Welcome!
Welcome to the guide for ENGL:2014 Reading and Writing About Short Stories - Placemaking and World-Building in Short Fiction - with Professor Claire F. Fox. The information in this guide will help provide general library information, information on selected databases, and resources for MLA citation. If you are struggling with your research or have any questions, please ask!
Library Links
- InfoHawk+InfoHawk+ is the University of Iowa Libraries' catalog and provides information about books, articles, and media. This is typically the best place to start your research.
- WorldCatThe world's most comprehensive catalog of items held by libraries, particularly libraries in North America. WorldCat is valuable for finding items that have been published but are not held at the University of Iowa Libraries.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Found an item, but we don't have it? ILL it! Log in and provide information about the item you would like to borrow from another library.
- Recommend a PurchaseIs there a book, journal, DVD, or database you think the University of Iowa Libraries should purchase? Submit a suggestion!
- Have a different question?The Library FAQ's have answers to many of your library questions.
Land Acknowledgement
The University of Iowa is located on the homelands of the Ojibwe/Anishinaabe (Chippewa), Báxoǰe (Iowa), Kiikaapoi (Kickapoo), Omāēqnomenēwak (Menominee), Myaamiaki (Miami), Nutachi (Missouri), Umoⁿhoⁿ (Omaha), Wahzhazhe (Osage), Jiwere (Otoe), Odawaa (Ottawa), Póⁿka (Ponca), Bodéwadmi/Neshnabé (Potawatomi), Meskwaki/Nemahahaki/Sakiwaki (Sac and Fox), Dakota/Lakota/Nakoda (Sioux), Sahnish/Nuxbaaga/Nuweta (Three Affiliated Tribes) and Ho-Chunk (Winnebago) Nations. The following tribal nations, Umoⁿhoⁿ (Omaha Tribe of Nebraska and Iowa), Póⁿka (Ponca Tribe of Nebraska), Meskwaki (Sac and Fox of the Mississippi in Iowa), and Ho-Chunk (Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska) Nations continue to thrive in the State of Iowa and we continue to acknowledge them.
Click here for the Acknowledgement of Land and Sovereignty from the UI Native American Council.
General Research Tips
- Generate a list of your search terms and any synonyms.
- Search for each term in InfoHawk+ and our databases. If you find a promising resource, look at the subjects that are listed in its record.
- Pro Tip: Once you are in InfoHawk+, click on the "Sign In" link in the upper right corner. Sign in with your HawkID and password and you will be able to pin resources, request items more easily, and save searches.
- If searching for a phrase, insert quotation marks around the phrase.
- Limit your search by a date range if you only want results from certain years.
- To limit to peer-reviewed, scholarly, or academic article (lots of words for the same idea!), select "Peer-reviewed journal" from the left side of InfoHawk+. (Some databases have a peer-reviewed filter as well!)
- Try your search terms in multiple databases.
- You can also search in WorldCat to find resources not held by the University of Iowa and then request through ILL.
- Look at the footnotes and bibliography of scholarly articles and dissertations - they can lead you to related sources!
- The first sources that you find may not be the best. Keep looking!
InfoHawk+ Articles
View in Panopto (upper-right pointing arrow) for full-screen.
Add this direct link to ICON or other webpages:
InfoHawk+ Books
View in Panopto (upper-right pointing arrow) for full-screen.
Add this link to ICON or other webpages:
Librarian
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
Short Story Criticism - Reference Collection
- Short Story Criticism (Volumes 1-111 online, Volumes 1-130 in Reference)
As part of Literature Criticism Online, a majority of the Short Story Criticism collection can be found online. For complete coverage, consult the hard copies (Volume 1 to Volume 130, the most recent publication) found at Reference PN3373 .S387. A cumulative author index can be found in Volume 130.