Scholarly writing is typically evidence-based, formal writing that addresses a specific research topic. It is written by experts in a field for other people in the field and includes citations and references. Scholarly, academic, peer-reviewed, and refereed are often used interchangeably to describe this type of writing. 

• Search InfoHawk+. Our catalog does a good job of listing books and many articles based on your queries. It does not catalog every database, so searching the databases specifically may produce different results. Limit by Peer Reviewed Journals on the left side of the InfoHawk+ page. You can also limit by date or other criteria to help your search.
• 
• Search recommended databases (found on the next tab). Some databases have a peer reviewed filter too!
• Already know which journal you want to search? You can find it via e-journals. Enter the title, then browse the resource. You can also find journals within databases and search there. Just narrow to the desired publication using the database's filters.

Reading a scholarly article can be a little intimidating! They follow a unique format and can be quite lengthy. Use this guide to help get a quick understanding of the article before you invest your time in reading the entire piece.

Source: Undergraduate Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign for use or adaptation of materials. Used with permission. Original image at https://guides.library.illinois.edu/c.php?g=348324&p=2351069.

Pro Tip: Once you are in InfoHawk+, click on the "Sign In" link in the upper right corner. Sign in with your HawkID and password and you will be able to pin resources, request items more easily, and save searches.

On the left side of InfoHawk+, there are lots of filters that will allow you to narrow your search. Here is quick overview of some that may be most useful.

Resource Type:

This allows you to select or deselect resource types. You may only want to access articles but not reviews, for example. The image below shows a search for "organizational communication," selecting Articles and Book Chapters, but not Conference Materials. * To exclude a resource type, hover behind the filter and wait for the square with a checkmark and a hashmark through it to appear. Clicking on that box will exclude the resource listed. Always select REFINE at the bottom of the left column and your search will be updated.

Creation Date:

Creation Date is really useful if you want more recent research or need items contemporary to a historical event (like the March on Washington, August 28, 1963). Keep in mind that the creation date may reflect the publication or re-publication of historical items. To narrow your results by date, enter the date range you want - the first year will be the date of the oldest related article in our collection - and use the Refine action next to the dates. 

    --------------->  

Other filters, like Language, are more self-explanatory.

If you have a search but only want results from a specific publication, you can filter that in Journal Title. 

To find items by an author, not about an author, select their name in the Author/Creator section.