Chinese Studies
A list of research guides to Chinese Studies in all primary subject areas in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Research Guide to Chinese Studies: History (For Course: Chinese History)
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
This guide provides an introduction to resources on Studies in Chinese History. In addition to these resources, users can search materials on Chinese History studies from UI Library online catalog, InfoHawk+.
Resources
-
Literature and Film
by
Call Number: Z5784.M9 W375ISBN: 0824058437Publication Date: 1992-12-01An annotated bibliography of film adaptations from literature. -
The Cultural Revolution
by
Call Number: Z3108.A5 S86ISBN: 9780941128063Publication Date: 1998-06-01Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard-Yenching Library, Harvard University, c1998
Z3108.A5 S86
A detailed bibliography on studies in the history of Chinese Cultural Revolution.
-
20 shi ji Zhongguo tong jian 20世纪中国通鉴
by
Call Number: DS774 .A14ISBN: 9787800726101Publication Date: 1994A chronological list of important events in the twentieth-century Chinese history.
-
A Sino-Western calendar for two thousand years, 1-2000 A.D.Pei-ching: Sheng huo tu shu hsin chih san lien shu tien: Hsin hua shu tien fa hsing, 1956
Call number: CE37 .H7
This work deals with traditional Chinese calendar for two thousand years in contrast to Western calendar. It is a good reference work for understanding the chronology of Chinese history.
-
Modern China: a chronology from 1842 to the present
by
Call Number: DS755 .M2ISBN: 0500250847Publication Date: 1982A chronology of modern China. -
Zhongguo er shi shi ji tong jian: 1901-2000 中国二十世紀通鉴: 1901-2000
by
Call Number: DS774 .Z48ISBN: 9787801061942Publication Date: 2002A chronological list of important events in the twentieth-century Chinese history.
-
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
-
Asian Film Online This link opens in a new windowAsian Film Online is a collection of culturally and historically significant films from Asia and the Pacific that entertain, educate and inspire viewers to think beyond boundaries, predominantly comprised of films never before seen outside their country of origin.
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
-
China Academic Journals (CAJ): Series A, F, G, & H This link opens in a new windowThis database covers journal articles published in China in almost all the subject areas of the Humanities and Arts.The U of Iowa subscribes to Series A (Physics/Astronomy/Mathematics), Series F (Literature/History/Philosophy), Series G (Politics/Military Affairs/Law), and Series H (Education and Social Sciences), including back files dating back to 1994. It is part of the electronic project of the CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure). The database provides full texts in CAJ and PDF formats.
-
China: Culture and Society This link opens in a new windowSpanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. In addition, China: Culture and Society features a host of secondary resources, including scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, mini guides, and editors’ choices from the collection.
-
Chinese Periodical Full-Text Database (1833-1949) This link opens in a new windowChinese Periodical Full-text Database (1833-1949) covers around 10,000,000 pieces of writing in over 20,000 different kinds of periodicals published between 1833 and 1949. As an important part of the historical archive, this database has significant academic and historical value.
-
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowFIAF Index to Film Periodicals is a bibliographical index offering in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day.
-
Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new windowCovers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Some full text is available.
-
Film Index International This link opens in a new windowIndex to over 120,000 films from 170 countries, with biographical information for 720,000 persons in the film industry. Based on the Summary of Film and Television database maintained by the British Film Institute.
-
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Also includes 500 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 188,000 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily.
-
Shen Bao digital archive, 1872-1949 This link opens in a new windowEstablished in 1872, Shen Bao (historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published in Shanghai until 1949, Shen Bao was founded by Englishman Ernest Major, but, uniquely, as a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China.
-
China
by
Call Number: DS733 .C58523ISBN: 9780700704385Publication Date: 1998-02-25A dictionary of Chinese history and culture. -
Who's who in China, 1918-1950 : with an index
by
Call Number: DS734 .W5ISBN: 9780896446267Publication Date: 1982This three-volume work provides biographical information on notewd Chinese historical figures during 1918-1950. -
Who's Who in the People's Republic of China
by
Call Number: DS778.A1 B313ISBN: 9783598107719Publication Date: 1990-01-01A biographical dictionary of noted persons in the People's Republic of China. -
Zhongguo gu dai dian zhang zhi du da ci dian 中国古代典章制度大辞典
by
Call Number: DS705 .Z565ISBN: 9787534811845Publication Date: 1998A dictionary about the systems of ancient Chinese governments and laws, in Chinese. -
Zhongguo li shi da ci dian 中囯歷史大辞典
by
Call Number: FOLIO DS733 .Z56ISBN: 9787532604531Publication Date: 2000A comprehensive dictionary of Chinese history, written in Chinese. -
Zhongguo li shi di ming da ci dian 中國歷史地名大辭典
by
Call Number: DS706.5 .C476ISBN: 9787540632069Publication Date: 1995A geographical dictionary defining and mapping places historically significant in Chinese history. -
Zhongguo li shi dian gu ci dian 中国历史典故辞典
by
Call Number: DS733 .C635ISBN: 9787805460857Publication Date: 1989A collection of well-known events and stories in Chinese history, written in Chinese.
-
China Review InternationalUniversity of Hawaii Press
Features studies in Chinese history. -
The China JournalContemporary China Center, Australian National University
Features studies in Chinese history.
-
Ren wen bai ke quan shu da xi. Zhongguo li shi bai ke quan shu 人文百科全书大系. 中国历史百科全书
by
Call Number: DS733 .J46ISBN: 9787500051909Publication Date: 1994The most comprehensive work on Chinese history written in Chinese.
-
Ming History
by
Call Number: DS753 .F39ISBN: 9781886108028Publication Date: 1994-01-01A research and bibliographical guide to studies in the history of the Ming Dynasty. -
Modern China
by
Call Number: DS774 .H796ISBN: 9780674006584Publication Date: 2001-11-23A comprehensive guide to 20th century Chinese history with bibliographical references. -
The Cambridge History of Ancient China
by
Call Number: DS741.5 .C35ISBN: 9780521470308Publication Date: 1999-03-13A guide to the origination and early developments of Chinese civilization and history. -
The Cambridge Illustrated History of China
by
Call Number: DS706 .E37ISBN: 9780521196208Publication Date: 2010-01-25An illustrated guide to Chinese history. -
The History of Imperial China
by
Call Number: DS734.7 .W5ISBN: 9780674396807Publication Date: 1991-01-01A guide to historiography and sources in the studies of the history of imperial China.
-
Companion to Chinese History
by
Call Number: DS705 .O63ISBN: 9780871968418Publication Date: 1987-02-01A handbook of Chinese history, including bibliographical references.
-
China Unbound
by
Call Number: DS755 .C625ISBN: 9780415298230Publication Date: 2003-06-24A study of perspectives on the 19th and 20th century Chinese history. -
Zhongguo gu dai zhu ming shi ji 中国古代著名史籍
by
Call Number: DS734.7 .P57ISBN: 9787100021593Publication Date: 1997Introduction to important Chinese ancient historical works. -
Zhongguo shi xue shi 中國史學史
by
Call Number: DS734.7 .T8245ISBN: 9789579706223Publication Date: 1998A history of Chinese historiography.
-
China ReviewHong Kong: Chinese University Press, c2001-
Features studies in Chinese history. -
China Review InternationalUniversity of Hawaii Press
Features studies in Chinese history. -
Jin dai shi yan jiu 近代史硏究Beijing: Zhongguo she hui ke xue chu ban she, 1979- / 北京: 中国社会科学出版社
Features studies in early modern Chinese history. -
Jin dai Zhongguo 近代中國Taibei Shi: Jin dai Zhongguo za zhi she / 臺北市 : 近代中國雜誌社 : 1977-
Features studies in early modern Chinese history. -
Journal of Asian historyWiesbaden, Otto Harrassowitz
Features studies in Chinese history. -
Li shi jiao xue 歷史教學Tianjin: Li shi jiao xue she / 天津: 历史教学社
Features studies in history education. -
Li shi xue / 历史学Beijing: Zhongguo ren min da xue shu bao zi liao she / 北京: 中国人民大学书报资料社
Features studies in historiography. -
Li shi yan jiu 歷史硏究Beijing: Guo xue chu ban she, 1954- / 北京: 國學出版社
Features studies and book reviews in Chinese history. -
Modern Asian Studies[London] Cambridge University Press
Features studies in modern Chinese history. -
Modern ChinaBeverly Hills [Calif.] Sage Publications
Features studies in modern Chinese history. -
The China JournalContemporary China Center, Australian National University
Features studies in Chinese history. -
The Journal of Asian StudiesAnn Arbor, Mich., etc., Association for Asian Studies, etc.
Features studies in Chinese history.
-
Chinese History
by
Call Number: DS735 .W695ISBN: 9780674123779Publication Date: 1998-12-01A comprehensive reference work on Chinese history, which includes bibliographical references and indexes.
