Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Web Sources for Chemical Compound Information
The following sources are recommended. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian for assistance.
Everyone MUST register on campus using an Iowa email account to use this resource. Detailed instructions are located at guides.lib.uiowa.edu/SciFinder
. SciFinder gives you instant access to the world's largest curated collection of information on disclosed chemistry and related research produced by CAS.
Reaxys is a unique web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface. Use it to access the combined wealth of trustworthy, experimental substance and reaction data and bibliographic data housed in the Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Databases.
Search bioassay records using terms from the bioassay description. Links to active compounds & bioassay results are provided. Search unique checmical structures using names, synonyms or keywords. Links to available biological property information are provided for each compound. Search deposited chemical substance records using names, synonyms or keywords. Links to biological property information and depositor web sites are provided.
Pharmaceutical Substances is designed to be a complete reference guide to every pharmaceutical compound of significance. It provides a compendium of some 2,600 active pharmaceutical ingredients (API's) of interest to the chemical and pharmaceutical industries. Note: There is a known problem with the Structure Query. More info here
Merck Index Online
An authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals, the Merck Index* Online offers the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition. The Merck Index Online will be updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.
Combined Chemical Dictionary
Includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. Contains all those compounds published in: Dictionary of organic compounds (200,000 records), Dictionary of natural products (120,000 records), Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds (90,000 records), Dictionary of pharmacological agents (30,000 records), Dictionary of analytical reagents (14,000 records).
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources. Not available in print.
Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference
Offers a "safety profile" of 5000 of the most important hazardous chemicals.
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
Combines data on toxicology, flammability, reactivity, explosive potential, and regularity information for over 28,000 substances.
This is a commerical website that sells biochemical and organic chemical products, but it also provides some useful information about the compounds they sell. Also available in print.
Print Sources for Chemical Compound Information
The following titles are available at the Sciences Library. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian for assistance.
Dictionary of Organic Compounds by
Call Number: Sciences Library FOLIO QD251.H45 1996
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
This 9 volume set gives basic necessary information on the properties and structures of compounds. It does not have all compounds, but will have most. Also available as a more complete online resource called Combined Chemical Dictionary.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by
Call Number: Sciences Library QD65.H3
Publication Date: 2012-06-22
A large single volume encyclopedic work containing tables of data on many compounds. A good print resource for this class. We have multiple copies at the information desk and in the book stacks. Also available online.
The Merck Index by
Call Number: Sciences Library RS51.M4 2006
Publication Date: 2006-11-03
A good print resource for drug and other medicinal compounds, including things like nicotine. Also available online.
Hazardous Chemical Desk Reference by
Call Number: Sciences Library T55.3.H3 S33 1991
Publication Date: 1991-12-01
This title contains only the hazardous properties of major compounds. Look here if you don't find these properties elsewhere. Also available online.
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials by
Call Number: Sciences Library FOLIO T55.3.H3 S3 1992
Publication Date: 1992-05-01
This 3 volume set contains only the hazardous properties of major compounds. Look here if you don't find these properties elsewhere. Also available online.