Foreign Media
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowCurrent and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources. Find diverse perspectives on topics related to business and economics, controversial issues, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, science, social issues and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes the Chicago Tribune and some Iowa newspapers.
- Europeana NewspapersExplore 58,077,285 artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives
Under Collections, select newspapers.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Services (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new windowThe United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence, FBIS is an index foreign media reports covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. FBIS includes full-text English-language and English-language translations of radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements.
- Keesing's World News ArchiveArticles on World Events Since 1931
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides selected full text for over 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. This database is updated daily.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowTURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
New York Times - Proquest Historical Newspaper
The New York Times and the other Proquest Historical Newspapers are a great source of historical information of all types. In addition to articles you will also find editorials, ads, legal notices, comics, editorial cartoons, etc.
A MIDWESTERN VIEW OF SOVIET POLICY
New York Times (1923-Current file);
Feb 13, 1949;
ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2007)
pg. E3
Video
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online delivers almost 80,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Meet the Press This link opens in a new windowNBC's Meet the Press is broadcast-television's longest-running program, with interviews, panels and debates from across the political spectrum. The collection includes every surviving program from the show's inception in 1947 through the present day. All programs can be watched in streaming format and are fully searchable. All programs are provided with running transcripts. Programs and clips can be saved to a playlist and shared with others.
- PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new windowThis three-year subscription assembles a core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events.
- Politics and Current Affairs Video Online This link opens in a new windowPolitics and Current Affairs Video Online brings together documentaries covering immigration and border studies, Middle East studies, urban studies, politicial science, globalization, human rights, and related topics.
Janalyn Moss
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies.
The print volumes of the Foreign Relations of the United States are located on the third floor of the Main Library in the Government Publications department. Call Number: KX233.A3.
Electronic access is available through: