LAS:2700 Introduction to Latin American Studies: Bienvenidos!
UI Libraries Resources
Citation Help
- Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)Purdue OWL has great quick guides to formatting citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, as well as tips on effective writing.
Request Materials
Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System
Request a book, photocopy of an article or book chapter, view/modify outstanding requests, renew checked out items, and view request history.
Google Books
Need more?
Want to try other sources not listed here? Check these guides for suggestions.
...
Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Rosario, Argentina (July 2011). Source: Lisa Gardinier.
Important Databases
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowHAPI contains citations to articles published since 1970 in more than 500 scholarly journals treating Latin American or U.S. Hispanic topics. Coverage includes Spanish, Portuguese, English, French, German and Italian language articles.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Combines CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
- Ethnic Newswatch Complete This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts offers coverage of world history, from 1450 onward, outside the US and Canada. (The companion index for those countries is America: History and Life). Historical Abstracts provides citations with abstracts to articles in over 1,700 journals, published 1954 to the present. It also contains bibliographic citations to books and dissertations. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
As of Sep 2023, we've received some reports from users encountering access issues while using Chrome.
Books from Beyond the University of Iowa
InfoHawk+ will first return results from the University of Iowa Libraries. As a member of the Big Ten Academic Alliance (it's more than just football!), we also have access to the libraries of other Big Ten universities through UBorrow. Materials requested through UBorrow will arrive and be available for your use in about a week. When searching WorldCat, use the Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System link in the left column of this guide.
- Uborrow This link opens in a new windowSearch over 90 million books from the collections of 13 research libraries, request, and receive within a week.
- WorldCatWorldCat will help you find books from many libraries in the United States, plus some libraries worldwide.
Subject Guide
Google Scholar
For off-campus use set your Scholar Preferences (Library Links) to The University of Iowa.
Selected Reference Sources
- The borderlands : an encyclopedia of culture and politics on the U.S.-Mexico divideMain Library F786 .B74 2008
- The Cambridge history of the native peoples of the AmericasElectronic resource. Also available in print: Main Reference Collection E77 .C28 1996
- Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture, 2nd ed.Call number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO F1406 .E53 2008
- Encyclopedia of Latino cultureElectronic resource. Also available in print: Main Library E184.S75 E588 2014
- Encyclopedia of free Blacks and people of color in the AmericasElectronic resource.
- Celebrating Latino folklore: An encyclopedia of cultural traditionsElectronic resource.