Introduction
Here you will find many resources and information that will help you become successful in conducting policy research for your Diversity Research Project. Take a look through the page to find access to articles, newspapers, helpful resources on campus, and tips on beginning the research process.
Don't forget to check out other subject guides for more information on policy and government research!
Research Tips
Think about your identity. Make a list of all the terms, words, and groups of people that make up that identity. For example, if you identify as a First Generation College student, you might be interested in cost of college or graduation rates of first generation college students.
TIP: Successful searches for information require you to be creative and flexible. The words you use to describe your topic may be different than the words used by the person who created the information you need to find.
Tips on locating policies using any database or website:
Policy is a broad term to describe any set of principles, rules, regulations, or laws adopted by an organization, either by a government body or any institution.
-
Begin with Congress.gov to search for recent legislative action on all current bills.
-
Search newspapers for current events. You can do a simple search on a topic related to your identity plus "policy". Example: "Higher education policies" or "College entrance requirements and Policy"
Suggested Library Subject Guides for government and policy information
- US Government InformationFind a selection of resources for current and historical public policy and consumer information issued by U.S. government agencies and private publishers
- International NewsSee the Policy Research tab for more resources.
Meet with a Specialist Librarian!
- Find a subject specialist!You may wish to speak with a specialist librarian who can help you find resources that are more specific to the policies you are researching. This list can point you in the right direction of who to contact.
Just Beginning? Get Background Information
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowWritten by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowMulti-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.
- Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new windowA continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Incudes 400+ overview articles on key topics from international issues to ethical standards, 200+ biographies on key figures, and references and links to related social work resources.
Policy Research (Web Resources)
- Brookings InstitutionBrookings conducts research and education in the social sciences, primarily in economics, metropolitan policy, governance, foreign policy, and global economy and development.
- Congress.govPublic source for information on all legislation, including bills, policies, and update on current legislative activities. You can search by policy area using the advanced search.
- Congressional Research ServicesThis service is produced by the Congressional Research Service for the United States Congress and provides research products for the public. CRS approaches complex topics and examines all sides of an issue. What you'll find are:
-reports on major policy issues
-tailored confidential memoranda, briefings and consultations
-seminars and workshops
-expert congressional testimony - National Conference of State LegislaturesGroup facilitating legislatures in U.S. states, territories and commonwealths through shared ideas, research and cooperation. Take a look at their research section for topic overviews, policy analysis and bill tracking.
- UI Public Policy CenterUI interdisciplinary research center that investigates social issues at a local, state and national levels and shares research findings, expertise and resources with policy-makers and the public.
News Resources (UI Library Databases)
- Access World NewsProvides full-text articles of over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes the Chicago Tribune, and some Iowa newspapers. Search by broadly by topic or geographical region or refine your search by selecting "more search options".
- Newspaper Source PlusUpdated daily, search over 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires and newspaper columns.
- Nexis UniBesides court cases and laws, you can also search news articles from hundreds of newspapers, both international and local.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowTry searching and then filtering results by content type to Interview, Panel Discussion, etc. Transcripts are searchable.
Find Scholarly Articles, News, and Magazines (UI Library Databases)
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowPrimarily a full text database with some abstracts that contains periodicals, academic journals, newsletters, magazines, regional publications, and government reports focused on gender and women's issues. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new windowFull-text database indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. (Main Library Reference Area holds vol. 1- July 1969- to present in the paper edition.)
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowTURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
- Ethnic Newswatch Complete This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- SIRS Issues ResearcherProQuest is pretty similar to Academic Search Elite, but also includes a wide array of news articles, primary sources from archives, websites, magazines, and governmental sources.
Campus Resources
- Writing CenterThe Writing Center assists with all writing projects, including multimedia projects, at any stage of development. Our services are free and available to anyone in the University of Iowa community. Our job is to help you become a better writer, reader and critical thinker.
- One Button StudioPlease see the website for info on reserving, hours, and locations.
- Tippie College of Business One Button StudioA third One Button Studio is located in the Biz Hub on the 3rd floor of the Business Building.
Iowa Women's Archive (UI)
The Iowa Women's Archives, located on the third floor of the UI Main Library, has a wide variety of sources related to Iowa history, and not just women:-)
The Diversity & Social Justice Collections guide is a good place to look for interviews and other primary sources on social justice issues in Iowa.