Cambridge Resources
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowThis unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.
Oxford Resources
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern ScienceFrom the biographies on Galileo and Dorothy Hodgkin to the discussions chronicling the change of science from simply a tool of learning to a major force in society, The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science is the most comprehensive one-volume resource on science from 1550 to the present.
Science, Technology, and SocietyEmphasizing an interdisciplinary and international coverage of the functions and effects of science and technology in society and culture, Science, Technology, and Society/B contains over 130 A to Z signed articles written by major scholars and experts from academic and scientific institutionsand institutes worldwide. Each article is accompanied by a selected bibliography. Other features include extensive cross referencing throughout, a directory of contributors, and an extensive topical index.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of over 180,000 titles of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference.
Cursus Medicinæ; or a Complete Theory of Physic, in five parts
Crawford, John, M.D
London, MDCCXXIV. [1724]. 409pp. Medicine, Science and Technology
Biography
- Dictionary of Scientific BiographyCall Number: Main Reference Collection (FOLIO Q141 .D5)
- New Dictionary of Scientific BiographyCall Number: Main Reference Collection (FOLIO Q141 .N45 2008)
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowOxford DNB is a collection of 55,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond.
Janalyn Moss
Janalyn Moss
Contact:
The University of Iowa Libraries
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
319/335-5698
Selected Web Sources
- Internet History of Science SourcebookThis page is a subset of texts derived from the three major online Sourcebooks listed below. For more contextual information, for instance about the Islamic world, check out these web sites.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Internet Modern History Sourcebook - Digital Resources in the History of Medicine [via National Library of Medicine]"NLM historical collections include selected digitized material relating to the history of medicine. Chosen from the manuscripts and books collections, the prints and photographs collection, historical films and videos, current and past exhibitions, and the Digital Manuscripts Program, these digitized materials cover a spectrum of centuries and cultures from medieval Islam to contemporary biomedical research."