Welcome! This guide is intended to be a one-stop starting point for resources for HIST:4710:0001, AFAM:4310:000 - Pre-Colonial African History (Prof. James Giblin, Fall 2016)
Class Texts (See ONLINE Versions)
Fighting the Greater Jihad by Call Number: ONLINE. Print Version also available at Main Library: (BP80.B238 B33 2007 )ISBN: 9780821417669Publication Date: 2007-10-15
The Indian Ocean in World History by Call Number: At Main Library (DS340 .A47 2014 )ISBN: 9780195337877Publication Date: 2013-11-29
Muslim Societies in African History by Call Number: ONLINE. Print Version also Available at Main Library (BP64.A1 R63 2004 )ISBN: 9780521533669Publication Date: 2004-01-12
Transatlantic Africa by Call Number: Request Through Inter-Library LoanISBN: 9780199764877Publication Date: 2014-03-13
The Book of Travels in Africa; from the Earliest Ages to the Present Time by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 1236292448Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Reference Materials
Encyclopedia of exploration, 1800 to 1850 : a comprehensive reference guide to the history and literature of exploration, travel and colonization between the years 1800 and 1850 / by Call Number: At Main Reference Collection (FOLIO G80 .H678 2004)ISBN: 1875567399Publication Date: 2004
The Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa by Call Number: At Main Reference Collection (FOLIO DT2 .E53 1997 )ISBN: 0761989021Publication Date: 1997-08-20
The Penguin Atlas of African History by Call Number: At Main Library: (G2446.S1 M34 1995)ISBN: 0140513213Publication Date: 1996-03-01
Literature of Travel and Exploration: An Encyclopedia by Call Number: At Main Reference Collection: (FOLIO G465 .L565 2003)ISBN: 1579582478Publication Date: 2003-09-16
Reference Guide to Africa by Call Number: ONLINE: Print Version also Available at Main Library ( (Z3501 .K15 2014)ISBN: 9781442242616Publication Date: 2014-10-16
New Encyclopedia of Africa by Call Number: At Main Reference Collection: (FOLIO DT2 .N48 2008 )ISBN: 9780684314549Publication Date: 2007-10-08
A 1656 map of Africa shared through the Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at the Boston Public Library. Shared under Creative Commons License. http://maps.bpl.org/id/14053
Sample Titles Available at the Library
Precolonial Africa by Call Number: At Main Library (GN645 .J84)ISBN: 0684143186Publication Date: 1975-01-01
Red Gold of Africa: Copper in Precolonial History and Culture by Call Number: At Main Library (GN645 .H44 1984)ISBN: 0299096009Publication Date: 1984-07-15
African Civilizations: Precolonial Cities and States in Tropical Africa by Call Number: At Main Library: (GN865.S87 C66 1987 )ISBN: 0521266661Publication Date: 1987-04-24The World of the Indian Ocean, 1500-1800 by
Call Number: At Main Library (DS340 .P45 2005 )ISBN: 0860789624Publication Date: 2005-04-07
History of Africa by Call Number: At Main Library (DT20 .S55 1995 )ISBN: 0312125984Publication Date: 1995-05-15
A History of Sub-Saharan Africa by Call Number: At Main Library: (DT351 .C68 2007)ISBN: 9780521867467Publication Date: 2007-02-08
Zanzibar by Call Number: At Main Library: (DT435 .I5 1931a)ISBN: 0714611026Publication Date: 1967-10-13
The Civilizations of Africa by Call Number: ONLINE; Available also in print at Main Library: (DT14 .E36 2002)ISBN: 081392085XPublication Date: 2002-05-09
Of Africa by Call Number: At Main Library: (DT20 .S58 2012)ISBN: 9780300140460Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Indigenous African Institutions by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9789047440031Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Problems in African History: The Precolonial Centuries by Call Number: At Main Library: (DT20 .P76 2007)ISBN: 1558763600Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Travel Resources (ONLINE)
Google Scholar
Search UI Databases
- Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present This link opens in a new window
