General Resources
- ArtstorSearchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new windowA style manual for writing, editing, and publishing.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowA scholarly encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Part of Oxford Art Online which includes: Benezit Dictionary of Artists; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms; Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations for over 2.3 million dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Full text available for most dissertations published after 18=997.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.
Online resources for journal articles and citations
Art and art-related sources
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new windowCovers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti. Full abstracts and indexing from the late 1960s onwards. Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of articles 1997-present; abstracts of articles 1994-present; and citations to articles in journals 1984-present. Coverage includes 376 international journals and periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins in English and other Western European languages, with a broad subject range. In addition to articles, ArtFull Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
- Art & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)A multidisciplinary citation index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, 1975 - present. Includes some full text. Part of the Web of Knowledge database.
- Art RetrospectiveProvides citations to journal articles from 1929-1984. Users can search simultaneously with ArtFull Text.
- Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)Contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making it the largest index of its kind in the world.
Online resources for journal articles and citations
- EBSCOhostA collection of databases, including Academic Search Elite, which offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles, covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
- IBZ OnlineThe Internationale Bibliographie der geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Zeitschriftenliteratur, an international bibliography of periodical literature covering all fields of knowledge, since 1896. Website is in English.
- JSTORProvides full-text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences (including art, architecture and archaeology). Note: this database contains only back issues and does not include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
- Project MUSEWith full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the humanities and social sciences, including the visual and performing arts. Coverage begins in 1995.
Important Journals
Aperture
Library: The years 1952-present are shelved in Restricted Access in the Art Library. The Library has a current subscription for this journal.
Online Access: The years 1959-1984 are accessible via Art Retrospective, the years 1984-current are accessible via ArtFull Text
British Journal of Photography
Library: The years 1921-2011 are shelved alphabetically among the journals on the 3rd floor of the Main Library.
Online Access: The years 1979-1984 are accessible via Art Retrospective, the years 1984-current are accessible via ArtFull Text
Camera Work
Library: The years 1903-1917 (reprinted facsimilies) are shelved alphabetically among the journals in the Art Library.
Online Access: The years 1903-1912 are accessible online via the Hathi Trust Digital Library http://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/003959332
History of Photography
Library: The years 1977-present are shelved alphabetically among the journals in the Art Library. The Library has a current subscription for this journal.
Online Access: The years 2010-current are accessible online via Taylor & Francis Online http://www.tandfonline.com/loi/thph20
Important Reference Books
Hannavy, J. Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography. (Art Reference, FOLIO TR9.H25 2008)
Warren, L. Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography. (Art Reference, FOLIO TR642.E5 2006)
Stroebel, L., and Zaika, R. The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography. (Art Reference , TR9.F6 1993)
Eskind, A., et al. International Photography: George Eastman House Index to Photographers, Collections, and Exhibitions. (Art Reference TR12.I54 1998)
Important Books
The following books provide an overview of the history of photography and may serve as a starting point for research.
Hirsch, R. Seizing the light: a Social History of Photography. (Art Library TR15 .H557 2009)
Marien, M. Photography: a Cultural History. (Art Library Oversize FOLIO TR15 .M273 2011)
Newhall, B. The History of Photography: from 1839 to the present. (Art Library Oversize FOLIO TR15 .N47 1982)
Rosenblum, N. A World History of Photography. (Art Library Oversize FOLIO TR15 .R67 1989)
Web Resources
- Art History ResourcesIncludes an extensive list of links to relevant web resources, covering the history of photography, significant photographers, collections, etc.
- George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and FilmIncludes access online photographic collections, Image Magazine Online, and Notes on Photographs- an international forum for students, historians, collectors, curators, conservators, archivists, practitioners, and the interested public.
- History of Photography by Robert LeggattProvides an overview of the history of photography, including historical timelines and information on photographers and processes from the early period of photography
- International Center of PhotographyA photography museum, school, and research center, ICP is the world's leading institution dedicated to the practice and understanding of photography in all its forms.
- Luminous LintAn extensive resource for the study of photography, includes historical timelines, access to online exhibitions, and information on photographers, processes and techniques, styles and movements.
Web Resources
Processes and Techniques
Web Resources
Museums and Collections
Evaluating Information
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Evaluating your sources
Authority - Find out who's telling you the information, an expert or scholar?
Source - Who's the publisher or entity responsible for presenting the information?
Coverage - Is it scholarly or popular? Who's the intended audience? (Check the vocabulary, language and tone.) What's the depth/scope?
Accuracy - Are the facts, names, dates, etc correct?
Objectivity - Is there a bias or particular viewpoint?
Date - Is it recent? (Is that relevant?)
Subject Guide
Creator credit
This guide was created by Brad Ferrier.