers are on display outside of the East Asian Reading Room on the 2nd floor of Main Library:

People’s Daily
Chinese Women
Southern Weekly