UI Libraries Resources
InfoHawk +
Citation Help
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)Purdue OWL has great quick guides to formatting citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, as well as tips on effective writing.
Need more?
Want to try other sources not listed here? Check these guides for suggestions.
...
Photo source: Alhambra Trece Estrellas, Marz Max, Flickr.
Important Databases
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts offers coverage of world history, from 1450 onward, outside the US and Canada. (The companion index for those countries is America: History and Life). Historical Abstracts provides citations with abstracts to articles in over 1,700 journals, published 1954 to the present. It also contains bibliographic citations to books and dissertations. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
As of Sep 2023, we've received some reports from users encountering access issues while using Chrome. - Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowThe Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. - Project Muse This link opens in a new windowWith full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
- Dialnet This link opens in a new windowProvides access to tables of contents of more than 3,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences published in Spain and Latin America. Provides access to the full text of some Spanish doctoral dissertations as well as the full text of working papers from some research centers in Spain and Latin America. Content is primarily in Spanish.
Subject Guide
Google Scholar
For off-campus use set your Scholar Preferences (Library Links) to The University of Iowa.
Google Books
Books from Beyond the University of Iowa
The SmartSearch box above will first return results from the University of Iowa Libraries. It will also offer to search UBorrow if you didn't find what you're looking for. Materials requested through UBorrow will arrive and be available for your use in about a week. When searching WorldCat, use the Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System link in the left column of this guide.
- WorldCatWorldCat will help you find books from many libraries in the United States, plus some libraries worldwide.
- Uborrow This link opens in a new windowSearch over 90 million books from the collections of 13 research libraries, request, and receive within a week.
Request Materials
Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System
Request a book, photocopy of an article or book chapter, view/modify outstanding requests, renew checked out items, and view request history.