Materials contained in this libguide are mere pointers to additional resources UI librarians believe would be helpful to both students and faculty engaged in the course(s). User feedback is highly appreciated.
Select Books & e-Books
Reporting Crime: The Media Politics of Criminal Justice by Call Number: At Main Library (PN5124.C74 S35 1994)ISBN: 9780198258391Publication Date: 1994-09-15
Headline Justice by Call Number: At Main Library (PN4874.W64 A3 1996)ISBN: 1560251085Publication Date: 1996-11-20
News, Crime and Culture by Call Number: ONLINE. Print copy also available At Main Library (PN5124.C74 W95 2001)ISBN: 9781849645324Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Crime, Fear, and the Law in True Crime Stories by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781403913593Publication Date: 2001
Environmental Crime and the Media: News Coverage of Petroleum Refining Industry Violations by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781593322823Publication Date: 2007-01-01- Media and Crime: Fiction and Journalism by Call Number: At Main Library (PN1993 .N67 v.9 2011)ISBN: 001696118Publication Date: 2011
Race, Crime and the Media by Call Number: At Main Library (P96.C74 R334 2010 )ISBN: 9780073401560Publication Date: 2009-10-12
Sex Crime and the Media by Call Number: At Main Library (PN5124.S44 G74 2003)ISBN: 1843920042Publication Date: 2003-06-01
Media, Process, and the Social Construction of CrimeCall Number: At Main Library (P96.C74 M43 1994 )ISBN: 0815312598Publication Date: 1994-02-01
Recent Titles
The Investigative Reporter's Handbook: A Guide to Documents, Databases and Techniques by Call Number: At Main Library (PN4781 .R38 2009)ISBN: 9780312589974Publication Date: 2008-12-03
Boundaries of Journalism: Professionalism, Practices and Participation by Call Number: At Main Library (PN4756 .B68 2015)ISBN: 9781138017849Publication Date: 2015-03-12
Course Materials - Books
Understanding Crime Statistics by Call Number: At Main Library (HV6787 .U52 2007)ISBN: 9780521862042Publication Date: 2006-12-04
Cartoon Guide to Statistics by Call Number: At Marvin A Pomerantz Business Library (QA276.12 .G67 1993 )ISBN: 9780062731029Publication Date: 1993-07-14
The Functional Art by ISBN: 9780321834737Publication Date: 2012-08-22
Computer-Assisted Reporting by ISBN: 9780765642196Publication Date: 2014-11-21
Field Guide to Covering Local News by ISBN: 9781608710010Publication Date: 2011-10-16
Online Reference Resources
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780761922582Publication Date: 2002-03-18
Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780761924371Publication Date: 2003-07-22
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781412971928Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780761927310Publication Date: 2004-12-15
Keywords in News and Journalism Studies by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780335240821Publication Date: 2010-01-05
The Routledge Companion to News and Journalism by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780203869468Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Course Materials - Articles
Select Databases
- LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
