- UI Libraries home
- Guides
- Database Profiles
- MLA International Bibliography
Database Profiles:MLA International Bibliography
Research Assistance
Need help with your research?
Stop by or make an appointment with SEAM, now located at the Just Ask desk on the first floor of the Main Library.
Reach out to staff at the desk directly via online chat, text message or email!
Browse our Frequently Asked Questions!
Schedule an appointment for more in depth assistance!
Find your subject liaison librarian for deep dives!
About
Find:
Bibliographic information (AKA citations) and some full text for articles in literary, linguistic, and theatrical fields
MLA International Bibliography comprises over 2 million records related to literature, literary theory, linguistics, language, theater, film and television, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. The MLA has been around for a loooong time, and their online database includes records dating back to 1926.
Try me out!
- MLA International BibliographyUse this link to get to MLAIB's landing page for basic and advanced searching. UI Libraries has access to MLAIB through ProQuest, so if you're familiar with ProQuest, you might recognize the search interface!
Search Tips
Get friendly with UI Link - you'll need it. Most of the records within MLAIB contain citation information only. Use UI Link to find the full text of a promising article through the other databases the library has access to.
Clicking UI Link will show you other databases that have the full text of the article you are looking for. If none of UI's databases contain the full text, click "Request this article by Inter Library Loan/Document Delivery" at the bottom: this will link you to the ILL request form, and should have all of the fields filled out for you! (You will need to make an ILL account if you do not have one already.)
