Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hello, First Year Hawks! This guide includes information and resources that can help you excel in your classes. On this guide you'll find general information about the UI Libraries, and links to resources that may be of interest to you. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask!
About the UI Libraries
The Main Library is the largest library on campus and holds resources on a broad range of subjects, while the other campus libraries focus on specfic subject areas. Need help finding a library? Here is a map of library locations on campus, and a detailed floorplan of the Main Library.
Some key things to know about using the libraries:
- Your Iowa One ID Card is your library card.
- Books can be checked out for a loan period of 4 weeks.
- DVD's can be checked out for a loan period of 1 week. No more than 10 media items can be checked out to you at one time.
- Renew checked out items online by logging in to My Account with your HawkID.
See the Borrowing Materials FAQ for more information
The UI Libraries provides knowledgeable librarians who can help you use library services to be successful in your studies. If you don't know where to start with your research, or need help with library resources, contact a librarian to save time and stress. We look forward to helping you!
Where to Find Articles
Below are just some of the many ways you can find articles. These are databases that include scholarly articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more. Other indexes and databases can be found through Find Resources.
Academic Search Elite
Academic Search Elite is a powerful database that indexes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals. Covering virtually every area of academic study, offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. Updated daily.
Subject areas covered include biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, women's studies, and general interest. It also provides indexing for The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, and The Christian Science Monitor.
Access World News Research Collection
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions for over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes: Chicago Tribune and The Washington Post (1/1/1977 - current).
Full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.
Ethnic News Watch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Primarily a full text database with some abstracts that contains periodicals, academic journals, newsletters, magazines, regional publications, and government reports focused on gender and women's issues.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
LexisNexis Academic Universe
This is an index that “provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal research, medical and reference information. The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia
OpinionArchives provides electronic archives for journals of opinion, including The Nation, Commentary, The New Republic, Commonweal, Dissent, NACLA, American spectator, National review, Harper's magazine, New York review, and the New Yorker. The OpinionArchives metasearch tool provides cross-journal searching for all titles in the archive.
With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
A comprehensive index to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. This database is available through WilsonWeb and covers the time period from 1890-1982. (Formerly on WilsonWeb)
Herky studies at the library!