COMM:1130 The Art of Persuading Others : Research
Suggested Databases and Search Terms
The University has lots of different databases that contain various types of resources. A few of the database Best Bets for Communication Studies are listed here:
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
- ComAbstracts
- Access World News Research Collection
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA)
There are also some broad scope databases that may be useful for your research:
- Academic Search Elite
- JSTOR - most recent 3-5 years are not available as full text
- Web of Science - if problems connecting off-campus, clear cache and/or use Firefox
Selected Journals in Communication Studies
- Rhetoric Society Quarterly
- Quarterly Journal of Speech
- Communication and Critical/Cultural Studies
- Journal of Communication
Sample Search Terms:
- Speeches, addresses, etc -- History and criticism
- Rhetorical criticism
- Audience analysis AND speeches
- Rhetorical Analysis
- "Name of Speech" AND analysis
Creating a Search Statement
1. Create a Research statement
This can be in the form of a question or a sentence. Just think about what you want to research and write it down in one sentence.
2. Identify the Keywords
Look at your research statement. What are the main words or concepts? They will likely be nouns and can include phrases. Highlight them.
3. Think of Synonyms
Look at the words/phrases you highlighted and think of synonyms or alternate phrases to describe these concepts. Scholarly articles often use words that we wouldn't use in ordinary life.
4. Search in the Databases
Pick two or three words/phrases from your list. Put each concept in its own search box.
6. Search again!
Try different combinations of words to get different results. Add more words to narrow down your results. Look at the "Subject" headings for each article to see what keywords are being used the most.
5. Use Boolean Operators
The most common operators used in databases are AND, OR, and NOT. Make sure you separate different concepts/keywords by AND, and use OR in the same box to combine synonyms.
Can't I just Google it?
Google is a familiar tool but there are other options that will make collegiate-level research much easier (and instructor-approved!). This infographic charts the pros and cons of Google, Google Scholar, and library databases. Each one is useful in its own way.
Created by McMaster University Library. Used under Creative Commons license. Original found at https://library.mcmaster.ca/research/how-library-stuff-works.