Chinese Studies
A list of research guides to Chinese Studies in all primary subject areas in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Research Guide to Chinese Studies: Film
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
This guide provides an introduction to resources on Studies in Chinese Film. In addition to these resources, users can search materials on Chinese Film studies from UI Library online catalog, InfoHawk+.
Resources
-
The Catalog of Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach's Estate byCall Number: Z5784.M9 W37ISBN: 0824094778Publication Date: 1981-06-01An annotated bibliography of film adaptations from literature.
-
Literature and Film byCall Number: Z5784.M9 W375ISBN: 0824058437Publication Date: 1992-12-01An annotated bibliography of film adaptations from literature.
-
The Chinese Filmography
by
Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 M37ISBN: 0786403055Publication Date: 1997-08-01A detailed catalog of Chinese films from 1949 through 1995. -
The New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made
by
Call Number: PN1995 .C343ISBN: 9780812930016Publication Date: 1999-11-01Reviews of the best 1000 movies published in New York Times.
-
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
-
Asian Film Online This link opens in a new windowAsian Film Online is a collection of culturally and historically significant films from Asia and the Pacific that entertain, educate and inspire viewers to think beyond boundaries, predominantly comprised of films never before seen outside their country of origin.
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
-
China Academic Journals (CAJ): Series A, F, G, & H This link opens in a new windowThis database covers journal articles published in China in almost all the subject areas of the Humanities and Arts.The U of Iowa subscribes to Series A (Physics/Astronomy/Mathematics), Series F (Literature/History/Philosophy), Series G (Politics/Military Affairs/Law), and Series H (Education and Social Sciences), including back files dating back to 1994. It is part of the electronic project of the CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure). The database provides full texts in CAJ and PDF formats.
-
China: Culture and Society This link opens in a new windowSpanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. In addition, China: Culture and Society features a host of secondary resources, including scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, mini guides, and editors’ choices from the collection.
-
Chinese Periodical Full-Text Database (1833-1949) This link opens in a new windowChinese Periodical Full-text Database (1833-1949) covers around 10,000,000 pieces of writing in over 20,000 different kinds of periodicals published between 1833 and 1949. As an important part of the historical archive, this database has significant academic and historical value.
-
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowFIAF Index to Film Periodicals is a bibliographical index offering in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day.
-
Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new windowCovers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Some full text is available.
-
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Also includes 500 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 188,000 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily.
-
Shen Bao digital archive, 1872-1949 This link opens in a new windowEstablished in 1872, Shen Bao (historically transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao) was the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of before the establishment of the People’s Republic. Published in Shanghai until 1949, Shen Bao was founded by Englishman Ernest Major, but, uniquely, as a newspaper for Chinese readers, written by Chinese reporters. During its existence, Shen Bao gradually shifted from a conservative to a more liberal perspective, and played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the imperial period and into the tumultuous beginnings of modern China.
-
Contemporary Theatre, Film, and TelevisionDetroit, MI: Gale Research Co., 1984-
Call number: PN2012 .C6
Provides biographies of contemporary practitioners in the theatre, film and television. It was previously titled Who's Who in the Theatre.
-
The Film Studies Dictionary
by
Call Number: PN1993.45 .B49ISBN: 0340741902Publication Date: 2001-02-15A dictionary of film studies and researches in all aspects of film theory, practice and production. -
World Film Directors
by
Call Number: PN1998.2 .W67ISBN: 0824207572Publication Date: 1987-01-01This two-volume dictionary covers world film directors from 1890-1985.
-
Zhongguo dian ying da ci dian 中国电影大辞典Shanghai : Shanghai ci dian chu ban she, 1995. / 上海 : 上海辞书出版社, 1995
Call number: PN1993.45 .C48
Covers all aspects of Chinese cinema. -
Zhongguo ying pian da dian 中国影片大典Beijing : Zhongguo dian ying chu ban she, 1996- / 北京 : 中国电影出版社, 1996-
Call number: PN1993.5.C4 C54
A detailed guide to Chinese films.
-
Encyclopedia of Chinese Film
by
Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 Z53ISBN: 0415151686Publication Date: 1999-02-10A detailed guide to Chinese film in all aspects. -
The Film Encyclopedia
by
Call Number: PN1993.45 .K34ISBN: 0062730894Publication Date: 1994-07-01A comprehensive collection of information on all aspects of film.
-
China Review InternationalUniversity of Hawaii Press
This international journal features articles and book reviews in all subjects about China. -
Film CommentFilm Society of Lincoln Center
Features articles on narrative, documentary and independent filmmakers, filmography, film criticism and book reviews. -
Film HistoryNew York : Taylor & Francis
Areas of interest range from the technical and entrepreneurial innovations of early and pre-cinema experiments, covering all aspects of the production, distribution, exhibition and reception of commerical and non-commercial motion pictures. -
Film Journal InternationalNew York, NY : Sunshine Group
Covering international movies, beginning from 2002 through present. -
Film QuarterlyUniversity of California Berkeley Press
Articles on motion pictures and film industry, including book reviews. -
The China JournalContemporary China Center, Australian National University
The China Journal provides informed and insightful commentary from China scholars around the world, in a wide range of articles and book reviews.
-
Chinese Film Theory
by
Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 C51ISBN: 9780275931032Publication Date: 1990-05-23A guide to Chinese film theory developed in the 1980s and 1990s. -
The New York Times Guide to the Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made
by
Call Number: PN1995 .C343ISBN: 9780812930016Publication Date: 1999-11-01Reviews of the best 1000 movies published in New York Times.
-
Film Review Index
by
Call Number: FOLIO Z5784.M9 F54ISBN: 9780897741538Publication Date: 1986-07-01This two-volume work indexes film reviews starting from 1882. -
International Guide to Literature on Film
by
Call Number: PN1997.85 .I57ISBN: 9780862915957Publication Date: 1994-10-01An index to international films adapted from literature. -
The Academy Awards Index
by
Call Number: PN1993.92 .S53ISBN: 9780313277382Publication Date: 1993-11-19An index to the Academy Awards of all categories in a chronological order.
-
Chinese Film
by
Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 C5ISBN: 9780275926441Publication Date: 1987-09-18About the current developments of Chinese film in the 1980s.
-
The New York Times Film ReviewsCall number: PN1998 .N49
Reviews of current films published in New York Times.
-
Zhongguo dian ying nian jian 中国电影年鉴Beijing : Zhongguo dian ying chu ban she, 1982- / 北京 : 中国电影出版社, 1982-
Call number: PN1993.5.C4 C537
Covers yearly developments of Chinese film in all aspects.