Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When searching for information about your novel or its themes, you may want to try searching for:
- the name of the author
- the name of the novel
- the themes of the novel
- Czech literature -- History and criticism
- Czech Literature--Bibliography
- Czech literature -- 20th century
- Czech prose literature
- Czech poetry
Go to InfoHawk+
InfoHawk+ is the public interface to search the UI Libraries catalog, including our book and media collection, ebooks and journals titles, plus some of our most used and useful databases. You can find the books we own and the journals we subscribe to, but you can also find articles through some of our database subscriptions.
If you'd like to browse the Czech Literature section of the library, the call number range is PG 4001-5146. You'll find this range in the Main Library on the 4th floor, the west side of the building.
Undergraduate Engagement Librarian
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
RECOMMEND USING CHROME; Covers North American scholarship on East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)
A multidisciplinary citation index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, 1975 - present. Includes some full text. Part of the Web of Knowledge database.
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television and other fields.
Background on Czech Literature
Hájek, Igor. "Czech Literature." Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century, edited by Steven R. Serafin, Gale, 3rd edition, 1999. Credo Reference.
"Czech literature." The Columbia Encyclopedia, Paul Lagasse, and Columbia University, Columbia University Press, 8th edition, 2018. Credo Reference.
Smith, Alexandra. "Czech and Slovak Life Writing." Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms, edited by Margaretta Jolly, Routledge, 1st edition, 2001. Credo Reference.
Sternstein, M. "Czech Poetry." The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries, edited by Roland Greene, and Stephen Cushman, Princeton University Press, 1st edition, 2016. Credo Reference.
Harkins, William E. "Czech Literature." Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature, edited by Jean-Albert Bédé and William B. Edgerton, Columbia University Press, 1980. ProQuest Literature Online.
Find other Czech culture
Tools for Finding Audio and Video Recordings
Stream thousands of sound recordings, including folk, rock, rap, pop, classical, and world music. Try a simple search for 'czech' and then use the options in the left-hand column to narrow your results, or just start listening to something for fun.
Stream over 100,000 albums and almost 2,000,000 tracks from this database of largely western art music sound recordings.
Find CDs, LPs, DVDs, and VHS tapes available at the University of Iowa Libraries